We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Club Caribbean to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street Runaway Bay | Jamaica, Runaway Bay Jamaica, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Southsea, Hants, UK
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

Have just returned to the cold on 23 February 2005 and just had to tell you about the RDCC Arriving at the Montego Bay airport on time with First Choice we had "no problem" getting to our resort. On arrival we were given a cold drink as we found it rather hot but the usual thing happened our room which we had booked a ocean front cottage was not ready until the next day at 1500hrs We were put into a mountain view suite for the first night.
Our cottage was No 21 up near the Thai restaurant and very quiet which was very nice.It was very clean with a maid changing towels and bed linen every day with a bottle of water supplied
The Jamaicans are one of the most friendliest people I have met always greeting you with a smile.
The restaurant which is buffet style was very clean and you had a very good choice of food and it was never the same each day.
The grounds were spotless even seeing the footpaths being scrubbed.
We were not attacked by Mossies only had a couple of bites.
The beach was kept clean and raked daily but you need water shoes as the beach under water is rocky.This was the only thing that I could fault about the whole holiday.
At the airport departure be aware that your flight may not be showing on the screens and the announcer is very difficult to hear so go to the information desk who were very friendly and helpful
If anybody needs any more information please feel free contacting me via e-mail so

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    824
    285
    147
    148
See reviews for
454
1,076
40
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2005

My name is Lisa and I went to Royal Decameron for fourteen nights with my sister n law. The only real issue was the fact that when we arrived they gave us a room instead of a suite...which I paid for. Senior Smith was our travel rep and he really helped us out, we got what we paid for and he was so good with everything that we needed.
The food was excellent, I really could appreciate all the hard work that went in to preparing everything everyday.
This was our first vacation any where and I was not disappointed. Some of the staff seemed a bit put out if you didn't tip them constantly, but after a while I didn't care.
I am going back to the same place with my husband and look forward to experiencing the other half of the island via the excursions they offer.
Go to Jamaica and keep in mind your on vacation, enjoy, explore and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2005

My husband and I have just returned from the Royal Decameron Club Hotel and in our view, it was excellent value for money. We had a cabana on the sea front, about 5 metres from the sea edge. The accommodation was very clean (and well maintained by the lovely maid throughout our stay) and spacious. Everything worked - lights, fan, aircon, shower was powerful with instant hot water. Towels and bedlinen changed daily, plus a bottle of water. We were a little away from the main restaurant, bar and pool, so when we returned to our dwelling, all we could was the sea - so restful! Warning - you do need sea shoes when bathing.

We ate in the main self service restaurant, apart from one night and the food was of very good quality, lots of variety to suit every taste - after all they are catering for many nationalities. The eating areas were kept immaculate, with always a cleaner to mop spills etc. At all times, the staff presented themselves impeccably dressed.

The staff throughout the complex, were very courteous, on hand to meet all your requirements and very appreciative of a "thank you".

Good advice from a Trip Advisor subscriber re. tipping - we took lots of 1 dollar bills to hand out to the staff and we gave 1 dollar per piece of luggage, when arriving and leaving. The tips were always appreciated and never taken for granted.

If you want to see the real Jamaica - can recommend an excellent Guide Tour company. We had two full days with her (12 hours per day), travelled hundreds of miles, with a running commentary from her - brilliant. We came away from the Island, knowing so much about the culture, politics, history, places of interests etc.

Our holiday at the Royal Decameron Club, is one to be remembered - highly recommended.

Pauline - pauline@popterry.fsnet.co.uk

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2005

we stayed 1 week at the Rd runaway bay and 1 week at RD MoBay
we enjoyed them both,Mobay more up to date and fancier
week1 rdcc didn't have cottage ,but got upgraded to the suites,rooms excellent,playmakers alittle pushy all in all a good time.
week2 mobay more relaxed closer to town and airport
both places a good bang 4 the buck
If you want sandles quality Dont ----- and be Cheap -Pay 4 IT,any questions please e-mail me

ferg and kathy
Ontario Canada

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2005

nice and easy place to relax.although only rated 2*+ id wld give this hotel 3*+ for all the hard work that goes into the running of this hotel.yes it is true that they may be overbooked, just a chance you av to take.visited jam with my sis and 2 very sml children 3mths & 21mths.we all enjoyed jam so much on the way back home we were all rather sad.the service may be slow but what do you expect.ur on hol relax a little and let jam sweep you away with the sounds of music and hummingbirds,cirickets laughter and of course the sound of the beautiful sea lapping away soothingly.jam you got me hooked.sweet love and respect to you all. one love

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2005

We stayed at the Royal Decameron Jan. 29-Feb. 2, only four nights, but that was enough. Like many others, when we checked in, our cottage was already occupied and wouldn't be ready until the next day, so we had to check into a different room, check out of that room at noon the next day and wait for a cottage to open up at 3:00. So we were basically "homeless" for a few hours, and a little nervous that we would'nt have a room at 3:00, but we did, and it all worked out in the end. The cottages could use a little work. We could see outside when we looked up during the day. It did rain one morning and we didn't get wet, so I guess that's all that matters. The food was pretty good, the burgers at the grill were really good, and the restaurant upstairs (you have to make reservations for this one) was really tasty. Drinks at the main bar were pretty good, but if you want quick service, you need to be prepared to tip very well. Drinks at the other beach bar were better and the bartender was awsome. Also, unless you want to drink out of very small plastic cups the whole time, bring a larger insulated cup from home or else purchase one at the souvenier shop like we did. The bartender still won't fill up your glass, you have to order two drinks and pour them in your cup yourself, I didn't quite get that but oh well. Like I said, four days was enough cause you couldn't go anywhere unless you booked an excursion - and they can get kinda spendy, anywhere from $75 and up per person. We like to walk the beach, but there wasn't anywhere to walk here, just what the hotel owned, it was gated off at each end. Also, walking outside the resort can be quite unnerving. You can only actually walk about 3 blocks, but some of the locals tend to follow you and pester you about buying certain "stuff". But the entertainment staff at the hotel was pretty good, they had nightly shows and things to do, so that kept us busy for the days that we were there. One last thing, we met a group of people from North Branch, MN while we were there - if any of you guys read this, e-mail me, I have a couple nice pictures I would like to get to you guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2005

We have just returned from our trip where we stayed at the RDCC. I have been to Jamaica 10 times (6 to the Runaway Bay area) and I would NEVER return to this resort.

It has all been said- not getting the cabana as reserved, musky rooms, dogs barking all night, traffic noise, beds so hard that ibuprofin was needed to make it thru the night, mix of crabby and nice staff, mix of staff wanting tips before giving good service, good food, ok entertainment, below average beach as far as Runaway Bay goes.

It was not all bad but when going on a vacation, at least the basics should be covered with no major frustrations, even at a 3 star resort.

We learned a lesson and will spend a little bit more money again next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay | Jamaica, Runaway Bay Jamaica, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Club Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.