We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great people and beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just came back from 4 days at this resort. Facilities are a little tired but the beach and people make the vacation great. Beach is white sand, blue clear water and easy to snorkel in...lots of fish to see nearby. People are very friendly. Don't expect same service level as Mexico and Cuba. We were often left having o fetch our own drinks, condiments ect.

If you have a chance go to the Pork Pit in Montego Bay. It's pretty rustic but offers the best Jerk chicken we've evert tasted and has quite a good reputation locally.

Overall my husband and I are always determined to have fun on any vacation. It's what you make of it. We enjoyed some sun, relaxed and enjoyed a great beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Suzan,
thank you for staying with us at Jewel runaway bay and your feedback.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    891
    494
    124
    36
    16
See reviews for
523
579
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our first trip out of the country. We couldn't have asked for a better place to honeymoon!!! It was small, but very personable! The rooms were very nice and very clean! We had an oceanview room and it was absolutely amazing! The beach was beautiful and completely clear. Food and entertainment was great. There were things to do, but they didn't pressure you to do them. We went on two excursions while we were there and the resort did all of the booking. Everyone was very prompt in getting you to and from the resort. Everyone we came across were all extremely nice! There are a few people that worked there that made our trip! Omar-Photographer, Sean-Water sports, Keron-Bartender, and Kirk-Bellhop. We have no complaints. Our honeymoon was perfect and it was all thanks to everyone there!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Cara,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I will pass on the praise to the staff that you mentioned. Please think of us when planning your One year Anniversary.
Thanks again
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 25 Oct 2013 for a week and had the best time. The hotel and grounds were well maintained, our hotel room was big, clean and had a very comfortable bed, the staff really friendly, food and drink excellent and fridge continually stocked up with alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages. A big thank you to Andre the Lifeguard who always gave 100% in making sure me and my friends had everything we needed on the beach and always made time to come and have a chat. And a big thank you to the Buffet waitress who always made sure we sat on a table overlooking the sea. Thank you all for making my first holiday to Jamaica one I will always remember. I shall be returning. Jane (Oxford, England)

Room Tip: If you prefer a plunge pool to a view of the sea choose a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Jane,
thank you so much for your review of Jewel Runaway Bay. We enjoyed your stay with us as well. I appreciate you mentioning some staff that made your stay special. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our first vacation (oct 26-nov 2) without our children , we had a blast , I found the staff very friendly and would help you out in any way. Delroy was always there if we needed anything , Leonardo made my drinks just right and the "bob marley's " were good he remembered us from night one to the last night . Our room was clean and stocked well, if we needed anything we just had to ask and it was there in no time. The resturant and buffet food was delicious . Our check in was quickand in our room with 15mins while waiting rum punch was served . The only issue we had was getting a pool towel , but no other complaints . And I font want to forget ann marie this girl gives a fantastic massage , I was already planning next years vacation on the plane home, cant wait to come back .thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Hamilton,
Thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My stay was very short as I was there for a workshop. However I was really fascinated . Wish I had a longer stay and time to enjoy more. I would definately go back for a vacation. Friendly staff and wonderful view.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and your reveiw. We look forward to your return and a longer stay.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just came back yesterday from a week in Jamaica at the Jewel Runaway Bay resort and our impressions are mixed. For someone who's used to the likes of IberoStar, this resort is a disappointment. Don't expect the same level of entertainment or activities that you know at IberoStar. Here, the entertainment is mediocre, at best.
The main complaint I would have is the fact that the resort does not know how to cope with volumes. Once they have large groups of locals coming in for 2 days conferences (or something like that), you can forget about standards. The trip to the buffet becomes a choice between putting up with queues and crowds or coming in later and finding that most food is out and they very reluctant to replenish. Also, the quality and the variety of the food is mediocre - NOTHING like IberoStar.
The 2 restaurant on premises are poor, but it's better than putting up with the crowds at the buffet.
Otherwise, the location is good, the beach is a pleasure and the people are generally nice and helpful, although you might need to tell them the same things a few times the receive the expected result.
Internet connection is a disgrace (the FREE wireless barely covers the lobby) and the resort area (like may other places in Jamaica) is very poorly covered by their local Verizon-affiliated company (Lime, I think they call themselves).
Next time in Jamaica, we will spend a little more, but stay according to our standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay as well as your feedback. I am sorry you did not bring your dissatisfaction to us while you were here. We are always trying to improve our services. I am glad that you found some resorts that you are happy with as I have looked as some of your other reveiws below and found similar dissatisfaction. (see below)
I am glad that you will continue coming back to Jamaica and maybe you will try us again. Please note that we have Six places to eat, Three that are open during the day and mostly all of them opened in the evening along with specialty nights as well.

Posted Dec 2, 2009
Nice hotel but very noisy location

Posted Aug 27, 2011
The location is good but every thing else stinks.

Regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Not to be cliche..., but The Jewel really IS a jewel. It has a wide beach with beautiful sand (that is raked early each morning by Sean and Garreth!), its truly the best beach around. There were plenty of available lounges on the beach and around the pools. The staff are the best...always friendly, fun, and accommodating, and the grounds are immaculate. Diving with divemaster "EB" was amazing (and cheap...$35 a dive including equipment!), And don't miss the sunset cruise! If you want to snorkel, bring your own mask, because I heard they run out of them quickly every day. The desserts at the Italian restaurant are to die for. Sailing there is great, but they won't let you take the sailboats out on your own, even if you know how to sail. Just a short walk down the beach there are horses that sometimes just hang out by the sea, and you can also see one of the vacation homes of England's royal family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of your stay.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.