We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Club Caribbean to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street Runaway Bay | Jamaica, Runaway Bay Jamaica, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

we booked with first choice, we were looking for a chilled holiday, we certainly got that.
Everyone is looking for something different in a holida,y as we spoke to people whilst in decameron and there were conflicting views. So here is my spin on it,
Food was fantastic really well cooked, great selection at breakfast , lunch and dinner, tender meats and catering for all tastes, they do various sauces to cater for taste mild, tasty and hot, every lunch and dinner they had at least two choices on the carvery, inluding beef. pork, ham, lamb. turkey, chicken. trout various fish options, weds and sat were Jamaican nights so jerk pork and chicken, curried goat, yams sweet potatoes, and plenty of selections of other foods, there is a large selection of deserts but also always ice cream, they also have a snack bar where from 12 to 5 daily they do burgers, pizza etc, they also serve snacks between 11 and 12 nightly.
Bars there are 2 the main bar is quite lively with lots of entertainment, there is also a jetty bar where you can go and just have a quite drink on some great seating (swing seats) around the bar,
Rooms we found our room really functional and very clean, we had a garden bungalow, in it there was a king size bed in the bedroom downstairs, upstairs there was a mezz with 2 single beds, then there was a sitting room with chairs and a tv , and of course a bathroom, there was air con in the bedroom and in the sitting room, everything in our room worked really well,
Service again humans are individual we do not always get along, but i can say that everyone we were served by was at the very least polite, and in the extreme totally fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for a lot of the staff, if you were cynical you could say they do it for the tips, but i believe that they really want you to have a great experience so that you will come back to Jamaica.
Pools there are 2 the one by the bar is lively with entertainment all day and night. the other is an adult only pool which is quiet, but has a bar from 10 to 5, The beaches are quiet and there are loungers every where, you will never be fighting over loungers. Some of the breakwaters look tired and uncared for, and maybe they should do some work on these, but they do not affect the holiday, there are canoes and pedal boats, and snorkelling all inluded, you pay for motorised sports, the big chess set was popular whilst we were there, they also have board games for rainy times or to keep the kids occupied.
Do not be put off by romours of going out of the resort, go and meet the locals and spend some money with them, they want you to have a great time also.
The other comment i read before going was that they only cater for the french this is not true the entertainment is in english, but they translate into french, and the other thing that is organised is that between 7.30 and 8.30 each evening they have a quiz for the french down at the jetty bar, we went to join them a couple of nights, could not understand it but the sense of fun was great,
This sums it up for me , one day when we had a shower the management sent tea and coffe around all the bars for us, i thought this was a great touch.
Try this resort you will find it infectious.

Room Tip: we were in room 51 close to the restaraunt and bars, also close to adult pool, and everything worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    891
    317
    158
    150
See reviews for
488
1,187
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

14th Jan -28th Jan 2013

This was our second holiday at this resort, the first being in January 2001, and is intended as an up date to my review posted on 28/03/11.

This resort now caters in the main for French holiday makers in every aspect. Notices and signs were written in French and English. The staff spoke in French as their first choice language, English second, similarly did the entertainment staff. I am English and when in a predominantly English speaking country I expect to be addressed in English! Not "Bonjour" and "Bon appetite"

The French holiday makers: They are LOUD, ARROGANT, RUDE, SELFISH and IMPATIENT. They have no time for the needs of others, they are rude to the waiters treating them as third world citizens, they will not wait patiently to be served or to use the self service, they don't know the meaning of the word queue, their manners are deplorable and they don't think twice about commandeeering tables, chairs, sun loungers etc for up to 12 people even when there's only one of them present - as I said,LOUD, ARROGANT, RUDE, SELFISH and IMPATIENT!
This isn't the first time we've encountered the French on holiday, last year it was in Mauritius via Charles De Gaulle airport and Air France, and they were the same on that occasion LOUD, ARROGANT, RUDE, SELFISH and IMPATIENT!

The Food: A lot more variety now and I was impressed by the attention given to the food at the buffets. Food temperatures are taken regularly and heat adjusted accordingly, samples are also taken for testing. Everything in the dining areas are kept spotlessly clean and mainained so, with cleaners in attendance during and after meal times. There is bacon available every morning which wasn't on our last visit but it's not self service, it's situated between the egg station and the muffin station. Food trays are now re-filled as and when necessary but when there is a joint of meat on the carvery when it's gone it's gone, it isn't replenished, so don't dine late. Rum and raisen ice cream is delicious when available and if the French have left any!

