We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place the Jewel Runaway Bay is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place the Jewel Runaway Bay is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our group, which we dubbed the "gang of 6", ranged in age from 16 to 56 and stayed at the Jewel April 13th - 19th, 2014. We didn't want to come home! The Jewel Runaway Bay (JRB) was the perfect place for our group with something for everyone (food choices, entertainment, beach activities, excursions). There were guests in every age group - oldsters with canes, toddlers, parents old and young, younger teens, older teens, newly weds, singles - you name it. The mix of ages was one of the things our gang loved the most.

Our gang won't go into incredible detail about the Jewel itself because many of the other reviews have covered everything you could ever what to know about the Jewel experience and we'd just be repeating all of the truly wonderful things they have all passed on. For sure, the detailed reviews helped our gang pick the JRB as the place we wanted to spend time. So, here are some of our thoughts about the JRB in no particular order.

Rooms
We stayed in the Turquoise section on the second floor above the plunge pool rooms. Big rooms that could handle 3 of us each. These rooms seem to have been renovated as they had the jet showers and big, beautiful bathrooms. But the best part was the balcony overlooking the quiet pool and the beach beyond. Getting up at sunrise each morning - watching the early-bird guests routinely poke their noses out, the pool and beach staff start their routines, seeing the sun rise over the sea - what a beautiful and peaceful start to the day. The Concierge desk checks in with you periodically which was really helpful. We must give a shout out to Charmaine, who was our main housekeeper for the week - she and Ann Marie took care of us no matter what we requested - and - they left the best towel "buddies" on our beds each day!

We had originally booked two adjoining rooms in the Premier/Standard wings thinking it would be fun to be able to have sort of a "big" room where everyone could come and go and mingle at will. In retrospect, the Oceanfront Junior Suites with Concierge Service overlooking the pool and beach worked out best for our gang, but from what we saw it seemed that every room category has it's own unique vibe - some have said the rooms with no view were wonderful as they were very private while sitting on the patio/balcony and others seem to have liked the rooms on the "logo lawn" where people watching could be had.

Concierge
Wow, we can't say enough about the staff at the concierge desk!! Even before we arrived at the JRB we were emailing with Sherefa and Shereka for more information. We were truly taken care of so that we had "no worries, mon"!

Beach
The JRB certainly has one of the widest, most beautiful, clean beaches (the staff raked every morning, they don't need to join a gym!) we have ever experienced (it truly rivals Negril beach). The calm, clear, warm water was to die for! Our gang of 6 was always able to find loungers for everyone as a group with enough shade under the palm trees no matter what time we hit the beach - none of that "reserving" loungers with towels early in the morning (though it seemed that at the activity and bar pools reserving loungers was more the norm). We hung out on the quiet end of the beach for the most part. There is good snorkeling just outside the swimming buoys, but go early in the morning so the lifeguard doesn't whistle you in for being outside the buoy swimming zone.

Towels
Ha, one of the great things was that you could get as many beach towels as you needed without having to sign your life away with a towel card!! We found that we each only got a towel once each the entire week - we just hung them up on the balcony drying racks and used them again each day (trying to be ecologically conscious!). It is true that it's hard to find towels earlier in the day, so we just got them at the sports activity hut after taking a hobie cat sail our first afternoon.

Entertainment
The highlight at the end of each day was the nightly entertainment. It ranged from guest participation, to staff performances, to local/professional musicians. On our first evening the Silver Birds Steel Orchestra was on stage - a fantastic steel drum and dancing performance. One of our gang won the "King of Reggae" title for his bootie dancing on beach dinner night! We hit the lobby lounge for karaoke (the group of teen girls dominated), sang oldies with the piano man, and then off to the disco which was pretty much deserted (all the better for our gang since we could request songs - a few Michael Jackson numbers!).

Dining
Something for everyone at the Coral Cafe buffet, great cooking entertainment and tasty grilled stir-fry at the Jade Samurai (reservations needed), a bit more formal at the Moonstone Italian which had fantastic fare, the best pizza made to order at the Jester's Court Pizzeria, informal burgers/wraps/fries at the Beach Grill. One evening the staff setup a dinner on the beach, another evening they setup dessert on the logo lawn and dinner around the main pool with twinkling lights.

