We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and friendly spot to be spoiled in Jamaica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Ambiance to your Saves list
Club Ambiance
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road, PO Box 20 | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
London, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A quiet and friendly spot to be spoiled in Jamaica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Traveling with my boyfriend, sister, brother-in-law and parents, this resort was the perfect quiet spot for a small group. The staff there was really what made this spot so special. They were extremely attentive and it was clear their priority was our comfort and happiness. The rooms were clean and the AC worked well. The beds were a little hard, but nothing overly concerning. Anything we needed was quickly attended to. Garreth (Skinny) would love to take you snorkelling, ask for Chris to take you into Ocho Rios for shopping and site seeing. Take a bike ride to the Green Grotto caves nearby as well! The food was excellent with lots of variety through the week. They have the main buffet and then a grill outdoors for lunch time. Beer is only served on tap, but the mixed drink selection went far beyond pina coladas and daiquiris! If you don’t like too much sugar, ask Brady at Legends Bar for a ‘Coloured Cow’. If you are looking for busy, crowded white sand beaches and unnecessarily large lobbies and statues, this is not the place for you. If you want private beaches to spy on sand crabs, beach volleyball, enclosed coves to sunbath in the buff, shuffle board, ping pong, pool and darts outdoors, then look no further.

Room Tip: All the Honeymoon suites have ocean views. I would highly recommend booking a small room and upgradi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    421
    183
    109
    94
See reviews for
34
591
76
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went with a friend over New Year's Eve and we have nothing but good things to say about Club Ambiance!! After reading reviews we knew it would be an older resort without any fancy bells and whistles, and that's exactly what it is. However the rooms were clean and the air conditioning worked and that's all we needed!! The resort is fairly small (about 90 rooms), which we liked because we got to know a lot of people staying there. And as many reviews have said... the staff are INCREDIBLE!!! Without the help of Sharika at the tour desk, I wouldn't have been able to go diving as my original dive plan fell through and she pulled as many strings as possible to get another company on the property in 15 minutes!! As it's a small resort you get to know the staff and I have nothing but good things to say about the entertainment crew (Storm is an absolute gem!!) the bartenders (Junior knew my drink on the second day!), the cooks (noone cooks better than Mama!!) and the wait staff (Princess's smile always made me smile!). Because it is a smaller resort they may not have as much variety for food, drinks and activities as other resorts, however I found that we always had things to do, I was pleased with all the meals, and the drinks were always cold and tasty! I would highly recommend this resort... however if you're looking for 5* and loads of people... this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is terrible resort, I can't say more than that!
No beach, so you can't swim AT ALL!!!! NO Jamaican food, just on wednesday and very poor variety!!! Rooms are terrible, we moved three time, every think is non functional. They write review by them self to hook the travelers. Never go there, they have fake review!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are the same, non functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed during the Christmas/New Year holiday. Enjoyed every minute and was able to unwind and relax. The staff is what makes Club Ambiance. From the moment I arrived the staff knew my name and made sure that I had a wonderful stay. The food service as 1st rate and I was not disappointed. I will be returning and making this place a yearly event.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms near the Pool area for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from our second visit to CA. Overall is is a wonderful vacation, the people are amazing and we loved our time there. Martino our waiter was amazing, Storm on the entertainment crew kept us laughing. Joseph and Garrett the lifeguards were non stop fun for us. We noticed some changes from our previous visit and the new ownership. The front desk personnel were not very helpful, would not take my American Express card even though they do take it, no one could make change unless we got all Jamaican dollars. The property needs a full facelift but the people make it nice. The water pressure was much better in the shower in the room by the pool and not so much in the room by the hot tub. Would recommend taking your own snacks as the "grill" area was not open as much as it should have been. Christmas day was wonderful, santa arrived in a boat and he had gifts for everyone. We will return but hope the new owner will consider some updates and the happiness of their employees and not just the bottom line for them.

Room Tip: Get a room by the pool. Water pressure is much better. Get to the meals early, can be hectic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from Club Ambiance in Jamaica and we fell in love. It's a small resort with great food and views, but more importantly the BEST service/staff. Everyone there was absolutely wonderful. They are by far the warmest, friendliest people we have ever come across. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with smiling, happy faces. The bartenders were hilarious, very attentive and fun to be around. The entertainment staff, Omar and Storm were AMAZING....dancing with guests, making us feel at home, providing great entertainment. The house band was awesome! I can't say enough great things about this place. If you are looking for a 5 star, huge resort this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a nice relaxing getaway with GREAT food, GREAT people and lots to do, this is the place for you! My boyfriend and I are already talking about when we will go back! I have been home for two days and already missing it terribly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

awesome staff and everyone is very helpful and friendly! the food got boring after the third day but i understand they don't have the variety like we do in Canada. It was prepared well and always had spice and flavour, just a lot of chicken and fish. The rooms were outdated, but that's what you get for a 3.5 star. beds could have been softer but that's personal preference. The day we arrived we didn't have any water in our room, and the clock on the wall had no battery. it took the staff about a day to turn the water on. overall it's a good place if you're looking for something small and quaint. private beach. if you don't want to spend a lot of time in your room, the staff will encourage you to have a blast! nice and relaxing, overall.

Room Tip: the rooms by the pool are quiet. most of the activities are on the other side of the hotel, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
2.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.0 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
18.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Address: Main Road, PO Box 20 | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay
Club Ambience Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Ambiance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.