We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second time at Jewel was even better than the first!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
“Our second time at Jewel was even better than the first!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In February 2014, my wife and I had the best vacation of our lives at Jewel Runaway Bay. I didn't think it possible, but we had an even better time this year. From check in to check out everything was smooth and seamless. Our room was exactly in the building and floor requested and was spacious and kept very clean. This year we did the Cabana by the beach dinner for Valentine's Day and it was awesome. I played a round of golf which I enjoyed immensely. The beach is large and beautiful. The pools are well kept and great. The food as always was very good for an all inclusive. However, what makes this resort are the people. As the staff say, we felt like we were being welcomed home. All the staff including Omar, Crystal, Nastassia, Roan, Germaine, Jomo, Tinkerbell, Purple, and many I am forgetting to name made us feel so very welcome and work incredibly hard to please the customer. Keble is a gem on the piano. We had a request that he didn't know, so he listened to it once on his phone and then played it for my wife from memory, very cool. It was great talking to you Scott and please know that you have a staff to be proud of. We can't wait for our next visit and look forward to be welcomed home again to Jewel.
Thanks;
Dan and Angie Long
Elk River Minnesota

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    73
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
100
78
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Jewel Runaway Bay from February 9th to 17th. We stayed in a Room 1011 and we had a plunge pool with a wonderful view of the ocean. Our room was very clean and our housekeeper, Charmaine, took great pride in making sure everything was perfect with our room. We want to take a moment to thank this wonderful staff. Our butters, Shurline, Alloy, and Hamantro you made our stay just perfect. The chefs, waitresses, hostesses, bartenders, gardeners - thank you to the groundskeeper that can climb a tree in the blink of an eye to bring you down a fresh coconut, and the beach sweepers for being out there early in the morning to ensure a beautiful beach awaits the guests. Our ten year old son very much misses Adam our lifeguard as do we all!! Thank you to Keisha for taking the time to answer our questions and making our trip very special.

The food was delicious with a great combination of local food and traditional favorites. We especially enjoyed Too Tall Guy at the Jade Samurai and Kedroy, the wonderful piano player, at the Platinum restaurant. We dined at all the restaurants and none disappointed.

The beach is beautiful with a variety of fish available to view when snorkelling. This was our first time snorkling and we, along with our ten year old son, really enjoyed this and had no problem making our way out to nearby reef.

We look forward to our return and we are sure that the waterpark will only add to this Jewel of a resort.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you so much. I am glad that your family enjoyed themselves. We look forward to your return.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great flight (Thomsons) but poor transfer and service at airport plus wet weather left us a bit out of sorts on arrival. First impressions thus weren't so good..long corridor to slightly tired room.
However the underlying strengths won us over...
The hotel and grounds are really well kept and it benefits from being a non obtrusive low rise.(owned by a Jamaican company, too) Excellent standards of hygiene and cleanliness.
The beach is good and it's OK to walk along the coast up to and beyond Flavours. The traders en route are fine and don't hassle you . (at least not compared to other places.) Good availability of sunbeds, no 6am towel laying ritual needed. Towels are freely available with no cards needed.
Also good was the lack of wristbands and the exit staff kept a good eye on who was leaving and arriving.
Hoping for Jamaican food, we weren't disappointed and breakfasts were great with akee and saltfish, mackerel rundown and so on plus all the usuals. Good coffee and smoothies though fruit was largely different types of melon. Stuck with the buffet in the main and were happy with that though there were plenty of options elsewhere which didn't need booking (bar the Japanese) So things seem to be arranged for the guest's comfort and ease rather than the other way round.
Had a couple of issues but these were resolved to our satisfaction by the Reception staff...just ask rather than complain later.
Entertainment in the evening was pretty good..no generic MJ shows but largely Jamaican acts which we enjoyed. Good house band who play in a range of styles some of which appealed. They were really excellent and professional musicians.
Big thank you to the management who enable this and the staff who deliver it and seem to be happy to do so. Really impressed with the service we got throughout ..too many to mention, but in the Coral, Colin, Leroy, Latoya,Alicia, Kim-ann and Ivan on the breakfast smoothies. Also Antoinette on reception and Ermaline a room block Supervisor. But that's only a few of many.
Couple of remaining issues: couldn't get rid of mosquitoes in room despite frequent spraying. Used repellent throughout.But they only went for me not my wife! And the lunch snack place could be a lot better...proper jerk chicken (not reheated with added sauce) and maybe introducing patties, too, would be a start.
To keep this brief: a great 3 weeks which we hope to repeat next year

