We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember its only a 3 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Club Caribbean to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street Runaway Bay | Jamaica, Runaway Bay Jamaica, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Remember its only a 3 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Returned yesterday after a 2 week stay. This is a great and enjoyable place to stay.

The staff and the chalets are superb.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. You can always talk to them, have a joke with them and ask them advise on Jamaican matters. Some favourites were Scooby, Greg, Kerry Anne and Tanisha. Also liked the 2 waiters in the restaurant bit unfortunately too much booze meant I forgot their names. One constructive comment is aimed at the few, whom I guess to be managers and they seem to want to be a bit too above themselves to make an effort to talk to guests.
The chalets are generally circular self contained units with one big bedroom, bathroom and wardrobe / store room. There is a flat screen TV. The chalets are well maintained and cleaned. True its not modern decor but this is a 3 star hotel.

The food is generally very good. It is varied and usually follows themed menus. The Nyamings restaurant provides a change from the buffet / main restaurant and yet again nothing but praise. There is always a choice and bound to be something that even the most choosey could eat. Stay around at 11pm and try the proper burgers! There is also a free shuttle bus to the Funclub Decameron and there is a Japanese restaurant, which is also excellent.

The main attraction of Jamaica is the beaches and here there are 3 coves.....all sandy and with various spots to hide in the shade. Lovely blue sea!
There are 2 pool areas which are next to bars. A smaller and quieter Adults only pool is pleasant. The main pool is adequate but I suggest the Hotel should consider improving the pool as it looks very dated!!
Liked to visit the Jetty bar in the late afternoon, where the very pleasant Tanisha never seemed to let my glass empty!!! Nice talking to Mr P ( an elderly gent who enthralled me for hours on cricket and football).

The Entertainments team make sure there is something going on, whether its volley ball, dominoes or a music quiz.. The live music was good and usually the "cabaret" after the live music was also very good. Another constructive comment would be the choice of music played by the team, who wanted to play Gangnam style and other similar genre of music to an audience who probably wanted something a bit more varied and more contemporary. Possibly this is the reason the Disco didnt have more than 10 guests in the room!!! Scooby, Crazy, One drop ( how did he get that nickname?) and Nemo .......Great characters! Nemo is a master MC!! Nearly forgot to mention the trio who played at lunch and early evening..... real Calypso charm consisting of a guitar, beat box and maraccas.

First choice Rep, Amaril is superb!!!! Excellent welcome and though I did have a complaint about an excursion which was really a minor complaint. She dealt with this efficiently and provided a solution which I was not expecting.

In conclusion, other reviewers have some negative comments as I have............but you have to remember this is a 3 star hotel oozing Jamaican charm and character not a 5 star expensive concrete palace!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    823
    283
    147
    148
See reviews for
454
1,074
39
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Friendly hotel and gardening staff who worked hard to restore the damage caused by superstorm Sandy (which had recently hit this area prior to our arrival - we watched it decimate the New York area on CNN satellite news on the TV in our rooms). We choose the garden rooms and it was well worth the additional expense. Food ok in main buffet restaurant. but seafood nights much better upstairs in bookable restaurant (staff really attentive and produced a birthday cake for bro in law). My main complaint relates to the entertainment. It is very loud & unrelenting commencing from mid morning until late at night (however evening entertainment was varied and ok). Our rooms were on the perimeter and we could hear everything from the microphone (music/voice). If you are a fan of an afternoon siesta forget it - you will NOT get any peace - the sound system blares out across the complex drowning the gentle sounds of nature.This is sad because it means that I would not stay at this hotel again. Decameron need to work out what type of guest they want to attract i.e. the 18-30 Ibiza type crowd OR families/mature customers. Stanley (taxi driver) took 5 of us to Firefly (home and final resting place of Noel Coward) for 100 US dollars. Well worth a visit (+10 US dollar entry fee each). Have your photo taken in the same place as Noel looking over the beautiful sea vista.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

after a ten hour flight with first choice and there abysmal inflight entertainment,we arrived at the RDC with a smoothe check in and a cool drink we was escorted to our garden cottage little realising it was one of the two best things about the resort, the room was huge with a large comfy bed,great wall mounted tele, nice bathroom and great walkin wardrobe.The photos on trip advisor for me give the beach a false carribbean look, there are 4 little bays that are manmade the sand is brown in colour there is no wow factor here,you cannot walk no further than 200 metres where the resort ends, even on a clear calm day it isnt a patch on cuba"s beaches.The main pool is where all the entertainment and the main bar is, not an ideal position for a cooling dip it is mayhem at times, 9 till 10 in the morning is the best time for this pool, there is another adults only pool in the grounds with a bar which is nice and quiet but the builders were in for our 2 week duration it wasn"t too bad though, this pool is probably better if you want a relaxing holiday. The second best thing was the food it is very well presented but after 2 weeks it does get a bit samey especially the jamaican nights which is 2 nights a week, the a la carte"s are pretty good also. the waiters bless em are all over you at first until they realise you are not canadian or american and dont tip everytime the service does drop somewhat and you have to look for them i dont blame them but it is notceable.Now for the entertainment if you want jamaican rap or reggae music played at a high volume with the fun crew doing ridiculous dance moves just to get you attention this is the place for you, im up for a good time but this is every day and night it gets boring, probably about 4 nights out of 14 did they have a decent act on, we went for a drink at a local bar which was ok but you do get hassled by the locals.We went on 2 trips which are a must do the cattamaran dunns falls and the bob marley nine miles but again they are after your money as soon as you get there, it does"nt spoil the trips though,we went on the free shuttle bus to ochio taj mahal shops be prepared for hassle its ok for your holiday prezzies they do advise you not to go into ochio town centre.The hotel does have wi-fi at 5 US dollars an hour its not very good though, the reception staff, cleaners,gardeners and waiters are nice and polite people and do make the hotel tick but i will not be returning here because of the lack of wow factor, probably negril iv"e been told is the place for that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first visit to Jamaica, and we were not disappointed.

