We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crfr can” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Ambiance

Save Saved
You added Club Ambiance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Ambiance
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road, PO Box 20 | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“crfr can”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed for7 days most enjoyable place staff very caring and attentive to your needs ,yes alittle run down but i had a blast would go back! went on a couple of great tours! met awsome people band was awsome no real complaints.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your experience here at Club Ambiance..
We are happy that you had a wonderful time.
Our consistent customer training to our staff for their development, as help them to be attentive and caring to our guest , and this we will always exercise.
Thank you again, and we are looking forward in welcoming you b back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    403
    168
    97
    77
See reviews for
33
554
66
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

the staff is wonderful, management needs a tune up for sure.
Buffet only, no a la cart, food at the buffet had 6 hot dishes max and it is always the same food cooked a different way
4 rooms in the first 3 days to find something that I had paid for.
I am now paying on my own to get out until my so called all in is up.
I most certainly would not recommend this hotel.
It was wonderful a few years ago. The new owners do not fix up anything.

Room Tip: only buy the deluxe junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from our stay at Club Ambiance where we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, which is the most important part! We read through the reviews before our stay, so we were constantly on the lookout for complaints (or praises) that had been made by previous reviewers so that we could see if it really was all that bad. That being said, I will admit that there is a lot of truth to most reviews, both positive and negative. However, if you don't feel like reading through bullet points, my overall suggestion would be to go enjoy your vacation at Club Ambiance - as long as you know how to have fun yourself! The positives far outweigh the negatives, but that won't matter if you're a person who tends to look at the glass as half empty. :)

So here's the breakdown...

First and foremost, entertainment: We had an absolute blast hanging out with bartenders Mellonie and Phillip - our stay would not have been complete without their great sense of humor and creative drink making abilities! Honestly, these guys make the place what it is. Many members of the staff, especially Storm and Kemar, really know how to liven up a room. There are games and contests scheduled daily. My boyfriend and I won the couple's contest (a "how well do you know your partner" type of game, which kept everyone laughing) and received a bottle of rum and a satchel of coffee for prizes. The bartenders will give drink making lessons, the band plays every night, and there are plenty of games like darts and table tennis to keep you occupied on rainy days. We never checked out the disco, but it looked like a lot of fun, complete with stripper pole and all.

Beaches: All of the beaches are on the smaller side, which would have been disappointing had they been crowded, but they weren't. Also, if you're wanting privacy while going nude on the nude or clothing optional beaches, you won't get much of it. However, the hot tub is very private, being nearly completely surrounded by lush trees and bushes. If you want big stretches of sand, you could visit the larger public beach just a 5 minute drive away. The beach situation could be a huge negative for some vacationers, but we were satisfied with the modest beaches at the hotel. There are also hammocks to lounge around in, which I loved.

Food & drink: The drinks were consistently good; tell the bartenders what you like and they will be sure to remember. The quality of the food was either hit or miss. Some of the highlights were the honey mustard chicken, fried chicken, pan seared fish (I think it was grouper?), fried sweet potatoes, seafood bisque, and the pineapple upside down cake. Steer clear of the rice, it's a bit undercooked. Breakfast was definitely the best meal though, with some of my favorites being the banana bread, bacon and cheese omelet, and pancakes. The dining hall is pretty, with big windows kept open so you can feel the breeze from the ocean. It's especially nice at breakfast.

Rooms/Hotel in general: This is where it's mostly negative. Yes, the rooms are outdated and desperately need better lighting so you don't feel like you're in a cave. Same goes for the bathrooms. No fancy satellite TV, the sliding door was difficult to open, and the water temperature in the shower was unpredictable. The phone in our room didn't work and you can only connect to WIFI in the lobby. On the bright side, our room was clean and spacious, felt very private and was quiet. We were able to get over the sub par room because we rarely spend time in our room during the day while on vacation. Even though the rooms themselves need some work, the grounds of the property are lovely and well kept. We kept coming across tables and benches perched in private corners or overlooking the water, which I think adds a nice romantic touch. Plenty of seating everywhere, inside and out. Make sure to explore the grounds your first day there so you can find your favorite go to spot :)

Hope this helps give you an idea of what Club Ambiance is really like. If you want glamorous accommodations, this may not be what you're looking for. However, if you want to have a good time for less money, make new friends, and have a more personalized Jamaican experience, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to share the experience you had at Club Ambiance. When we meet guest expectations, it gives us a really good feeling that motivates us to do even more.
Reading through your bulletin points on the various areas you mentioned, is very interesting, The applaud,and the constructive criticism will only help us to improve going forward as a Resort destination.
In reference to our rooms, the replacement of soft furnishing will be placed in rooms.
I will be sure to tell the relevant managerial persons to see how best they can address these areas. I will also make mention of the names of staff you thought need special applaud for their service offered.
Thank you again, and we look forward in seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I visited Jan of 2014. Its the off season so it wasnt real buisy but I had a blast. The resort is a bit dated but nice just the same. The small trips offered were a great time as well. Id have to say the bar and band were awesome. Def worth every penny I spent. The staff were kind and professional. Great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I visited in February 2012. It is a down home type of place it is not a commercial resort like the sandals resorts. The pool and ocean were nearby, kept clean, the rooms were decent, and the food was awesome. Also the location is great to get out for day trips to Dunn's River Falls or Dolphin Cove. The staff and people of jamaica are fabulous. We had fun observing the home made entertainment night, the little club, and bar. great for

