We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but let down by choice on menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharkies

Sharkies
Salem, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
+1 876-973-5472
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food but let down by choice on menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

As the title says when we went food was great but there was only two choices on the menu fish or shrimps I went for the fish which was red snapper cook well and the spices on it were great that on its own made up for the lack of choice the drinks were cheep and so was the meal well worth a visit even if you don't get the full menu

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had the coconut shrimp which was cooked in a curry type sauce and it was absolutely delicious, set with the location right on Sharkie's beach and this place has it all, there isn't a lot to choose from but it covers most things, fish, shrimp, chicken and steak. I thought it was a little bit pricey considering you are at a beach shack. £28 for two main meal's with two sides, two beers and a pepsi, is certainly more than I would have thought to be paying but was well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sharkies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A little authentic Jamaican food... simple, but good. Dinner for 2 for $18 USD We had jerk chicken (good) breadfruit (bland) and some red-stripe. Ate overlooking the bay, it was very relaxing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Not too impressed, food was OK and a little overpriced. Did not care too much for the ambiance, it is mostly outside near the water, plenty of mosquitos and the area was not kept that well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Cooked Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

5 minutes walk from the RDCC.

Meal cooked fresh as ordered, waited about 30 mins for food, but this not a problem as food was fresh abd beautiful in flavour.

Will go again on our next visit to Jamaica

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharkies also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Sharkies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharkies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.