The food was really good and we have some picky eaters in our gang. Be sure to try the French toast made with French bread - very tasty! Eggboy entertained everyone at breakfast - where are you from? - ah, Delaware - no sales tax, capital is Dover - Eggboy knew it all. We have to give shout out to Anne Marie, our server one evening, who showed us where the restrooms were near the Coral Cafe - she literally walked us to them - above and beyond! So, the verdict - the food was fantastic - there is something for everyone.

Bars
What to say?! Any concoction you could think up the bartenders would make for you!! We never saw anyone out of control which was a plus factor. There is also drink service on the beaches which was unexpected, but much appreciated.

Excursions
We took the Chukka "Kitty Cat" catamaran cruise to climb Dunn's River Falls. We arranged it with the Jewel tour desk a few days in, though we should have made arrangements our first day as it fills up fast. First you take about a 1/2 hour small bus ride to the port in Ocho Rios, then walk to the catamaran (ground is a bit rocky), sign in, give up your shoes (no shoes allowed on the boat). Once under sail we were on to do some snorkeling for 1/2 hour or so where we saw lots of good stuff! Then everyone climbed back on the "Cat" and we were off to Dunns River Falls. Arriving at the Falls, the crew brings out the bins of shoes, so that if you wore water shoes (a must for the climb) you could retrieve them before climbing (if you didn't have water shoes you could rent them for $6).

For sure, the river/falls water is REALLY cold, so keep that in mind. The guides that take you up the Falls also records everything on video and you can buy a DVD of the climb and have it delivered to your hotel (be sure to bring essentials in a ziplock plastic bag for the climb because you get totally soaked! For sure, bring some $ for a tip for the guides.). One of our gang had climbed the Falls several years ago, so opted to climb the steps next to the Falls and got some excellent photos of our gang of climbers. The steps were many and steep, but there were some observation decks where you could hang out and actually step into the Falls water. The second deck had a little beverage hut - hmm, time for a Red Stripe ($5 US)! Dunns River Falls is like a State Park in the US. We had a conversation with one of the Park employees who told us that it wasn't just about climbing the Falls, but a place to come for a family day.

Once the climbers reached the top of the Falls, they walked back down a pretty steep path to the beach. There are restrooms near the beach (as well on the catamaran). We made it back to the "Cat" and the party began!! There was no drinking pre-snorkeling or pre-climbing, but the drinks started flowing, lunch was served (we included it when making reservations, but you could add it on while on the boat - about $10 - excellent jerk chicken), and the music started blaring once we headed back. Even our reserved 16 year old got into the scene! The "Cat" took a bit of a tour around the Ocho Rios bay sailing past one of the resorts to encourage them to take the tour! The ride was a little bit rough here and there, so if you have issues with that then sit at the rear of the boat where we had staked out our seats (bonus points, you get to see the crew helping folks off and back onboard for snorkeling - what great entertainment!).

The crew was fantastic - entertaining, safety oriented to almost a fault, informative about everything you would be doing - no uncertainty, no wondering what you had to do as things were explained in entertaining detail. All in all, a very fun time.

Sports
Two members of our gang made a pact to go Hobie Cat sailing at least once a day. It was about a 10-15 minute sail out and back with one of the sports staff doing the sailing. One day it was a yellow flag day (rougher water) and we sailed out really fast. There was another Hobie out there just sort of slowly "motoring" along so we challenged them to a race - very fun!

We also took the Glass Bottom boat ride (an undersea Grand Canyon that almost rivals the Marine Sanctuary in Montego Bay) where you snorkel further out on the reef. Some of our gang stayed on the boat and could see all kinds of fish and coral through the glass bottom. Well worth the bit of extra cost.

Staff
What to say?! The staff at the Jewel is the best. They take care of you without you even realizing it (until you get back home and have to take care of yourself!). Thank you Jewel staff, you made our vacation special with no worries on our part. Please know we will be back to see you!!!