Room Tip: stay on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Guest, we are happy to know you find us to be a "down home type of place...". Club Ambiance is a place to come and relax and at the same time enjoy your vacation. A homey feel is what you will get here at Club Ambiance.
Do remember when you are here, you are not a number but apart of the Club Ambiance family.
Thank you, and we do look forward to accommodate you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

There are multiple endorsements on this Club Ambiance page and thanks to Trip Advisor the “true story”, at least for the most part, is readily available for the uninitiated. We just returned from out 10th consecutive CA vacation, always over the festive period, and it has to rank as the best ever. That may be a lot to say given the fact that a vacation by its very nature suggests an enjoyable getaway regardless of venue etc. Club Ambiance is slowly but surely emerging from its transition period, i.e., shedding the character that made this small, all-inclusive resort a “must visit” destination and broadening its appeal to a wider audience. The “new” CA, however, really hasn’t changed in the pure essence of giving the guests what they want. Beaches are small but never crowded, the pool is sparkling blue and the rooms are dated but clean. Yet, it’s the staff (some old familiar faces are gone) that truly makes the holiday memorable. If you decide to visit you will profit from getting to know Lincoln (Dining Room Supervisor) – a man who radiates service and will go miles out of his way to make you happy. Philip, at the bar (easily distinguished by his laugh and that seagull poop appearing bit of hair) is faster than a speeding bullet. Kevin in the dining room is remarkably kind along with Sanilee, Julia and the others who go well beyond their job description to ensure your complete comfort. Tony at the pool is – well – Tony and he’s been there longer than we’ve been regulars. Want to sip coconut water from its original container? Donavan the gardener will make it happen in an instant. Do yourself a favor and meet the Manager, Gilbert Blackwood – think of the best friend you cherish above all others and this is the man you will meet: caring, gracious and joyful! Call him and book direct – you will be pleasantly surprised. And perhaps the best part of CA is Mr. Moodie one of the transportation experts!

If recommendations mean anything to you, please heed this suggestion. Skip the traditional hotel provided transfer from the airport to resort and opt to have “Moodie” meet you upon your arrival for a private whisking away to CA (cooler and refreshments along for the ride) in his cool, clean van but don’t let it end there. Ask him about his personally designed excursion to the Blue Lagoon (Brook Shields, Tom Cruise movies among others filmed there) and you will be enthralled with both the majestic scenery on the way and this secluded, spectacular spot – it is beyond description and will bring joy and smiles to even the most brittle of travelers. Lunch on the return trip just outside of Port Antonio at Juici Pattie (total cost $10.00 for the 3 of us) was another discovery that will delight you in a tasty way. (moodietransportation@gmail.com)

Please do not let your expectations run wild, though, Club Ambiance is a straight forward, unpretentious 3-star resort that does not offer the amenities of a Sandals or large hotel. Frankly, it’s the lack of elevators and the ability to get to know staff by their name that makes this 90-room sanctuary the true gem that it is becoming. We are headed back at the end of March – enough said.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Honeymoon Room" - very nice and all are right on the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful and fun experience while staying at our Resort. We are grateful to have an advocate like you. This means a great deal to us , as we continue to pursue in offering our best service to our guests.

As you mentioned we have broaden the appeal to a wider audience, and we are happy that we are still able to maintain the "Ambiance" here.
I will be sure to share your review with all staffs, especially to the staffs name mentioned, and let them know that their services were appreciated by you.
One of our many objectives is to always paint a true picture of our guest expectations, so our integrity is kept with our valued guests.
Thank you again, and we do look forward in welcoming your return in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at this resort from 12/31 until 1/2 and that was 2 days 2 many. This place I'm sure has seen better days. As you look around you can see paint chipping and holes in the walls. The shower would only give you 2 seconds of hot water so getting a good hot/warm shower was impossible. The chairs in the dining room are not sturdy, one guest sat in the chair and it broke and he was an average size man. I asked the cook at the grill if the hamburgers were beef and he replied "I don't know". I don't eat mystery meat. If there's one good thing to say about the place it would be the entertainment, the band was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Currently we are in the process of renovating key areas on property and so we do look forward in the future for a more beautified Club Ambiance. In reference to the cook not knowing what type of burger - is an unfortunate situation and we will make sure to address it. We still hope you will be back at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Address: Main Road, PO Box 20 | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay
Club Ambience Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Ambiance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.