We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

this was our 3rd time at this resort in 2 years -I am a golfer and having the course across the street is perfect - I always walk and with the caddy it is like being on the PGA tour!! I like to play early - come back for a swim and a beer -have a snooze -play beach v/ball in the pm then a few more drinks -quiet time and dinner at one of the very nice restaurants. Cant wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    103
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
138
91
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely friendly family hotel but don't be put off going as a couple. I went with my wife for our anniversary and we has a fab time. There is something going on day and night to keep the children entertained.

The golf is free at the attached course but you must have a compulsory caddy at a cost of about $17 for 18 holes. The course was in good condition and it was nice to play in the sunshine in December. The practice ground is a bit short as you can only hit up to 5 iron but the balls are free. There are practice chipping and putting greens.

There is a dive site based in the hotel (run separately, the diving was reasonably priced and the equipment in good condition.
The food was good with a reasonable choice. The a la carte restaurants were all also very good.

The general manager is always walking around and wanted to hear guests feedback.The staff were all very good and there was always some activity going on for those who wanted to participate but there was never any pressure to partake. The only downside was that sometimes the activities music at the main pool was too noisy.

I would recommend this hotel for young families or couples.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has a lot going for it. The beach is nice and there are always chairs to be had, even in the shade. The restaurants are all good and reservations are easy to get. The ground very pleasant and not big enough that you feel you ned a shuttle. The west side of the resort is very quiet and hardly anyone uses the small pool that is there. The room was exceptional with a nice balcony, great shower and a flat screen TV. Mini bar was stocked every day to our liking. We had a 2nd floor room that had a great view of the grounds. I would not recommend the plunge pool rooms. I didn't ever see anyone using them as they are not heated, there is a wall to the side to give privacy but that means that there is no view from the terrace. Also the 2nd floor rooms overlook the terrace. Drinks were good and they had decent sparkling wine. There was never a problem getting service at any of the bars.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with a balcony are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family with 3 kids age 5,4 and 2 gave Jewel a try , and trust me we were NOT disappointed in any levels.

From the rooms to the service, there was nothing we could have complained about.
-Start with the rooms, we upgraded to a Ocean View Suite room 1035 absolutely stunning views of both ocean, and Mountains as you go to your rooms. Rooms were always kept very clean and fridge always stocked.
-Beach was just gorgeous the water crystal clear, white sand, plenty of lounging area.
-Staff From Keisha to Eljon the staff is what makes this resort in my eyes a true 5 star.
-Pools all very nice but we are more beach and water park family
-Water park small but very good you can spend hours just relaxing on the lazy river ride
-Food , We have been to plenty of Resorts on various islands, this had to be the best food we have had , from the presentation to quality of the food just soooo good... Be sure to have breakfast at Platinum excellent service and fantastic food.
-Kids club , is excellent we left the kids there for a few hours one day and they didn't want to come back with us, the staff at the club just wonderful.
Overall I have to Say Scott you have done an excellent job on this resort, we will be back in November...

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

normally its cost more than 500us /night ,but I found great deal from "easyclicktravel.com" it costed jus 212us!! its a family type of hotel ,good vibes everywhere,new big water park,slider was very fun . i had reservation for denner at Samurai,food was great (especially snapper ),ocean was very beautiful many corals ,saw 2 string rays ,was amazing experience for snorkeling .

Room Tip: better choose 2nd floor, there were less mosquitos than 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my husband visited here for a week at the beginning of March. I had actually won the holiday through our local radio station. And what a prize to have won. We could not believe our luck when we arrived. Such beautiful views amazing surroundings and everything you need right there in the resort. The waterpark actually opened the week we were there which was a bonus. The food was out of this world and so many places to choose from that you can't get bored with the food. The staff were all very helpful and ready to serve you as soon as you sit.the whole resort is well looked after and very clean. Even our room was well looked after everyday, and if we ever had mosquitos in our room then you could just ask the housekeeping staff to spray your room, which was fab for me as I would normally get eaten by them. We had such an amazing time that we plan to return next year with our 2 children. Thank you to the jewel runaway bay and the staff for this wonderful holiday.
Nikki Hill

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After reading all the reviews, it is true about the staff Doe go above an beyond to make your vacation a great one. The water park was a lot of fun with the lazy river with the water falls and two slides, one you go down on your own the other with a single or double tube. The food was good at the buffet. The platinum resturant was amazing fun surprise so I won't spoil it by telling you, the only down fall was it took two hours to get all your courses. They also serve breakfast which takes just as long and the buffet has a great breakfast . The beach grill also had very good food, Turkey sandwich, grilled cheese, jerk chicken and pork, taco salad, nacho's and cheese, this also turned into an Italian resturant at night, with a make your own pasta bar or order from the menu. Monday they set up tables on the beach for supper and Thursday they did this pool side as well. They have free wifi throughout the resort. It is true of the weird setup with the swim up pool, it has a shallow part for the kids so that is where they are as the other pool is to deep. Rooms are spacious and nice, just not enough light in the bathroom. We were in room 1213 which was in building one close to lobby and pool, we had a side view of the ocean, very nice, maids are fantastic. Soft drinks and water are replenished daily in your mini fridge but no beer, you have to pay for that if you want it. The lunge pool rooms are below these rooms kind of nice to watch at night as they are lit up and change colours, it was a little weird sitting on our balcony and watching them below us swim in their pool. It is about one hour and 15 mins approx. from the airport to the resort, buses don't ave bathrooms but they will stop if need be. Also we paid 30 for the club mobay ea which wa well worth it leaving, I think if you are coming in on a Saturday or Sunday you might want to consider club mobay on arrival as well, I had one lady tell me they waited 4 hrs through customs arriving on the Saturday as we arrived on a Monday so was not bad at all. They do have smoking areas around the resort which was not as bad as I thought it would be. All in all this was a beautiful resort and would definitely go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Building one was close to everything, second floor has balcony, first floor has plunge pool rooms. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.