We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Club Caribbean to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just had the best holiday ever by far except for the company I took with me but I hey ho did'nt let that damper my holiday, I arrived at the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean first time in Jamaica on January 23rd 2014 & had 2 fantastic weeks there staying in cottage 107, ive been to lots of beautiful & gorgeous places around the world but this one is by far my favourite now. I met some wonderful people from Canada, USA, England & ofcourse Jamaica, I found the food, the drink & the hospitality first class, fresh towels & bedding every day in the most pretty looking cottages & very clean indeed. Yes there was alot of French but I did'nt let them spoil things, I found the food first class as theres something for everyone & I take my hat off to the kitchen staff, nothing is too much trouble for them & same goes for the waiters & waitresses. If you want a quiet beach with a bar there is at the opposite end to the jetty bar with a lovely pretty young bar-ess to serve you. I had lots of fun with all the staff & i'll try & mention them all because they all looked after me & im looking forward to meeting up again soon. Scooby & Birdman- great fun & polite, Freestyle- became my friend & very acrobatic, George-loves his dancing & a always smiling, Frast- great dj & great to get on with, Aneaka behind the bar has a very infectious laugh & she puts a smile on everyones faces & great fun to be around, yeah baby lol, Patrick the night receptionist is a lovely man & good to talk to, Carlos the duty manager very helpful & considerate, the Bar supervisor once we clicked he opened up & was a good guy, the Restaurante supervisor always acknowledged me with a smile & a hand shake, Dwayne the cleaner even he's got a smile on face nice & polite lad, Basil with 30yrs service you'll find him with a tray on his head & folding napkins outside the disco what a lovely & friendly man, Wayne I call him smiler in the disco bar what a smashing guy he is, the 3 Jamaicans with the boom box what lovely music & happy guys they are & ofcourse how could I forget my 3 mates Winchester(capt pugwash) Capt Jack Sparrow & Raymond on the beach these guys will do absolutely anything for you if you let them & I class them as my brothers, they are so kind & polite wonderful people. The British bulldog bar over the road is a well worthy visit & say hi to Gail & Trevor who run it are brilliant. Overall a fantastic, friendly, clean, polite, great place with fantastic & beautiful Jamaican people I absolutely loved it & I want to thank them all very much & I will be back, thanks guys xxx

Room Tip: Just go & enjoy yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    912
    322
    160
    150
See reviews for
493
1,221
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a true review of this resort and hotel. We have just arrived home stayed 23rd jan - 6th feb. It was fantastic this place is a little gem. If you dont mind just a chilled time without leaving the resort then this is the place for you. You can leave the hotel but be prepared to be pestered by the locals, lets face it they need us tourists to survive, but as for feeling threatened thats rubbish as they are lovely people and Runnaway Bay is a small town so they dont see many tourists and Royal Decameron is the only hotel there. The food was wonderful and if you listen to the bad reviews these people have a problem because there is something for everyone even the fussiest of eaters can find something. JUST remember this is a 3* hotel not a 5* and to my opinion its awesome. Accommodation is lovely clean bright and not over looked like a high rise hotel, lovely individual cottages. Staff great especially bar staff. We attended a wedding while there and it was wonderful. I am not going to rabbit on too much because no one will read this. I celebrated my 50th birthday while there and they made it very special for me. All in all we had a terrific time and will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The cottages in the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent 1 week at the RDCC Jan 25-Feb 1st
Check in was smooth, no run around with a room, but we were prepared for that reading trip advisor. We were put beachfront in 002 right beside the buffet and entertainment area. Very noisy there, busy path of people walking by, nothing fancy of a room, but good value for the money.

As we found out after we booked, yes the resort was full of french guests.
We didn't let that dampen our holiday, but we did feel out of place at times as our Canadian culture is so different than theirs. They are quite rude to the staff, feel that they own the place, don't tip, don't buy the local crafts, and overall just a very different culture. Jamaica is all about respect, these people really need to learn some manners.

There were also alot of guests from England, so we found them to be very friendly and made many friends. A few couples from USA that we met as well that were very nice.

The food was good, the resort was clean, the staff well they were all amazing.

Every staff we met were super friendly, treated us great, and went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time.
Anecka and the guys and gals at the bar - we loved the time spent with you and thanks for keeping our glasses full all week.
All of the lifeguards - thank you for always doing a great job on the beach and by the pools and sharing your time and stories with us.
Waiters - all of them especially Marvin that made us feel so special.

