We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sonate

Save Saved
You added Villa Sonate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Sonate
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   18 MarySunley Crescent | Cardiff Hall, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Runaway Bay B&B and Inns
Miramichi, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Irie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Villa Sonate was the perfect place for my husband and I to bring in the new year. This charming property is tucked away, in the hills, yet near the beach, in Runaway Bay. The staff was amazing; they were a perfect blend of attentive, friendly and discreet.

I booked the villa after reading about the breakfasts. Micana, the chef, made all my Jamaican breakfast favourites: yam, dumplings, fried banana, achee and salt fish. Typically not one to get up for breakfast, I made it a point wake for breakfast. The one morning I didn't make it out of bed, a tray was sent up to me. Now that is service!

We will definitely return to Villa Sonate. I've been recommending the villa to all of my friends. If you are looking for charm, comfort, romance and rejuvenation, this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I went to the villa to get away from Club Ambiance. The staff is awesome. Very good meals and not a big variety but excellent food.
Very quiet, no entertainment, Just very laid back and beyond friendly
Pool under refit right now, very nice well looked after garden style property

Room Tip: honeymoon suite has a Jacuzzi tub, but the water is just not quite hot enough for me. the junior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a well run hotel. The hotel is nicely presented with attractive gardens all round. It's also very peaceful, probably because it's not near the main highway. The hotel shares a private beach with some of the other hotels which made for a no hassle dip in the sea. Breakfast and dinner was included in the price - not the best food I've ever tasted, but very edible. The room was clean, with private shower-room and located on the ground floor with it's own verandah. The staff were very friendly and when I discovered I had left my credit card behind at the hotel after checking out, they did all they could to try to contact me so I could return to pick it up - which I did. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Our trip was awesome. We went for a wedding. The staff was so helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond to make our group feel welcomed and cared for. The wedding was beautiful due to the dedication and care from the entire staff. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catherine, jamaica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

the location was remote and very quiet; the staff was extremely courteous and the grounds were perfectly manicured. if you need a quiet location for work or just relaxation then Villa Sonate is the place for you. i love the amenities in the room; room service was offered daily at no additional cost. although its in runaway bay; the serenity was worth it. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We found this hotel from a new Jamaican friend and booked a stay sight unseen. The Staff was very courteous. The Breakfast was good. The grounds and gardens are immaculately manicured and beautiful. The air is peaceful away from the hustle and bustle. The room was comfortable and spacious with a large comfortable balcony. We found this place to have great value, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I just came back from spending three night there, the staffs are very professional and friendly. the grounds are immaculately kept. My husband and i stayed in the honeymoon suite which was very spacious and clean, the bathroom has a jacuzzi and shower with jets all over. There was a sunbathing patio along with a fridge and microwave. The breakfast was exceptional their chef can cook real well. If you are looking for peace and quite along with simple but elegant detail you should stay here. Oh if you are not a cat lover you may not like the parking area they are alot of them but they stay to themselves and are very cute....
Thanks to all the staff that was on duty while we stayed, we will be definately coming back..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sonate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonate

Address: 18 MarySunley Crescent | Cardiff Hall, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sonate 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Sonate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sonate Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sonate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;