We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time here on vacation recently. The pools and beach area were gorgeous, the bars and restaurants were great and the service was spectacular. I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, all-inclusive beach vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reveiw on your stay with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. It was our pleasure to have you here.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    574
    146
    38
    24
See reviews for
658
668
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is AWESOME! My wife and I just celebrated our 1 year anniversary April 12-16 2013 here. Room 3212 has a great view of the garden, part of the main pool, the ocean, and the Japanese restaurant. This was our first trip to Jamaica and we were excited but apprehensive but all of our worries and cares went away as soon as we arrived on site. We were greeted by a friendly and attentive staff who smiled and engaged us in conversation. Ralston checked us in and even though I had forgotten to print my stay voucher (went through a third party) he provided us with the means to send it to him via email. BTW Ralston Thanks for your Patience! Kirk our bellhop was great he got us up to and situated in our room even though I kept going the wrong way. He was instant comedy and set the tone for the remainder of the trip with "Hey man Jamaica No Problem are you drunk!" When I said no I need a drink he detailed that even though we were arriving fairly late (after 9 pm) they had a beach front grill that stayed open till 6 am and that the bars stayed open super late including one in the Disco which closed only when the last patron decided to leave! So after a long day we had great Jerk Chicken sandwiches and drinks! Its an amazing place to shoot photos too!

The next day we got up and went to the Amazing breakfast buffet. The food here is Excellent and there is enough variety for even the most discerning and picky person. EGGBOY! That man in a citizen of THE WORLD! hes been everywhere and will impress you with his knowledge.

THE AMENITIES ARE GREAT! THE FOOD IS SUPERB! THE STAFF THOUGH IS WHAT MADE THIS TRIP TRULY UNFORGETTABLE!

"BI BIP" took us on our orientation and he was joined by "DC" We quickly became friends as they took us on a tour of the resort and gave us the ins and outs. They answered every question and engaged us to the point where we made sure to attend whatever function they were throwing. For the rest of the weekend whether it was the Off property walk (Saw a car wreck lol those dang taxis), the Disco which we closed down at 3am then continued at the grill till 4am, the bonfire, beach volleyball, the Reggae Beach Party, Margaritaville or just having lunch it was done with a group of people who not only loved there jobs but truly loved people...and it showed. We also had a candlelight 5 course dinner on the beach for our anniversary dinner which was excellent.

WE CANNOT WAIT TO BOOK OUR NEXT TRIP! Shot outs to Toni, Hamantro, Kadron, Duval, Simone, Purple the singing maid, and the whole staff of Jewel Runaway Bay Yall rock. PS DO DUNN RIVER FALLS Donnie for JTL is great too

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are nice! the Balcony views are all amazing. BRING A BIG THERMOS...They'll fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay and taking the time to mention the staff members that made your stay special.
We look forward to your return
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I and a Large group of friends spent the week of April 8th at the Jewel. A beautiful place. the rooms are all so conveniently placed that wherever you stay,you will be in close proximity to the lovely beach and also bars, grill, and pools and buffet. Food was excellent, service fantastic, entertainment was quite good. The staff (from the gardeners to Management) should be highly recommended...They are all so kind and friendly...the Manager's cocktail party was lovely, the trumpeter was fantastic and afterwards a 6 course meal located in a beautiful setting around the pool . Like living a dream!!!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. We look forward to your return
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 7 day trip, April 2013. We had a good time, never left the resort and here is our review of what we thought.

Travel- About 1.5 - 2 hours from Airport. once you get to Ochos Rios, its one of the first stops.

Food- Good variety between the Buffet, grill, pizza, Italian restaurant and Japanese restaurant. We were never disappointed, the buffet had an on-going change in menu, pizza was great, grill typical menu, water and soda in the in-room frig stocked daily and a couple of nights they had an under the stars dinner which, again, food not disappointing. The only place that we did not enjoy was the Italian Restaurant. As every resort, the most "up-scale" place to eat, but food was not something to look forward to (for example, lasagna tasted more like the pizza and everything was over salted).

