We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JEWEL IS A GEM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Pleasantville, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“JEWEL IS A GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just got back from a week long vacation at the Jewel. Can't say enough about how wonderfully we were treated by all the staff. Check in was fairly quick and smooth. We were greeted with a cool towel and drink of the day. Although we were not thrilled with the first room we were assigned to, Ermalyn, the head of housekeeping, quickly took care of that. Ermalyn we can't thank you enough for setting us up with a great room and great view! Big shout out to Joseph at the pool who had our chairs set up every morning with towels and flowers. Thank you so much! Many thanks to our housekeeper, Morvet, who was always so pleasant and brought out the child in us by leaving amazing towel animals everyday. Our room was always spotless and stocked with plenty of clean towels. We miss your smiling face everyday and kind way.Thank you to Remington on the beach who was always fun to talk to and always checked on us even when we moved up to the pool area. Food at the resort was very good. We really enjoyed the Platinum Restaurant for dinners. We went three times and both agree that when we go back we would go there every night for dinner. We really enjoyed the food and the piano player was outstanding. Moonstone was also good. We particularly enjoyed the pizza place, Jesters. Coming from New York we really were not expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised as the pizza was really good. Ask for thin crust and crispy - so good. Try the eggplant and margarita pizzas. Honestly, we were not a fan of the Jade Samurai, it was just not what we were used to. It would be great if the resort would consider a steakhouse. We enjoyed the buffet everyday for breakfast. Thank you Jesse for all those great omelets. Thank you to Tina at the buffet who greeted us every morning with her warm smile and friendly conversation. We usually had lunch at the grill. Great jerk chicken, burgers, wraps and salads.. Also, the nice thing about the grill, is that they had the pasta station everyday which is great if you have little kids along. We like the fact the resort was so lively. Music throughout the day, many activities for adults as well as children. Entertainment at night was always fun. Particularly enjoyed the Steel drum band and the circus. Beach is beautiful and always easy to find chairs. Can't say enough good things about this resort. Finally, the biggest thank you to Scott Robbins, the GM of this resort, who so patiently answered all my emails. Definitely a hands on manager and so visible throughout the resort. We really enjoyed our conversation with you out by the pool. Scott you are doing a great job! This is one of the best resorts we have ever been to. We can't wait to come back. Thank you to all the staff at Jewel Runaway Bay for making our vacation one to remember.
John & Linda

Room Tip: Try and get an odd numbered room in building 2 they faced the pool and ocean and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    150
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
239
120
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My 30 years old son and I absolutely loved it.
Something to do all day, or just relax at the
beach pools or Waterpark.
We were there at the opening and had a ball.
Great place for families. ..
The childrens program is fabulous.
Keeping them busy all day with all different activities.
I will hopefully return next year with my husband.
Just go and you will make your own memories good or bad.
Remember your visiting their country and they dont rush...
Enjoy

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We just returned from our second trip to the Jewel, travelling with our 5 year old and 1 year old. The staff is what brought us back - having stayed at other all-inclusives in Mexico, the DR, Belize and another resort in Jamaica, the staff at the Jewel is by far the friendliest, most accomodating and kind you will meet. Transfer from the airport was timely. The new water park is awesome for kids and adults alike. The grounds are immaculate. Our toddler was loved on by everyone from the waitstaff to grounds crew to lifeguards to the wonderful kids club staff. Some of the staff even remembered our 5 year old from our trip in September 2013. Our kids loved Stacy Ann and Karalie especially. We will be back!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrtanna, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my first time traveling out of the country, with all the resorts we were worried but after the first day we knew we found a Jewel. The staff was great since it was a some what small resort you see the same staff day after day and they are away there to greet you. From Austin & David at breakfast to Sunshine running the afternoon events. The room was very comfortable, and cleaned during the day. Loved the no reservations at all the eating places that was great and the food was very good. Loved the beach dinner,the buffet was always a favorite, the Italian restaurant was very good also. Since we had a few children in our group it was nice that they had things for them to do they loved it, capture the flag on the beach in the evening was a huge favorite. Loved the endless beach towels.
The only thing I would say I did not like was that the water park was open to the public, since that was one of the reasons we chose the Jewel it was very disappointing that when we went to the park it was packed with local's sorry but it did not seem as safe as the rest of the resort. The Jewel will I am sure look at this issue since I heard from many families that they did not like this either. So we did not use the park very much. But other that that I would go again and would recommend it to others very highly.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely Perfect!!! There were over 30 of us for our wedding and everyone agreed this was the most amazing place. Staff is very friendly and attentive. Food is fantastic. Great views. Beautiful large rooms and the pools and water park are the best!!!

Room Tip: Get water view 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

All I have to say is this resort is Amazing. I travelled with my husband and two children (6 and 1) and we all had a blast. Very kid friendly resort. My daughter begged me to go to the kids club everyday. The waterpark was a hit. The resort was very clean, couldn't find a leaf out of place.The staff were very friendly. I would definitely return in a heart beat

Room Tip: We had room 1202 facing the waterpark. We had no issues with mosquitoes at all in our rooms. Maybe b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Charity,
Thank you so much for bringing your family to Jewel Runaway Bay. We look forward to your return.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first family vacation in years, there were 11 of us ranging in ages from 6 to 65. The Jewel has something for all age groups.

When we arrived in Montego Bay the airport customs process was seamless. There was a large air conditioned shuttle bus waiting to transport us to the JRB Resort. The ride is a solid hour from the MBJ/Sanaster airport to the resort, just sit back and enjoy the view.

We arrived at the resort around 3:30 pm, we were greeted with warm smiles, cool face towels and refreshing drinks. Our rooms were available when we arrived. We quickly showered and changed so that we could join the Manager's Cocktail Reception and dinner which is every Thursday.

The staff is wonderful, I can't say enough about how helpful and attentive the staff is. The resort is white glove clean, even the public restrooms. The sand is raked daily, the pools cleaned & chlorine levels checked throughout the day. The rooms are a bit dated, but still very clean,

Let's talk about the food. OMG amazing, everything was served fresh hot & delicious. A couple of times we requested items that were not on the menu and it was no problem getting those items. We ate at all the restaurants, they were all very good. The all night snack bar is amazing. There's nothing like grabbing a burger or jerk chicken at 2am.

The drinks at all the bars were sooooo good, can't say enough about the "Dirty Banana", "Miami Vice" and "Hummingbird", a word of advise get a shot of Southern Comfort in all the drinks it makes a huge difference.

My husband rented a cabana for the day, it was great. It included full butler service and a private beachside dinner for two. It was very romantic.

The entertainment staff is also great, Tinkerbell, Sunshine, Urkel and many more work very hard at providing a great time for all guest.

I do have one request for all resort visitors: Please, please, please remember to tip all the staff. I know the resort l is all inclusive, but the entire staff works so hard to accommodate each guests every need it's only right that we show our appreciation to them by tipping.

If you're looking for a great resort with wonderful staff and plenty of activities for all age groups. Then look no more, Jewel Runaway Bay Resort & Golf is the place to vacation.

Thanks again to the wonderful staff and the General Manager of JRB for making our family vacation one that we'll cherish forever.

Room Tip: Request a room with a water view on the 2nd floor - You can see both the pool & the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hey Nicole,
thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully you will return soon.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.