We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay

Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay
North Coast Hwy, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Update attraction details
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
Attraction Details
Rome, Ga
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Much better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

the first time was with Annette as our caddie This was the second time we have golfed. I was much more improved. The layout was great and we played the back 9 as we had played the front 9 the first time. Definitely recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for returning to the course and taking the time out to write review.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    45
    25
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“course a little dry, but challenging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

reasonable price, not very busy as it is so hot this time of year. Caddy service is mandatory, but was well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback as we are working on the course to make it better every day.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alphanso Wedge Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of working with caddie Alphonso Rose, perhaps the best short game player ever from the Caribbean and certainly Jamaica. His repertoire of shots with a wedge is endless and equally remarkable.
Course in decent shape, not great. Greens are brown in some areas, and areas of the course is parched, but all in all a great test of golf. The holes length are deceiving depending on wind direction and strength, a good caddie is indispensable. I quickly packed away my garmin gps, as there was easily a 3 club difference in distances that I normally play.
I would visit again and again....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
thank you for you assessment of the course as we work to get it back into a professional condition.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very memorable great caddies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Played course with my son and his brother in law who is new to golf our two caddies Bill and John were great !!! A lesson as well as a round of golf and a few beers drunk the jewel offers many challenges long par 4's tricky shiort holes as well were made to feel welcome and played twice rental clubs were good all in all great experience thanks Nige Craig and Russ

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the course and caddies.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Challenge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We (threesome) golfed 3x during our stay in August. Each time we were the first off the tee in the am. The first round was on a Monday, and it was quite hot, but still very enjoyable. We played again on Wednesday and the greens had softened up a bit from a good rain the night before. The last round was on Friday. We walked the course, and used our own clubs. Our caddies were George, Ian, and Irving. They were all capable, after the first day we arranged for the same caddies for our second day ( and again for the 3rd). We also arranged for a start time of 6:15am. The course does not open till 7am, but the caddies and the caddiemaster were all happy to comply. The caddie master agreed to meet us at the resort pick-up and have the caddies ready by 6:15. He then told us to play 9 holes, and then stop into the pro shop to make payment, as it would then be open, and then we would continue playing our last 9.

It was great to have a course so close, that we could walk there from the resort, play our 18 holes and be back at the resort before they finished serving breakfast. We still had the whole day ahead of us.

I found a number of par 4's in the 420-460 yard range from the white tees. Many of the par 3's were 170-180.

Even though it was long, it was not a difficult walk. It was really enjoyable to walk without having to worry about clubs.

Fortunately, we were able to travel with our clubs. This made the total cost for the round at about $40 after tips and drinks for the caddy. We spoke to others at the JRB that golfed and had to rent clubs decided to ride in a cart. They paid almost $100 each.

We found the course almost empty each day, which was very good for us, but must be a concern for the Jewel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. The course is doing better and better each day.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.