Rooms- Seems like a majority of rooms had joining doors. If you turned off the air conditioner, you could hear the people speaking next door, with the air conditioner on, not a problem. I assume this is done since it is not an all adult resort and would be great for large families. Rooms are VERY basic... White tile, old sliding balcony doors , white walls and linen and new furniture from the 90's. Always clean, just expected a little more newer feel. Beds... so-so, sleep-able.

Staff- Staff was great. very attentive, helpful and always smiling. While on the Beach, they were always around to take drink orders.

Entertainment- Various Daily activities with nighttime entertainment. Had a band play almost every night which is great idea. Kids- lots of options for them outside and inside (entertainment room with Playstations, movies, and even what look like a daycare!)

Beach- Good size, the actual beach for the Resort is large with great water. Plenty of chairs around, however, shade areas are limited to the trees. No beach umbrellas, so getting out early to guarantee a shade spot could be a little stressful for those Type A personalities. Two pools were good size with plenty of umbrellas.

Recommendations: Beach towels weren't available till 9. Bar's didn't open till about 10-ish (not that we drank that early, but would be a good option to have), during check-in, they have you sit down in the lobby and the staff will take your passports and credit card to check you in..... makes most people uncomfortable not being able to see what your doing with our personal information. Spa- prices are pretty expensive for a non-luxury resort. And, would recommend that the Concierge take our recommendations, like a comment card, instead of telling us to post them on "trip advisor".

Final recommendation: Would recommend going to Jewel Runaway for a relaxing time on the beach, with or without children, but not for a couples romantic vacation.

Room Tip: Center, courtyard rooms can be louder at night with all the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay as well as giving such a detailed report.
Please note that We are at least 30 minutes before Ocho Rios.
I am glad that you enjoyed our food. I will send the chef your perception of the Italian restaurant as we know that everyones tastes are different and we will try to please all of those tastes.
The rooms are still being worked on piece by piece I am glad that you found it cleas as that is the most important thing, I would think.
I am sorry that you did not let us know that you needed an umbrella on the beach. Had we known we would have brought you one. we have more in the storeroom as well as on the Three pool decks. I am sorry you did not get to see the third pool deck as a lot of couples hang out near that one.
We have an electronic questionnaire that we send out if you left your email address as you should recieve it shortly.
thanks again and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time travelling solo, received great service! Great resort, just as good or better since Breezes. Super efficient and attentive, friendly staff (gotta mention some names here...Lesa, Lanford, Delroy, Kerrol, Winston,Troy, Miguel, Leroy, Shanelle).Had a couple minor issues with the room that were quickly taken care of, A/C worked great, bed very comfortable.
Delicious food. My second time here, will definitely visit again. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us again at Jewel Runaway Bay. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Third trip to Jamaica this year second time in Runaway Bay. Will be returning to the Jewel next time. Its large enough but not too large beautiful beach and amazing people. Rooms were very nice had a ground floor rooom looking into the garden very private and peaceful. Close to lobby and a short walk to buffet pool and beach. Wifi was free in lobby and worked great never went down once. Loved the snack bar always had jerk chicken,buffet was good always a nice selection of food. Drinks absolutely no complaints. I will return in the fall!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. We look forwrard to your return in the fall.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stayed at the jewel runaway bay between 5th April and 14th April- we were a party of four aged between 27 - 34

Food- great choice, excellent service - loved the dinner around the pool and the beach dinner

Rooms- Super clean and spacious, slept like a baby in the beds

Staff- The staff made the stay for us, so helpful and chatty - the enterainment team were great, really good fun. No reason to ever be bored, they were always looking to get us involved

Beach- Clean and beautiful with loads of free water activities, no traders on the beach

I would highly recomment this hotel and i plan on returning in late may, to enjoy another week of Jamaica at its best

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you so much for staying with us. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.