Entertainment Staff: Not our thing BUT we were very impressed by their dancing skills and ability to provide first class entertainment considering they are all amateurs. The resident singer and band were not very good, same old thing every night, and would be better replaced with a "karaoke machine"

Lifeguards: A previous contributor lambasted them as "beach gigolos". That is far from the truth. While we were there a woman whilst swimming got into difficulties in the sea and the lifeguard was there in a heartbeat to save her. APPLAUSE, APPLAUSE! You will see them walking the beaches picking up glasses left by the lazy holidaymakers or re-siting loungers but that is only to relieve their boredom, they are always on the alert to provide assistance.

Glass Bottomed Boat: It's not there now - regretfully.

Beaches: Swept and cleaned every morning. Man-made beaches but they suffice. Most of the loungers have been replaced with new. Any hurricane damage is being attended to but in Jamaica only Usain Bolt is in any hurry - it's yeh mon, tomorrow mon.
On one occasion we witnessed an English couple lying under a parasol on loungers when two french couples pushed four loungers under the same parasol and pushed the English couple's bags etc off the table, it was so crowded that the English couple couldn't recline their loungers. It eventually became so intolerable thet the English couple moved to another parasol which was vacant. Yes, there were other parasols and loungers available so why were the French so rude?

Cleanliness: Excellent throughout.

Bar Staff: Reluctant to serve unless looked in the eye and they constantly try to avoid eye contact.The staff had changed from our previous visit and were not as entertaining. All alcoholic drinks are known labelled brands except for the wine(vinegar) and are not watered down! We liked the Red Stripe beer.

The Hotel: It's looking tired, particularly the main pool which is in desperate need of refurbishment.

Note; We're not anti-French but I speak as I find.

Room Tip: Not in the Garden Block or near the pool and Dining area (the Disco is above it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just arrived back from the decameron club in Jamaica we had looked at trip advisor before leaving and had been wary about some of the reviews, however once we arrived we had a great holiday we were taken from reception to our room by a bellboy , who was very polite and helpful we went to the room which was massive with a big bathroom , our room was cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels everyday , the bar was next port of call had all we asked for cold beer and rum cocktails a plenty , the main restaurant was the only place to get breakfast with plenty of choice even for the fussiest of eaters , The other 2 restaurants one was open for afternoon snacks which were good , the entertainment crew where fantastic and always approachable and helpful food at night was generally good with only a couple of nights a little let down with the options but you will get that everywhere , the only let down we found was the Thai restaurant we expected a really good meal but felt not only was there not any Thai dishes on the menu but the quality was poor , I felt that restaurant would of worked better a jerk grill , I would reccomded this hotel to anyone who wanted a nice chilled out holiday with option to have a party if you choose

Room Tip: Ask for rooms around 50 to 90 to keep away from night noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macot-la-Plagne, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked this resort for our wedding. It was our first visit to Jamaica and we definitely want to come back. When we arrived we had a problem with the room as we booked sea view cottage and we were allocated garden cottage but the rep Amaril sorted it out for us very quickly, it's worth to mention that she was great, very friendly and helpful, always there if you needed anything.
The resort is brilliant, lots of facilities to accommodate different ages and interests, food varied and good quality. Rooms are good, some of them bit dated and there were problems with showers in some rooms but other than that they were comfortable, very clean and well equipped. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway because why would you want to waste any minute of the beautiful weather.
The most valued part of the hotel is the staff.They work very hard and long hours but seem to love their jobs and customers.They are all very friendly, chatty but not cheesy.We made friends with a few of the bar and entertainment team.
On our wedding day everything went smoothly and stress free thanks to our wonderful coordinator Tashara who took care of things. Tashara and her team gave us the most beautiful and magical wedding we dreamt of.
We went of some excursions booked through our rep and also used local taxis to visit places.If you go to Jamaica you can't miss Dunn's River Fall or cycling in Blue Mountain. Horse riding is also a great experience and suitable for any abilities. If you would like to see some rural areas join the excursion to the south part of the island.
We all had fantastic holiday and hope to go back there some day :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

First, let's get the bad out of the way!

We were in room 68. Remember that number well if you are planning to visit The Royal Decameron. In fact, remember the room numbers 60-70! The room looked nice. The bed was large enough for a helicopter to land on and was very comfortable. The plumbing, however was a disaster! I only had one uninterrupted shower the whole fortnight. You could start the shower, get in the shower, cover yourself in shampoo & shower gel but then the water would stop or go hot or go cold. It was the a case of turn the water off and wait a bit then try again. Eventually you got water to rinse off. We complained and they assured us it would be fixed. It wasn't while we were there. There were problems with the toilet as well but only briefly.
The other problem with this room is that it backs on to the service area. Work seems to start about 6.00am so does the noise.
Don't accept room 68 or any of the others in the same row (60-70).

Now the good, there's lots!