Our gang was made up of two newbie travelers who had never flown in a plane before much less ever been outside the US or traveled to an all-inclusive beach resort. The rest of us have traveled the world and the Caribbean pretty extensively. We weren't sure what to expect with this mix of travel in-experience. Our newbie travelers took everything in stride and have now been "bitten" by the "travel bug" - woo hoo - that was the point! We hope our "gang of 6" review is helpful. We recommend the Jewel Runaway Bay with no hesitation. We are going back as soon as we can save up enough vacation time!! If you go, you will truly love every moment - enjoy and take the plunge - just GO!! Here's to feet in the sand, libations in hand, and some relaxing family time again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write your review.
Come back soon
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    577
    146
    38
    24
See reviews for
660
673
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a fabulous resort for adults and kids alike. We traveled to Jewel Runaway Bay with our two daughters 16 and 14, and a third daughter with her husband. We had stayed at Bahia in Mexico last year, and initially considered the Bahia at Runaway Bay--- however, we were looking for a great sandy beach, which Bahia didn't have... And we kept coming back to all the great reviews of the beach at JRB and the fact that the resort was higher rated on Trip Advisor than the Bahia.

We made a great decision. JRB is small - 260 or so units. One can walk the perimeter of the resort in less than 10 minutes. Because of the size we were able to meet people-- you can't help but run into each other everyday, whether in a restaurant or at one of the three pools.

The staff is incredible... Always willing to go the extra yard for the guests. In particular, Vanessa always served the luncheon wraps at the buffet with a smile-- she was so nice to our family. There was also Frederick- not quite sure how he did this-- every morning he cooked our French Toast for breakfast- then in the afternoon he'd reappear serving up great jerk chicken in the Beach Grill (always with a smile and a cordial greeting). As for drinks, two people stood out... Glendon makes the best Bloody Mary on the island, and "Princess" kept me "on full"... The staff clearly makes JRB a special place.

I must also mention two others-- the "Piano Man" in the Lobby Bar... What a fun guy and a dear soul... We will always remember the fun evenings of entertainment you provided us. Also, I would be remiss not to mention Sonia- who found our safe open one day - and reported it to security... The safe had all our valuables and cash in it -- what an honest and dear soul you are--- we deeply appreciate your actions.

Now for the resort--- Very clean! Well manicured landscape. I agree with many others that the rooms could use a makeover (a little modernizing), but they were meticulously cleaned everyday; the air conditioning worked great, the bed was quite comfortable, and we had hot water. Really, what more could you ask?

Food- can't believe I am saying this, but I loved the buffet-- literally overlooking the beach. The Italian restaurant was very good. We also enjoyed the Samurai. The Beach Grill was also a favorite during the afternoon and for a late night bite.

Beach- Fabulous!!! White sand... Plenty of chairs and shade if you need it (and you will). The water is very clear and a beautiful aqua color.

Others- we took the glass bottom boat--nice free feature. We also took the sunset booze cruise. Met some nice people-- drank a few Red Stripes, then we anchored in Discovery Bay and watched the sunset while swimming in the cove.

Negatives: really not many. Check in was a little disorganized, but we did get an adjoining room with our daughters. Also- the Hot Tubs are less than desirable and need to be replaced... The decking surrounding one of the hot tubs is terrible, and hazardous to one's feet!!!

All in all though, Jewel at Runaway Bay is a fabulous resort with a great staff which really makes a difference. Thank you for a wonderful family vacation! See you in two years!

Mike, Dawn & Family

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mike,
thank you so much for staying with us as well as your feedback. I am sure that all will be rectified when you return.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked our Spring Vacation through Beach Bum Vacations using their agent Marcie (Marcie@beachbumvacation.com). Marcie did an excellent job at our travel arrangements, especially recommending to us a private transfer to the resort. The transfer from the airport in the shuttle bus would have been too long for our young children.
I thought the gardens of the resort were lovely. The room itself was of very poor quality. The room had been freshly painted, I could smell this as we first walked in, but the furnishings and general maintenance of the room is very old and tired. The bathroom was very old and tired, nothing like what I expected using the hotel website as a guide.
I understand that the resort is bring upgraded but this is not communicated well on the website. The website gave the impression that this was one of the best all inclusive resorts, and it had been newly renovated.
The kids club for us was the saving grace of this resort. Our young children were well cared for and looked after during our stay.
Overall, the resort is just average. A full and complete renovation is required, I believe this should have occurred before re-branding and claiming to be one of Jamaica's best all inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Kathryn,
thank you for your feedback. All our new furniture are in the rooms now. Eventually we will do some work in the bathrooms, lighting, closets, etc. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the resort.
regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I went to Jewel for a five night stay for my brother's wedding in April 2014. There were approximately 30 guests who came for the wedding. These are my impressions of the resort:

I will start with the negatives:

1) The resort is a relatively long distance from the airport. Depending on the driver and traffic conditions, it may take between 1 hour to 1.5 hours to get to the resort.
2) Check in was at 3pm but the room took an extra hour to be ready.
3) Relatively speaking the a la carte restaurant food could be improved and also the amount of service time should be faster, our food at Moonstone took almost 1 hour to be ready.

