We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, but worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Bay Heart Hotel

Save Saved
You added Runaway Bay Heart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Runaway Bay Heart Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rickets Dr | P.O. Box 98, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Rapid City, SD
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This little hotel is tucked up on a hill in a remote area where, even if you're really looking, it can be hard to find. The view from the restaurant is lovely and the food is excellent. The service was spectacular, and there was a musician playing at a grand piano as we were dining. The room was clean and very nice. The bed and the sheets were extremely comfortable. The one downside I would say, might be location, once you're there, you're probably there for the evening. Since we stayed here due to proximity of a few sights we wanted to see on our trip, the location was perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is hotel is not to be confused with the all inclusives/ or super all inclusives. This hotel is a nice mid sized hotel located not too close but not too far from everywhere! The menu does not have a very wide selection but the serving sizes are pretty good. The staff is friendly bit not too friendly... The rooms for the most part have lovely views of the sea. Room service comes in a jiffy if you dont want to leave the room. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the new rooms look FAB!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel has recently been renamed the Cardiff Hotel, but TA does not have an entry for the new name yet.

I stayed 2 weeks on business. Towards the end of our stay, they hired a crew to replace tile in the center courtyard, around which all the rooms are arranged. At 10pm on Wednesday night, they started using an electric jackhammer to break the tile loose. At 11pm I called the front desk to ask that they stop the work for the night. They did - then started at 5:30am the next day! I complained in person at the desk, and they assured me this would not continue.

Friday night, the same crew used a diamond saw to cut the new ceramic tile, from around 7pm through 11pm - past normal quiet hours, and just 20 feet from people trying to have a nice dinner. I complained again, and once more during checkout. No satisfaction.

On top of all that, they overcharged me from what the agreed rate was, and wouldn't budge even when I brought all this up at the front desk.

Aside from the jackhammers at all hours, and overcharging around USD $200, it was ok.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-jackhammer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

As other customers stated, check your bill. The information concerning the menu was not explained to us prior to dinner/breakfast time. The food was horrible, when we ordered something we expected to get what we ordered, if they don't have it, it should be explained prior to us ordering and they should not just bring something that we did not order. Customer service was horrible. This was not a friendly atmosphere. There was no form of entertainment for adults or kids what so ever. They charge too much money for such horrrible services.

Stay away from runaway bay!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel was just the perfect getaway, family location. It was very close to major attractions, but a little outside of the hustle and bustle. It was like a quiet retreat. The surroundings were well kept, the view from the room, dining and pool area, of the landscape and the carribbean sea was so worth the stay. The rooms themselves gave that island feel with comfort. The adjoining rooms were great for our family of 5. It was so quiet and nice to see local persons cycling and jogging in the area in the mornings. It was a great retreat area and good price. Hopefully we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have stayed here several times as I regularly go to Jamaica for teaching purposes. This hotel is very impressive , the bedrooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated with fab views down to the ocean. The food is also very good from breakfast right through to dinner. I can definately recommend the jerk chicken wrap, yummy !!! Free wifi available in the lobby area and some rooms . It is hidden away in Runaway Bay and really is a gem. I recommend it - great for weddings too !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed here for just one night after arriving from MBJ and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was also nice and spacious just as in the picture although the bathroom was a liitle tired but clean. I tried to use the iron in the room but the cord was split in 3 places and looked rather dangerous and the leg on the ironing board had snapped off so it wouldnt even stand up!
The restaurant service was however excellent as was the a la carte food. The chef even sent us a shrimp appetiser with his compliments. Unfortunately I was tired after the trip so retired to bed just afterwards but in the morning breakfast was again very good and we had the pool area all to ourselves until we checked out at midday. Lovely and peaceful. Not a lot around, residential but only approx a mile down to th ebach and apparently they have a comp shuttle service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Runaway Bay Heart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Bay Heart Hotel

Address: Rickets Dr | P.O. Box 98, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Runaway Bay Heart Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Runaway Bay Heart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runaway Bay Heart Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Bay Heart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.