Reception check-in on arrival was quick although an information sheet about meal times etc. would have been an asset. The room was large although basic and it was kept very clean.
Food was good and well prepared. Hygiene certainly seemed good and the dining area was kept clean. We can be a bit fussy with food but always had something to eat even if we had to fall back on the really good salad. Breakfast was good. The guy on the omelette making has a really good sense of fun and makes good omelettes and fried eggs! The waiters look after you well and keep your water and wine topped up!
The bar staff are in a league of their own! The sing and dance while serving a large number of cocktails. One barman was serving for quite some time with a bottle standing on his head!
Beaches were raked daily and there seemed to be plenty of sunbeds with quite a lot of shade if you need it.
If you want lots of activity during the day the animation crew will keep you busy. They are crazy in the nicest possible way!
Evening entertainment was good. Sometimes put on by the animation crew who are very professional and sometimes outside performers.
The grounds of the hotel are kept immaculate although in places need a bit of repair.

My overall impression was that is a hotel which is in need of an upgrade. For example, in a hot country a fridge mini-bar would be nice in the room. I would recommend going there. The staff and general welcome are great. Just stay away from room 68!!

Room Tip: Stay away from room 68! In fact avoid rooms 60-70!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Jamaica, and we could not have been made to feel more welcome by the staff at RDC.
I struggle to find fault with the hotel or the staff, and read the negative reviews with a growing sense of disbelief. I can only imagine that some people have incredibly high expectations and low tolerance when on holiday.
We stayed in one of the garden cottages and were pleasantly surprised with its size, queen size bed, bathroom, walkin closet and flat screen tv. The maids did a fantastic job each day, and we felt at home in the room.
The food was nothing special, but at every meal we found something we liked. I would recommend trying the cheese burgers at the grill, rather than sticking to the main buffet for lunch.
The best part of the holiday was the entertainment team. My wife and I normally travel with friends, but this was our first holiday alone for many years. Almost immediately the team made themselves known to us, and made us feel welcome. Their energy is contagious, and boy, can the girls shake their booties! A special mention to Princess, Baby Rasta, Candy, Scooby and Tommy.
This is a multi-nationality resort, but we did not feel excluded (even the French entertainment team would make conversation).
I have no hesitation in recommending this resort. It is not a 5* resort and does not claim to be, but it is just the right size to provide a personal feel, from the reception staff and rep remembering your name, to the entertainment staff spending time with you.

Room Tip: Remember this is Jamaica and everybody likes to party, so try to avoid rooms near the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for a 5 day 4 night stay - it was our first trip to Jamaica. We chose Runaway Bay area due to the proximity of the tours offered and wanted an all inclusive to not worry about anything.
Let me tell you:

Our room was not ready.. we were told to check back in 4 hours. We did. They overbooked and we had no room that first night. We stayed in someone else's room who generously offered.
The next day was the same thing at the front desk. No room. I threw a minor fit and talked to the manager. They offered us to go to Montego Bay to their hotel there. I said no.. we have our room here.
Miraculously they had a beach cabin open up. We lugged our suitcases there to where they told us our cabin was. Someone else was in it. We lugged our suitcases all the way back to the front desk. had to wait until the people moved out and the cabin cleaned until we could get in.
so.. the 2nd day of our vacation was pretty much shot.
Once we got into the room we noticed there was one bed and 2 twin beds. At that point we just said the heck with it and stayed .
We all got sick while we were there.. they called it the Jamaican crud. It was a mix of bronchitis , fever, diarrhea and fatigue. That didn't stop us from going to the Falls or snorkeling or swimming in the Bio Bay. That was the highlight of the trip -- GETTING OFF OF THE PROPERTY.
Each time we walked the trails within the property we were approached by workers asking if we wanted to buy weed... it was a bit unnerving.
Some kind of bugs were in the bed in the cabin.. I was bit from head to toe. itchy. welts..
The last night we were there, front desk told us that we had to move out of our cabin due to maintenance. There were no other rooms available. They were very adamant that we had to pack. What did they offer? Rooms at their Montego Bay property. As we were all leaving that next day from Montego Bay we said fine. Glad to get the heck out of there.
Once we got to the Montego Bay property, they were overbooked. No rooms.
My friend and I were deathly ill at that point and planted ourselves at the front desk and argued each time someone new came to the desk getting their rooms.
I coughed and coughed.. it couldn't be helped. I told the front desk to give us someone else's room as that is what they were best at doing.
Finally they gave us a room. We had to drag our luggage I swear for at least a half mile.. only to discover they gave us a FLIPPING closet transformed into a room. There was a bed in the room. Nothing else.
NO WAY.. we went BACK to the front desk and raised hell. and coughed and coughed and coughed. They relented and miraculously found us a room with a queen bed.
4 girls 1 queen bed.

NEVER NEVER stay at Royal Decameron. We learned our lesson.

The only good things about Royal Decameron Runaway Bay : the Swing Bar and the coffee.

Do yourself a favor... stay AWAY!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay | Jamaica, Runaway Bay Jamaica, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Club Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.