The Positives:

1) There were zero clocks in and around the common areas of the resort(more about this later)
2) The workers were excellent. Both from a customer service perspective and just from a people perspective. I have to give a special thank you to Carlene, who at the grill, every morning took care of my parents. That to me in itself is as important as all other aspects of customer service. Her kindness was genuine and I truly appreciated it.
3) The food we had was by far the best we have had in the Carribean(we've stayed in the DR, Cuba and St. Maarten and we've been to 5 other resorts). The Grill had the best food. You must try the jerk chicken wrap and Jerk Chicken. I practically had the Jerk Chicken every single day of our stay.
4) The view from the bar, grill and buffet restaurant were breath taking. If you just chill out and have a coffee in the morning at the bar, you could just literally enjoy yourself listening to reggae, absorbing the beauty and basking in the slight breeze that balances the heat, sunshine and building humidity.
5) The water was beautiful. It was calm and relatively shallow. This is important for families that have little ones that want to enjoy the water.
6) My brother and sis-in-law had amazing and professional wedding co-ordinators. It was seamless in regards to making sure the wedding was run smoothly.

In Summary:

The quality of the people from our guests who we hung out with and the workers made our stay an outstanding one. People make the difference regardless of how many "stars" a resort may be marked with.

Initially my first impressions were admittedly negative but it only took a couple of hours in the morning the next day to drastically change my mind. I loved it.

I appreciated the fact that the wedding co-ordinators made a potentially good wedding and reception to one that was a fantastic and a memorable one. As far as I know there was zero drama in regards to the planning and actual event.

My Advice:

I mentioned earlier about the resort having zero clocks in the common areas. At first, coming from a place like Toronto, where everyone runs on "borrowed time", I was annoyed. I had expectations that everything had to start and end at a particular time.

The lack of clocks actually helped me ease into the island way of living. In other words, enjoy every second of your day and just live in the moment. It helped me to breathe and de-stress.

The resort is a great place for families and friends who want a place that is fun, balanced and easy going. The price point could be better relative to the 5 night stay compared to other places that may have similar prices for 7 nights.

Last thing I want to mention is this. If you are an individual who is used to living on "borrowed" time or has the attitude of "I am the customer, you are the 'servant'", please get rid of it. There is certainly a way to get what you want using kindness as opposed to being demanding.

Trust me on this, relax, enjoy the moment and treat the workers like they were your parents, wives and husbands because you will truly get more from the service then just making a fool of yourself by being overtly demanding.

