We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Jamaica
1 review
“my best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the food is good,the staffing is great,we were well taking care of.they all so have a gym were u can work out daily.the rooms have three beds ,u can also get a cold drink u have your own fridge.house keeping is done daily.easy to find your way around.the beach is good.pizza shop excellent.

Room Tip: they have a daycare for your kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    572
    146
    38
    24
See reviews for
655
664
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good selection of food, does need a little updating but they are working on it. Great beach.
Staff was good, Ojay the bar tender is amazing. Search him out to make your drinks, he does a great job.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,
thank you so much for staying with us at JRB. We look forward to your return.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had an amazing stay at this resort we stayed with our 2 children age 14 and 7.
Check in was smooth and quick with a cold welcome drink upon arrival. Resort is small easy to find way around EXCELLENT proximity to the beach
Negative . Not a large swimming area and if u walk down the beach and leave the resort you will get mobbed by venders / dealers
Pools were excellent
Staff were uber friendly and positive didn't mind tipping at all as the wage in Jamaica is sad great work to all the staff from gardeners to managers
A special shout out to the kids club truly amazing words can't express how awesome the kids and teens club is. Kids were busy the entire week wanting to go there daily. I hope this feature remains and stays free
Try to book with a taxi for any activities off the resort you will save a lot of money and learn more the bell hops are very helpful with hooking this up for you. A special gift was left in the Christmas tree I hope someone finds it and enjoys mid level left side..

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you so much for staying with us. Not sure if anyone found the gift yet.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois Rivieres
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I visited this resort (for the 1st time) in early December. We were immediately impressed with the quality of all personnel working at this resort. Everyone was so friendly with us. We really felt they were genuinely interested in getting to know us and ensuring we were having a good time. Javaign (pizza shop) and Venisse at the buffet were two among the many that stood out. Food was excellent in ALL restaurants and buffet. Best in any resort we have visited.... Staff was exceptional !!! Rooms were spotless. Kudos to Scott (Mgr) and all of his staff for making our vacation memorable. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the East wing are a bit further from the pool and we found this area more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am so glad to here that you enjoyed yourselves.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a wonderful time here. The staff were very helpful. The food was good. The beach is really beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs and space. Drinks are strong and the bartenders are funny and polite. The maid service was great. Mosquitos were a little problem but we brought repellant and dryer sheets (I found that rubbing a dryer sheet on your skin and then keeping it in your pocket works better than the sprays)... I left a note to have the maid spray the room everyday and it seemed to help a little. The only thing I wish was different is that the beds were larger in the double bed rooms, other than that we have no complaints & can't wait to return. Special thanks to the kid's club for doing a fantastic job with the kids so we could have a little alone time! Side note, we also believe in tipping the staff, as they work hard to make you happy!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you so much for staying with us as well as your feedback. We look forward to your return.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Ahhh back agin for some R&R. Upgraded to oceanfront w/plung pool on the first floor for $100 more a nite. Fridge was restocked dailey w/Bubbly, Red Stripe Wine and Water. Very good maid service and the best hotel towels I've had. Mosquitoes were determined so bring bug spray and use it. Hotel was busy and staff handled it well and were very friendly (as always). Tip often when deserved w/ $1.00 bills usually one at a time as these folks work hard for low pay. Drinks were well made and service was quick. Ate at all of the restaurants and the buffet w/pleasure.
Beach was as good as ever and kept very clean and raked dailey. Water was a little rough but snorkled three times. Tennis w/Macho turned into Doubles and if he was your partner you were sure to win. He is there Mon-Sat, 830 and 400pm and has a good sense of humor. Played golf 4x and got a little better each time so my caddie was doing her job. Walking with Annett, my favorite caddy, is a great way to get some exercise and work on my game (It needs alot of work and this is the place as the course is not crowded and you can take your time) 9 holes caddy fee is $12. and Annett gets all of that. You have to pay with cash. I usually tip $8-$10 for 9 holes. I did see more people playing on this trip than my last three put together. Annett actually had two caddy jobs on the same day. Egg boy at breakfast is from everywhere and knows every state capital. Piano bar at 10pm is not to be missed iif you like a singalong. We did so much during the day we only made one time which I regret. We were at breakfast by 730 each moring w/ Shamell taking good care of us. (forgive my spelling). You can walk off property to the east and offer low prices to the shack venders. Just say no to the drug sellers and they will leave you alone. The water park looks like a solid attraction for young and old and should open in the first quarter of 2015. It is being built next to the property so wil not disturb the park like setting of the resort. The kids love this place and they are well taken care of as they are split into 3 different age groups. This is one of the best deals for your money. I will be back.

Room Tip: wifi sometimes worked in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you so much for returning. We look forward to you trip back home to us in the future.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Jewel between 19th November to the 3rd December.
The bad we had a problem with Mosquitoes all over the hotel in the room corridors restaurants bars & in general lobby got bite 93 times . I had to keep going to reception to have the room sprayed while we was at dinner or at the bar .
During the start of the 2nd week had a chat with Scott who bent over backwards to help us resolve the problem with the thirsty blighty's , Scott explain that due to lack of rain the mosquitoes had hatched late hence the problem .
Scott was a gem regarding this by calling over his housekeeper manager to install a net over the vent in the room done next day & the problem died down a bit in the room only .
Just wondering why no mosquitoes nets over the bed or door to grass area ?

The not so bad food can be a bit bland somedays in the Coral restaurant .

The good Scott your staff are brilliant should be proud of them all with a huge pat on the back for your groundmans for keeping the grounds is excellent condition just perfect for a good walkabout chilling in the grounds & the rest of your staff just more praise for the hardwork your staff do to make The Jewel a great hotel .
One thing to say regarding the staff some kept asking the girlfriend for a cigarette that did get to her & wasn't happy with it .

Onsite try the glass boat free of charge it takes you over the reefs with the skipper explaining what was down there , Jade restaurant superb would say book this great meal cooked in front of you & Shawn our chef that night just wouldn't fit in my suitcase to bring the chap home with me ,Auqagrill burgers are really lovely gd meal or snack etc Pizza oven are really tasty but need a bit more flavoursome

Would i stay again at The Jewel damn right i would lovely hotel with plenty of sun beds next to the beach what more do you need

Lenny

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you for staying with us and all of your comments. I have passed them on to the team. I am sorry about the staff asking for cigarettes as they know that it is not condoned.
thanks again
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.