We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are definitely going back!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Parlin, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We are definitely going back!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The timing of our trip was great. We went the week before Memorial Day. It felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves with a sprinkling of guests here and there. Even then, the resort had enough staff on hand to literally wait on us for our every need.

The beach was very clean! The resort was nicely kept with open airy and clean eating spaces. Many restaurants and bars to choose from.

Just try to get any and all excursions in Ochos Rios out of the way in one day to save on 1hr+ travel time and be able to take in more of the resort.

Do not exchange your currency at the airport. We got 82 JD/ 1 USD. A very bad rate. You should get something closer to 100 JD/ 1 USD. Try the resort. They may be able to give you a better rate.

If I may pick on one thing about the resort, then it is the timing of their pools. They open late, 9 am(some 10 am) and close by 4 pm (or 6 pm). This is done to treat the pool water but I think there is room for improvement.

Dalton at the front desk was amazing.

Georgia at the excursion/ JTL desk was excellent.

For families with kids, ask for Tone, Stacy-Ann and Toya at the kids club. They were excellent with our 7 year old (and other lil critters 2 - 8 yrs old)

For family/couple pics, ask for Brendan at the flash photo office and tell him Sonia from New Jersey sent you. ;-).

For golfers, ask for Leon to caddy for you. He knew to course really well and was right on the money with every green read. The greens are well kept, although the fairways green but don't expect the type of grass as you get stateside.

Room Tip: For a quick walk to buffet choose the ocean front suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry for some confusion as we don't close down the pools we there are times when there are no lifeguards in the evening and we always encourage parental supervision. We are working on irrigation on the fairways as we have repaired it everywhere else. You will find different grass in the caribbean to stateside.
Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    923
    503
    124
    36
    17
See reviews for
548
586
21
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

i cant begin to describe how wonderful this place is.....the rooms are just average (we were in one of the older buildings) but clean.....and we could lay in bed and look out over the caribbean....the people who work there are amazing...so friendly and truly glad to talk to you....the food was delicious...if you go to the jade, make sure you request sexy bubba, you will see why, haha....garreth and the other lifeguards are wonderful....the glass bottom boat and hoby cat--all free and wonderful....at the piano bar say hi to my friend Nas---she picked me fresh mint everyday for my mojitos--all the other bars just said sorry no mint....the drink of the day was so good every day...the beach amazing--we snorkeled right there--swam with fish and the reef was beautiful..the buffet is right on the beach, open air, amazing..will we go back? ....oh yes......so much better than where we stayed in mexico...jamaica cant be beat...the people, the caribbean, the mountains...truly Heaven on earth

Room Tip: i asked for king size bed and sea view...forgot to ask for one in one of the new buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We are currently still upgrading our room product. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just came back from a week stay at Jewel, our first time in Jamaica. We visited with our 2 year old daughter and we all had a great time! The staff was extremely friendly (Stacy-Ann who was great with our daughter from Kids Camp; Babaa a great, charming chef & entertainer; Shanae who teased our little one throughout meal times; and Barbara the hotel manager who fulfills her role splendidly). Without mentioning the overall ambiance/warmth from both guests and staff which really made this stay memorable for us - a home away from home for the entire family. The pool for kids is nice, the choice of food/restaurants was also great, the resort size is perfect (266 rooms, so never feeling overcrowded) and overall great location.