Yah Mon. I recommend this resort for your next stay in Jamaica.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for you feedback and relaxing with us.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I would highly recommend Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort. I initially wanted to travel to Atlantis, Bahamas, but as a recommendation by Apple Vacations representative Sharon Bubb, my family and I decided to vacation to Jamaica. We traveled with two children under the age of 12 and there was always something to do for both of them. There's a child camp on site for children under twelve as well as a tween center. I was somewhat weary of leaving my children with complete strangers but after visiting the site and getting to know Toni, "Sonia", and the rest of the staff, I became completely confident in their abilities. My children loved it and repeatedly requested to attend kids camp rather than go on special trips and events taking place outside of the resort. Although, we visited Mahoe River Falls, Horseback Riding with Chukka, and shopping at the Taj Mahal, there were plenty of activities taking place on the resort to keep us busy and entertained. The beach was very clean and we never had a problem getting chairs by the beach or pool. The food was very good, drinks were top notch and the staff was amazing. Kudos to Chef Frederick! Be sure to sample everything there at least once! There was nothing being served that I did not enjoy eating to include the 24 hour grill and the jerk chicken wraps! Also as a head up, ensure that you coordinate with the concierge for access to Club Mobay http://www.clubmobay.com/. Waiting in line with young children and going through customs was lengthy and frustrating. If I would have known about access to Club Mobay in advance I would have definitely taken advantage of it. We stayed in the Junior Suite Oceanfront and I would definitely recommend the upgraded room. The size of the room greatly accomodated my family of four and the fridge was always stocked with beverages of all types to include Red Stripe beer and bottles of white and red wine at no additional charge. Please feel free to contact me regarding this beautiful resort. My only regret is that I haven't visited this resort sooner.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Junior Ocean Suite. make early reservations through Club Mobay to avoid the madness t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Derik,
thank you so much for staying with us instead ot your first choice. It was a pleasure having you and your family and we hope you come back soon.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The resort in itself was very nice - had better room last year. The room was made for a king bed, but when we wanted 2 beds, they just moved the king over & squeezed in a twin. The same with the daughter's room. The dining buffet area was large enough but the food was unimpressive. The wait staff everywhere was helpful, courteous & very friendly. Can't say enough about them, loved em. Evening entertainment was mediocre, except for Staff & Quest Amateur night, that was fun. There were afternoon games for kids & adults that were fun also. I was confused about the 2 pools. One was attached to a bar, swim up bar & had a shallow area with a water fountain. There were always a lot a kids playing around there. Now why would they put an area for kids by an area for drinking adults. We drinking adults were always getting splashed by unruly kids. Then there was a big pool, 5ft deep on one side, too deep for me & no bar nearby. Go figure!! There was also an area for kids there too. Just be careful on the tile floors in the rooms, slippery when wet. I found out the hard way, outside of a couple of bumps & bruises I'm OK, staff was concerned, but did not offer any consolation. Anyway, I had a very relaxing & joyful week in the sun. Probably would go again if given the chance.

Room Tip: Pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Janice,
thank you so much for returning to us again this year. I am sorry that you did not like the room as it was the same category in the same block as last year. we also upgraded you again to a plungepool room with conceirge service from the premier room that you booked.
Most of those rooms come with a king bed.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food at the buffet. We are actually getting more and more compliments from the buffet however had we known that you has a particular preference I am sure that our chef would have done his best to appease you.
I am glad you enjoyed our staff and guest talent show. I believe your granddaughter performed that night.
We actually have three pools. Come December we should have our waterpark up and running which should be quite an addition.
When I saw you at the infinity pool I asked about your fall. As I understood it, you stated that you went to the bathroom from the pool area and slipped. As I said when I saw you that i was so sorry to hear about the accident and to please see our nurse again. Your daughter mentioned that if you needed anything that your son in law who was a chiropractor would take care of it. I am sorry that you felt that we were not concerned as we truly were.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself with us.
I saw you several times near that entertainment area having fun.
regards,
Scott



Anyway, I had a very relaxing & joyful week in the sun. Probably would go again if given the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at Jewel runaway bay resort from 10th to 24th April 14, hotel staff make this resort a 5 star , a big thank you to all of them, a special mention to Courtney and Whitney at the pool and water sports , Jacqueline in the buffet restaurant for her big smile every morning while she made me a delicious omelette, Trudy our room maid who did an excellent job for us, and not forgetting the entertainment team. We tried all of the restaurants, some several times and enjoyed all of them, our favourite was the Moonstone as we both like Italian food. We had nice room with a lovely big bed and a great multi_jet shower room, just what you need to get rid of all that sand. The entertainment was very family orientated and pitched at the right level for all to enjoy, the steel band night was excellent as was the crab racing event, I lost my shirt on the Jamaican crab as he was still asleep at the start. Both the main pools were great, very clean and tidy with lots of sunbeds and Parasol's ,the beach is excellent with great snorkeling close by in the swimming area, a second big thanks to Courtney who took us out sailing on the Hobbie cat. We have had several carribean holidays to date and this is one of the best so far thanks mainly to the extremely hard working and friendly staff, they all deserve a big pay rise for their efforts, l would deffinately come back again and recommend this resort couples and especially for young families.

Room Tip: We stayed in Topaz building room 1218 it was very quiet at night for sleeping and the AC kept the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Julie,
thank you so much for staying with us and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself.
We look forward to your return.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.