We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“course a little dry, but challenging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay

Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay
North Coast Hwy, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 attractions in Runaway Bay
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
Attraction Details
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“course a little dry, but challenging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

reasonable price, not very busy as it is so hot this time of year. Caddy service is mandatory, but was well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback as we are working on the course to make it better every day.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    50
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alphanso Wedge Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of working with caddie Alphonso Rose, perhaps the best short game player ever from the Caribbean and certainly Jamaica. His repertoire of shots with a wedge is endless and equally remarkable.
Course in decent shape, not great. Greens are brown in some areas, and areas of the course is parched, but all in all a great test of golf. The holes length are deceiving depending on wind direction and strength, a good caddie is indispensable. I quickly packed away my garmin gps, as there was easily a 3 club difference in distances that I normally play.
I would visit again and again....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
thank you for you assessment of the course as we work to get it back into a professional condition.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very memorable great caddies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Played course with my son and his brother in law who is new to golf our two caddies Bill and John were great !!! A lesson as well as a round of golf and a few beers drunk the jewel offers many challenges long par 4's tricky shiort holes as well were made to feel welcome and played twice rental clubs were good all in all great experience thanks Nige Craig and Russ

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the course and caddies.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Challenge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We (threesome) golfed 3x during our stay in August. Each time we were the first off the tee in the am. The first round was on a Monday, and it was quite hot, but still very enjoyable. We played again on Wednesday and the greens had softened up a bit from a good rain the night before. The last round was on Friday. We walked the course, and used our own clubs. Our caddies were George, Ian, and Irving. They were all capable, after the first day we arranged for the same caddies for our second day ( and again for the 3rd). We also arranged for a start time of 6:15am. The course does not open till 7am, but the caddies and the caddiemaster were all happy to comply. The caddie master agreed to meet us at the resort pick-up and have the caddies ready by 6:15. He then told us to play 9 holes, and then stop into the pro shop to make payment, as it would then be open, and then we would continue playing our last 9.

It was great to have a course so close, that we could walk there from the resort, play our 18 holes and be back at the resort before they finished serving breakfast. We still had the whole day ahead of us.

I found a number of par 4's in the 420-460 yard range from the white tees. Many of the par 3's were 170-180.

Even though it was long, it was not a difficult walk. It was really enjoyable to walk without having to worry about clubs.

Fortunately, we were able to travel with our clubs. This made the total cost for the round at about $40 after tips and drinks for the caddy. We spoke to others at the JRB that golfed and had to rent clubs decided to ride in a cart. They paid almost $100 each.

We found the course almost empty each day, which was very good for us, but must be a concern for the Jewel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. The course is doing better and better each day.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent course, tougher than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Playing at the Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay was a nice addition to our stay at the Jewel. Don't expect a "country club quality" course, but it is very well-maintained. It's a tougher course than it looks, and our caddie (required if you play) was very helpful. Very cool to play golf with a view of the Caribbean Sea! Glad we tried it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us as well as golfing our course. We are doing more and more work on the course to bring it to country club standards.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golf Club at Jewel Runaway Bay to your Saves list