We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pack your own equipment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Bay Golf Club

Runaway Bay Golf Club
Main Street | Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
001 876 973 7319
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Rockford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pack your own equipment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We wanted to experience golfing with caddies. We had Frank and Shawna as our caddies and were happy with them. It was nice to learn a little about the culture/island while playing some golf. We walked 18 holes which was quite a workout. I can't comment too much on the quality of golf since I'm not an avid golfer. My boyfriend is a great golfer and compared it to bad golf in Florida.

What was unacceptable was the price of accessories in the pro shop. A sleeve of low-rate golf balls were $22. The tees were crazy. It was $27 for a footjoy glove. And the $22 for rental clubs was for a low-rate set and you had to pay $44 for some decent clubs. It was over $200 for a round of golf for 2 of us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,
I do hope your enjoyed some of you play with us. I am sorry that you were not happy with our prices. Some things to remember when purchasing certain merchandise on an Island is that we too have to import it as it is not made there.
thank you for visiting our course and do hope you return.
Regards
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    56
    33
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“NIce but watch the costs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Loved the course, even better when it was free with our hotel. However the person who signed us in was quite rude to us. Golf balls (3) cost $22 (bring your own), tried on a glove to see if it would fit and the woman said I had to buy it (luckily it did fit). Also as previously said in a review the sand banks were not raked and it had not rained for two days when we played. The caddy was great and we had a good time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Glad to hear that you loved the course. I am sorry you feel that the bunkers were not raked as they are raked every morning.
thank you for your review.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average Resort Golf Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lots of crabgrass on course but the course has come a long way from what it used to be. They continue to make a lot of improvements to the course every month. By this time next year it will be in better shape

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Exactly!
See you next year.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Only in Fair Shape”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A worthwhile experience, but the fairways are pretty much crabgrass and milkweed at this point. It was taken over by Jewel recently per the caddies and they say the ownership is starting to put some money into improving it. We were not staying at the Jewel Resorts where this is an included activity, so we paid $55/round, plus the mandatory $17/person for a caddie, whether walking or carting. We've elected to walk as it's great exercise, and the caddie schleps the clubs. It's a pretty flat and somewhat longer course than the Sandals/Ochos Rios. We enjoyed it but it was warm and were a bit tired by the end. At least my shots seemed to show it!
By contrast, the Sandals course at Ochos Rios is well kept-very little crabgrass on the fairways ($65/person plus caddie). Caddie tip is also the norm on top of the mandatory fee at all courses. We did $20 each, which was well appreciated. . The Jewell buses bring players largely in the morning, so a tee time in the late morning/early afternoon worked out well and we were never pushed or waited. The caddies were awesome! They KNOW their greens, and the course, and can size your game up in a couple of holes. Do what they tell you!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for playing are course. Your caddy was correct. We took over the property in June and have started fixing the course. When you return I am sure you will see the vast improvements.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Championship Course for Exclusive Use”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Golfer's paradise. Champion course. Excellent experienced caddies just waiting, no line up, free with resort guest room fee. Bring your clubs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for using our course and I am glad to hear they you enjoyed all aspects of it.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runaway Bay Golf Club also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Runaway Bay Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Bay Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.