Room Tip: Block 2 was ideal - in the middle of the resort. Try to get the view on the "boat house" i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay and mentioning the staff that made your stay special.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Let me start by staying that this is my first review on tripadvisor even though I refer to them for every trip I go on and we travel at least twice a year. My husband and I stayed at the Jewel Runaway Bay from April 6 - 13, 2013. This was our first trip to Jamaica and didn't know what to expect. We have heard a mix of reviews about the island over the years. We have been to many Caribbean islands and Jamaica was one of our best trips. The property is small, which was perfect for us. We don't like the huge resorts that you have to get around by golf carts. Everything was located in one big circle. I paid a little more for a "water view" room, which in my opinion was well worth it. The rooms were a little outdated, but VERY clean and freshly painted. They also had flat screen TV's. I made a request in my reservation for a newly renovated, QUIET room on the second or third floor with a water view....It's definitely worth it to do this. The upper level rooms have good views of the beach. Also, may sure you request a room away from the disco. There are rooms located in very close proximity and also right above the disco and they run til the wee hours of the morning. The property was very well maintained - grounds very clean and pretty landscaping. The beach was beautiful! There was a reef located right off the beach and many people were snorkeling. We chose to feed the fish some bread scraps from the buffet while wading in the water - waist deep. It was awesome....very pretty, colorful fish swarmed over to us. It's breezy on the beach, but it was nice because without the breeze it would have been stifling hot. We met quite a few people who had been to other areas of Jamaica and all told us that the beach at the Jewel was by far the best they'd been to. There were 3 pools . The pool with the swim up bar seemed to be the pool where the adults chose to bring their children because there was an area that was more like a wading pool. That was one of our complaints...they should have a swim up bar in the large central pool. There were hardly any kids in that pool b/c the water was deep. Overall this didn't bother us. We pretty much had the big pool to ourselves and a few other adults and the bar was close by and waiters - Miguel and Troy - were excellent. The resort is not adults only, however, we weren't bothered by the children that were there. They all seemed to be in the other pool or in the activity program. We also are sure not to travel on school vacation weeks to limit the amount of children. We never had an issue getting a chair on the beach or at the pool. We did have a towel issue one day. We got out to the pool late and all the towels were taken. They had more in about 2 hours, which was a bit of a pain, but we dealt with it and it didn't ruin our time at all. The bar service was good, however, they could add a little more alcohol to the drinks. Most mixed drinks tasted like juice, but if you asked for a double shot they were accomodating. Do bring your own cup....the drink cups are small and many had brought their own travel type cups with covers and the bar was more than happy to fill them. The food at all of the restaurants was great. We loved the Japanese restaurant and the Brick Oven Pizza restaurant. Also, the jerk chicken sandwiches were delicious at the grill. The buffet was good and always had something for everyone. The service at this resort was exceptional. The people were all very friendly and willing to help or get you anything you needed. We did one off property excursion to Dunn's River Falls. We enjoyed it, but be aware that it is a tourist trap and very overcrowded even when climbing the falls, which takes away from the overall experience. The rest of the trip we stayed on property and had a great relaxing vacation. The resort has several different water sport options that are included in your package including a glass bottom boat ride around the coral reef...we did this and it was nice and worth it....free! They also had a sunset cruise for a nominal fee, which we didn't do, but heard it was great. The shows in the evening were better than expected. The house band was a great reggae band. Make sure to see the steel drum band....they were awesome. They also had a piano bar and a disco. Overall we had a great trip. We met several people. Some of which we still keep in touch with. I would highly recommend the Jewel!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a water view and ask for a higher level room - quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and feedback as well as staying with us. The rooms are still going under a bit of transformation, The waterpark is still on track for sometime next year for the kids.
Thanks again and we look forward to your retunr.
regards
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Jewel Runaway Bay Resort! It was beyond what we imagined. The people were so friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Everything was very clean and just great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The first couple days of our trip were less than stellar - we had to move out of the Braco Village due to it closing. It was nothing we expected; however, upon our arrival to the Jewel in Runaway Bay, it was an outstanding experience! First and foremost, the staff was amazing, helping with any questions, extremely friendly, and always wanting to sit with guests during meals to catch up and make sure they are experiencing the Jewel & Jamaica to the fullest. The beach was amazing, and you must do the glass-bottom tour and check out the three surprises they show you along the way. If you want to venture out, I recommend using the resort's connection with Dunn's River Falls & snorkeling rather than your vacationer (Funjet, Apple, etc.) it is cheaper and more fun! On Thursday night they had a lawn party where you can meet & greet the management & show your appreciation (and vice-versa) which was a great experience. A big positive to this resort is that the general manager, Scott Robbins, actually reads and responds to each review put up. Therefore I must ask Mr. Robbins, what are the recipes for the World's Best Rum Punch and the Hummingbird?! Thank you to all, what an amazing trip, can't wait to go back very soon!

Room Tip: Plunge Pool room is a nice added bonus, but be aware that it is a private room pool, not a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself after coming to us. Please Private message me on this site with your email address and I will send you the recipes to the drinks that you request.
We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Returned on May 3rd after staying our usual 15 night spring vacation. It was our first visit since it has become a family resort, if we had any doubts they guickly dissapeared. The resort is even better than we left the previous October. Renovations are begining to show and little by little this resort is heading for a 5 star rating. The staff is the best from managment down, always make you feel at home. We cannot wait to get back in October. Thank you Barbara, Scott, and especially the morning staff that starts your day off with a smile. You guys are the best. Jackie at the omelette station Fredrick do you ever go home. If you your looking for total relaxation and a chance to make new friends this is the place. See you in October

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us again. I am so happy to hear that you had a good time and are returning to us again in October. I look forward to the challange that after your stay in October we will be at the level that you will have to give us a 5 circle rating.
Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.