If the French weren't there I would definately be back next year. We hope for all of our staff friends there that things improve in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had a really good time at the Royal Decameron even it did rain and was windy while we were there. Our only problem was leaving the resort as we really didn't feel safe and the only time we really ventured out was to go horse riding in the sea which was brilliant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This review is a long long long time coming…I visited the resort from August 7 - August 10 2013…I know forever ago but I kept thinking I’m going to get around to writing this review but never did…anyway this was my 3rd visit to Club Caribbean, my 1st was wonderful, my 2nd was horrible, & this one was right in the middle…The resort is still as beautiful as ever…the staff are still friendly & nice although maybe because just about everyone I knew from my original visit is gone with the exception of about 5 people I just didn’t feel a connection with them. My accommodations were exceptional… I stayed in the condos over by the adult pool. I appreciate management’s attempt to rectify the wrong s I experienced on my 2nd visit. I made sure not to book during the French occupation months as I call them because I didn’t want to have to deal with their presence. I wouldn’t recommend anyone under any circumstances to visit during the months of December to April not unless you want to visit France….anyway back to my review the place still feels like home but something’s missing…the spark & the magic that I felt back in 2011 is just gone…I don’t feel that management values the staff enough to realize that you can’t just replace people. The talents experiences love hospitality that certain people have in their positions can’t be replicated…I’m not going to go into names but those of us who are repeat visitors know who they are or who they were…the food was fine…the entertainment was ok…I spent a lot of time off the resort so I don’t have any complaints…I enjoyed my time there…I enjoy the memories from my original visit…will I ever come back to Club Caribbean?...eehhh maybe?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I visited the RDC on the 16th of Jan '14 for what was supposed to be two weeks. On first impressions the hotel is nice, reception nice, big and clean and recieved a fruit punch on arrival. We were then showed to our room which was supposed to be a garden cottage but the room apparently wasn't ready so we were put in one of the tiny courtyard rooms and told we could move the next day. As promised we were put into our garden cottage the next day, these are lovely octogan shaped huts, very spacious and clean, my only negative is they don't let very much light in and there aren't many lights in the room so it was very dark!

Hotel food was good, there is lots of variety-you won't go hungry! There is the buffet, a grill and two restaurants, never had a bad meal here.

Grounds are lovely and well maintained, beaches ok-not crystal clear water, infact quite full of seaweed and bits! However when we went we were unlucky with the weather, it was dull and rained everyday so that may be why! There are 4 little coves though so plenty of room for everyone.

Now for the negatives! This hotel is too french!!!! I honestly felt more like i was in a french resort than Jamaica! Most of the entertainment team were french and only conversed with the French! I would say 80% of the guests were french and they don't speak to you! Felt hated in this resort! Also the pool is right in the middle of all the entertainment and you can't ever relax, the french team were constantly trying to pull you up to join in some kind of activity and if you say no they seem to take an instant dislike to you. I have nothing against the french at all but we felt so uncomfortable during our stay!

Fortunately after a week, my partner and I, and another couple we met got offered to move to the RDC in Montego bay (because they want to get you out to accomadate more french). Best decision we made though!! Got a free bottle of champaigne with it, a boat trip and a lobster dinner! The hotel is much nicer and friendlier, less beach but what there is is crystal clear water! It is a hotel complex, so no huts but you get a nice big light room with a sea view and a balcony! Food still great, not as much variety but still plenty to choose from! Much more of a jamaican vibe here and no french crew! You are near the heart of montego bay so much more to see when you leave the resort! However beware, you will get hassled ALOT! Do you want to buy weed, taxi, hair braids? It gets annoying, you have to be kind but firm and say no!!

As for trips, we went to Bob Marleys birth place/resting place in nine mile-well worth it. As a big Bob Marley fan this made my trip! Not an awful lot to see but well worth it! We also went to Dunns waterfalls on a katamaran trip, was great fun! You climb up over 600ft of waterfall and then on the way back you party on the boat with plenty of rum punch on tap! We also did a glass bottom boat trip, the snorkelling was amazing, so many tropical gorgeous fish to see! Also ventured out to Ocho Rios and into downtown/uptown Montego bay, definately got to see some of the REAL Jamaica!

If staying at RDC runaway bay and you want to do any trips, ask for Stamford the taxi man, just outside the resort. He was very trustworthy and will give you a better price than the hotel will! We left all our shopping in his car one day and he kindly brought it back to us, he's very honest and will look after you!

Room Tip: I think the beach huts would be nicest but you have to pay a little extra! We were in room 71 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My new husband and I have just returned (Monday 27th Jan) from Royal Decameron in Runaway Bay.

As we had been planning the wedding for 18 months, I think I have read the majority if not all of the reviews for this property on Trip Advisor, having now been some of the critical reviews have made me smile!

We are a well travelled couple from small bed and breakfasts to 5 * properties throughout the world.

You have to decide when booking a trip away from home - what is on your wish list?
We wanted a flavour of Jamaica, We wanted to experience local food, the culture and meet genuine Jamaican people and of course arrange our wedding in Paradise.

We wanted a property that wasn't spread out over dozens and dozens of areas, in high rise buildings, with multiple 'faceless' bars and restaurants that could simply be any where in the world!

The Royal Decameron on face value fitted the description perfectly.
Having the added trauma of being a 'diva' bride adds to the expectations - could it live up to that?

Our answer is a resounding YES!!!!!

Our stay and wedding was nothing short of perfection, so much so we will return to celebrate our 1st Anniversary next January at the Royal Decameron.

Every member of the dedicated team had outstanding levels of customer service and friendly? wow - like you wouldn't believe - my parents (not wanting to cramp our style) stayed in the Jewel down the road - we visited there - don't bother - you could be anywhere on the planet, but hey if a true taste of the culture and country isn't for you, go for it!

We made many friends amongst the staff, from Raymond on the beach, India in the Restaurant, Kacy-Ann Angel Mclean in Entertainment, Evelyn the hairdresser and massage lady and not forgetting our amazing wedding co-ordinate Chanique. I am sorry for not mentioning everyone but every area of this hotel from cleaners to management, in the grounds, beach and hotel truly deserve recognition - the only reason you don't get the official recognition of 5* is due to the size of the complex and limited restaurants, bars. I have worked in the travel industry all of my working life - do me a favour, settle for the star rating you have, don't change a thing and THANK YOU!!

If anybody wants any information, please don't hesitate to contact me :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Club Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.