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jim,
thank you for staying with us as well as all of your feedback.
We look forward to your return next year.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Last year we stayed at Jewel Dunns River. This year we checked out the Runaway Jewel. Difference, kids! And beach size! We didn't have any kids and thought we would check out bigger beach. Definitely beach was excellent and the water was amazing with a reef just off the swimming area. They have 3 excellent pools and the 2 hot tubs. We usually hung out at the quiet pool with bigger hot tub as there was 10 of us. We found food was good but I will say we liked food at Dunns River much more! Dunns River Jewel is smaller and we enjoyed that more. Entertainment staff were fun and really did a great job with kids! The waterpark is opening soon but soon seems to be in the I don't know future! So don't count on it yet! Rooms were fine, clean and well stocked. Overall we would recommend this resort and if you have kids I can guarantee they will have a blast in the kids club! All the parents were raving about it and the kids begged to go! Adults it was nice not to have kids running around in your space especially if you don't have kids with you!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Kay,
thank you so much for making it Jewel Resorts again. Next time Paradise Cove?
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned after a one week at the Jewel with my kids and husband....it was amazing. Love the people, the island and resort. Customer service was excellent...most staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Nightly entertainment was good & food was plentiful and yummy....My favorite restaurant was the Platinum...very tasty, exotic Jamaican cuisine & service was top notch. Also loved the buffet place (sorry, can't remember name of restaurant). Loved having breakfast here...I especially loved the vanilla French toast, cornbeef and fried dumblings...so good. Please try vanilla French toast...best I've ever had! Really!:) In terms of activities, there is plenty to do throughout the day and night...by the evening, we were exhausted and generally were sleeping by 10p. The rooms were comfortable & clean...better than what I thought we would get. The only issue was the bathroom....I would prefer to have a door on the bathroom....Next time we visit (hopefully next year), I would request a larger room with a bathroom with a door. We had no issues with mosquitos in room. However, my daughter did receive a number of bites while she participated in archery....so, make sure you spray kids before they go off to the horses or to archery....I was so worried about my kids getting the viral infection Chick...whatever....Make sure you use mosquito repellant always. The only excursion we did was the Dunns River Falls and shopping excursion....the falls were awesome, but I don't think it's appropriate for little kids....it was a lot of climbing and the water was rough in some spots. We loved it! The shopping at the plaza area was fine, but when we went to the area where the locals sell their goods...it was obnoxious. You can't just buy one or two items...they want you to buy everything! Just buy what you want and return to the bus..quickly! If you walk down the beach a short distance...there are local people selling the same goods and they will negotiate. You can also get hair braiding from locals for cheaper than going to the spa. However, the spa was great and wonderful customer service. My son & I did venture out of resort to the right and found a cool grocery store...safe area. Bring own bug spray.. $24 in gift shop @hotel. We tipped often...remember the workers don't make very much money...a dollar or two is appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you for staying with us as well as your feedback.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

January 2015 four of us went to Jewel Runaway Bay for the fourth time in less than a year!! Need I say more! & I'm in the process of booking maybe 10 rooms to celebrate my milestone birthday along with my friends in May 2015 at this resort!! The service is great & that is due to their GM & his wonderful staff!! We are counting down the days!! Can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The overall hotel is in very good shape. I stayed in a one bedroom suite w/ ocean view and butler service. Best views ever. Great room, spacious and very clean. Cons: no ventilation in the bathroom, furniture out dated. Plunge pool was nice and over looks the ocean. Very Quiet location. The only thing you can here is the ocean.
Butler service: Not really that much added value. Most requests were honored but others forgotten. 3 butlers per room but only one consistently made an appearance. Given a direct line to the Butler staff however the call went directly to the operator.
Food: All very, very good except the hibachi restaurant. Below average. I find it amusing that this is the only restaurant the requires reservations. Its always empty.
Bars: all very good. Biggest recommendation is to change the times for expresso/cappacino availabitlity. No one wants to wait until 10am for the morning caffiene.
Staff: 99.9% EXCELLENT. Always friendly and available.
SPA: Outstanding services. Very professional, probably the best i have experienced in the carribean.
Water Park: not happening anytime soon. I was there 1 week and never saw a single sole working on it.
Tours: we booked 2 tours through the hotel agent. Both were very good and reliable.
On site activities: Glass bottom boat- dont waste your time. Very little to see even thought there are alot of reefs. Same goes for snorkeling. Definitely fun for a novice.
Pools: very clean with plenty of life guards on staff. Swim up bar is located right beside the kiddie pool. This is wear most of the daily activities occurs. Probably not the best set up but it did not stop people from participating.
ON site entertainment: Very good with lots of diversity in the entertainment.
Beach: Perfect size, beautifully manicured and Always plenty of space

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you for staying with us as well as your feedback. I have passed the information you our chef as well as our concierge and butler department. All the furniture is brand new so I am not sure what you mean by outdated. I am sorry that it is not your taste as it is hard to cater to everyone"s tastes in décor.
The waterpark that you said will not be open anytime soon should be open in less than 2 weeks. As for the week that nobody was working, I am not sure if you were looking at the correct construction site. thanks again for staying with us.
regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.