The flight with First Choice was long (10 hours), but we had decided to upgrade to Premium Class which gave us plenty of legroom, and the cabin crew seemed to provide us with meals, snacks and drinks on a regular basis throughout the journey. In flight entertainment was satisfactory with a reasonable number of recent films available (plenty of time to watch a couple of films). The transfer from the airport to the hotel was a little chaotic, with our luggage transported on one bus and us on another one due to lack of space, but it all worked out well in the end.

Check-in at the hotel was painless, although we were disappointed at first to be allocated a room as far away as possible from 'the action', but although both of us are not as mobile as we would wish to be it did not turn out to be too bad as the resort is not very large, and it only took a 5 minutes to walk to where we wanted to be.

All rooms at the resort (except for the courtyard rooms) are of the 'Cottage' type and are more than satisfactory. It was cleaned every day and towels etc were changed as necessary. The only drawbacks were that there is no balcony or area where you can sit outside your room, and no fridge was available (I think one could have been provided, possibly at additional cost).

The resort has two swimming pools...one at the centre of the resort near to the reception, buffet restaurant and main bar, and one Adults Only Pool, which we preferred as it was much quieter and also has its own bar area. The main pool tended to be a bit noisy with continuous music (reggae and rap usually...very enjoyable but not ALL the time) and animation team activities. There are also three small beaches, but we tended to stay clear of these due to a bad experience with sand flies on a previous holiday (not here) and although they did not seem to be evident we did not take the chance of getting bitten by the blighters!! The beaches however seemed to be cleaned daily and were well used.

There are three bars at the resort, Main Bar, Jetty Bar, and Adult Pool Bar. The drinks were of a high standard at them all, with International Brands available at no additional cost. The Bar Staff (as were all staff) were very attentive and soon remembered your favorite drinks.

The only disappointment of the resort was the food. There did not seem to be much of a variety and although we never failed, it was difficult on occasions to find something we liked to eat. I ended up with goat curry and rice on three occasions (not too bad actually !!). Breakfasts weren't too bad but on several occasions they had run out of bacon (a breakfast staple) and the reason being that despite having it in the stores once the initial supply had gone no more would be cooked. This I can understand if breakfast time was coming to an end but not at 9am when breakfast finishes at 10.30. I am not getting up early on my holiday to have bacon for breakfast. This was rectified towards the end of our holiday.

The entertainment at the hotel was as good as I have come across anywhere, with a distinct Jamaican feel to it Yah Mon! It was varied every night and was one of the highlights of the holiday. The animation team worked hard throughout the day to keep everyone entertained and did a great job.

There is an extensive list of trips and tours available from First Choice, and whilst they are not cheap the ones we went on were very good. The best one we went on was the 'Bob Marley Jeep Safari' which visits his grave and you also get the opportunity to sample some 'wacky baccy' should you so desire (No compulsion to try...just say no). The tours may be available cheaper through local taxi companies who operate from the hotel, but we decided to stick to the simple option.

The First Choice Rep at the hotel (Amaril) does an excellent job and I can not praise her enough.

We enjoyed our holiday at the RDCC very much and I would have given it another star if they could have got their act together with the food. Would be go back again? Probably, but not at this hotel...I don't like goat curry that much !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Better later than ever, we stayed at the RDC mid September in a party of four. Natoya on front desk was very efficient and helpful allocating us lovely adjoining cottages with sea views. We found our cottages to be clean and tidy in an ideal location for the beaches, bar and restaurant. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive especially Basil, Kermit, David and Patrick. George the bar tender served every drink right, remembering your previous orders and how you liked it. The water sports were fun and the team very helpful. When relatives came to stay the hotel especially front desk were very helpful in explaining the process and checking in our elderly Mother, as well as our Brother and Cousin. Kirby in the gym looked after our mother encouraging her softly and gently on the equipment. The food was fine, plenty of choices, only the American night was a bit of a miss as we did not go to Jamaica to eat burgers. Night entertainment could be better but the Fun Crew tried their best. We have all said we would love to come back again, as we found it to be a very relaxing and chilled out holiday which all the family thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage as the courtyard rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Check-In & Front Desk: We requested through our travel agent and through an email to the hotel that our 3 rooms be side-by-side; or at the very least be on the same floor. But when we arrived they were not able to accommodate us.

Room: A bit aged, but VERY clean. Comfortable beds and an unbeatable view!

Food: AMAZING!

Hotel & Entertainment Staff: Friendly and went above and beyond!

Beach: A bit of a disappointment but we still enjoyed none-the-less.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here after the hurracaine sandy hit, what a fabulous hotel , we stayed here with our year and a half old daughter who also loved everybody at the hotel, stress free relaxing and amazing staff , entertainment crew felt like our friends and we had a marvellous time and we are already savng hoping to book again in the next few weeks, great food great hotel wonderful warm feeling when there cottages were fabulous and we had a great first family holiday.Also considering my other half is from this area and left jamaica a few years ago who is not a holiday type of guy even he has said that we should return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay | Jamaica, Runaway Bay Jamaica, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Club Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.