We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Small Resort in Jamaica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Club Ambiance to your Saves list
Club Ambiance
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road, PO Box 20 | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Favorite Small Resort in Jamaica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Weve been twice to this little resort, and had a WONDERFUL time. The staff were always wonderful, the rooms immaculate, and food divine! A Great Value for the all inclusive deal. We enjoyed the consistent entertainment available each day & night, the last trip, we never even left the resort.
I would recommend this place for couples, singles, & adult friends- not really for the kiddos ;)
*Rumor has it that Club Ambiance has changed ownership & management since our trip there last year- so we are HOPING, it's still just as great, for our 3rd trip coming up

Room Tip: Go for the 'Honeymoon Suite' whether it's your honeymoon or not, its large & lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    416
    177
    107
    87
See reviews for
34
579
72
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our 5th trip in as many years. And while we knew about the new owners and management, we decided to try it one more time. Yes some of the longtime bar staff were let go, but our favorites are still there. The waitstaff was pretty much the same with a few changes. They are training more bar staff and wait staff at the moment. The food was excellent as always...only difference was the burgers were done inside at the omelet station. There was 1 Saturday night, when the resort had 15+ walk ins for the day, including 1 group of 10, where the entire ham joint was gone within 30 minutes. We were told at 7:30 that if we wanted to eat, we could always come in earlier. This was 30 minutes after the buffet opened. Needless to say, it is a bit annoying when you miss out on food and there are plates FULL on another table that the customers don't eat. PLEASE don't take more then you will eat. A little waste is to be expected, but this was an enormous portion of the ham that could have been eaten by the rest of the guests. (This large group came down the next morning, ate all the bread and then checked out not liking the resort). Entertainment was normal with the exception of the cabaret singer, which wasnt there. They had crab racing only once a week, and the real deal dancers were there on saturdays. There was a new singer, but she is on maternity leave and Dave is back.
Every day work was being done....painting, re weaving the shade umbrellas, fixing the fence surrounding the nude beach, etc.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday. The staff that has been there through all our visits were happy to have us back and the new staff was as good as anyone who has ever worked there. Looking forward to booking my next trip.

Room Tip: West wing rooms are our favorite. They are further away from the road so quieter to road noise earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently returned from our 20th trip to Club Ambiance. Having been such fans for the past 10 years, it was a total shock to see what the resort has deteriorated into under it's new ownership and management team. Aside from the constant drip and occasional leak in our bathroom, the rooms were cleaned daily but are in need of upgrading; the arm chair in our room was badly stained. Many of the advertised ammenities were no longer there, like coffee machines in guest rooms. While the resorts web-site advertises 3 bars only 1 bar was open for our entire 10 day stay. Despite repeated pleas from guests to at least open the pool bar and turn some music on the 2 bars still remained closed. The once lavish buffets now feature the same tired fish and chicken for lunch and dinner daily. Mid-night snack consisted of dinners left over soup with bread and either, you guessed it, chicken or fish. While the staff was friendly enough, most kept their distance from guests and did little to muster up enthusiasum. Nightly entertainment was the house band and singer or audiance participation shows a few times a week. Thank god for the 3 couples who participated those nights or there would have been no entertainment. Most nights the disco was closed by 12:30. To say the "Club" has lost its "Ambiance" is an understatement. Since the only thing that has continually risen at Club Ambiance is the price while the quality and service continues to decline, we will be looking elsewhere in Jamaica to vacation. As for stars, I give it 1/2 a star and thats being generous. Take our advice, save your money and skip Club Ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We first went to Club Ambience in 2005 and have been back every year since. I cannot recommend the place highly enough. It can be quiet if you just want to relax and sunbathe, or it can be a hive of activity if you want to join in with the many and varied things to do. The entertainment team are fantastic and most of the staff have been there for the seven years of our experience. Yes, it is in need of some refurbishment but when you think of all the small things that are great such as: having a coffee maker in your room, along with a small fridge and freezer, the suburb food which includes English roast beef and Yorkshire Pudding, American Burgers, and traditional Jamaican Snapper, Goat curry etc. Every drink is free including brands such as Tia Maria and Teacher's whisky, and the bar staff are great at making cocktails. It is now under new management so the 'face lift' should be taking place soon. There is even an 'adult channel' for those who are that way inclined! There does seem to be very small numbers in the past 18 months due to Thomson/Tomas Cook pulling out, (due to using larger hotels only on the island) but the manager (Gilbert Blackwood) has been in negotiations to re-instate these companies, which will mean a busier hotel.
Overall, I would say that if you love to relax and read, or join in with others, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Rooms round the pool area are nice and quiet. Ask for room on ground floor numbers 32-40
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is the sixth visit my husband and I have made to Club ambiance but sadly after this last experience, I think it will be the last.
the hotel has changed hands and although it was low season, the standards have dropped. Most of the old staff are still there but have lost their sparkle and are just grateful to have a job. There are three managers now, didn't see one of them during our two weeks. Obviously a new philosophy, the guests don't matter.

the food was never outstanding but was always reasonable and plenty to eat however, now there is barely a choice of anything decent, poor standard, not looked after and staff can't wait to get rid of you out of the restaurant. For two nights there was nothing I fancied on the buffet as I don't like chicken, so I went without. Jamaican night was appalling - chicken re-heated from lunch and the jerk pork was dreadful (usually OK). The desserts are a selection of heavy sponge cake slices - all awful and dry. Even pasta night has been cut back - carrots stir fried in my pasta? I don't think that is a classic?!

The espresso machine is gone, on the beverage station the water for the tea was never hot enough to make a cup of tea.

One positive - the house wine is now better but I cannot spend the week drunk but hungry!

The entertainments were not as good - the female singer was reallly hit and miss and I do wish that Storm, the entertainments girl would learn to read properly and research correctly, the quiz was difficult to follow with her poor pronunciation. Since when did David Beckham score the winning goal in the 1966 world cup?!

Overall, a sad attempt to retain the Ambiance traditions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

just returned for the 6th visit ok the place needs and is getting refurbished. good food staff and good friends dont read all the negative comments .a holiday is what you make and with the ambiance at this hotel you cant help but enjoy.it is only 3" but you get 4"treatment off the staff.rooms are kept clean sun always shines everybody is smiling so get yourselves down to club ambiance and check it out yourself you wont be disapointed by irene uren

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

i had a great time at club ambiance i went there back in 2011 for my bday, Ihad no problems checking in, the staff was very friendly, room was very clean. The food and liqor was average, most of the liqor was watered down, no top shelf liqor was availble.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Address: Main Road, PO Box 20 | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay
Club Ambience Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Ambiance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.