We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC WEDDING GROUP WEEK AT JEWEL RB!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
MIDDLETON NS
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC WEDDING GROUP WEEK AT JEWEL RB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As travel agents we recently organized & escorted a large wedding group to this wonderful property. We have been to Jamaica & many other resort destinations several times in the past & always had great experiences but it was very gratifying to have everyone ( app 30 guests ) that was travelling for the wedding rave about the resort especially the laid back, friendly vibe & personal service, great food, beautiful beach & property in general!
Most also enjoyed the fact that the property was compactly laid out so you never felt too far away from anything important.
I won't go into minute detail as there is lots of critique already here, just to say it was a great choice for our clients.
This resort now under new management has made many improvements which are ongoing & should be congratulated for the effort.
Bottom line is that we would be happy to recommend Jewel Runaway Bay to our clients looking for such a resort. For more info email dbalcomtravel.ca

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking your group to us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.
Regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    577
    146
    38
    24
See reviews for
660
673
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Callander, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Jewel resort Runaway Bay: I have been to this resort several times over the last 38 years. It has changed names and owners many times, but the current owners are delivering the least of all. Was there March 17 to 24, 2013: Food; repetative and of lesser quality, except the Japanese restarant.Facilities; nice setting, no warm water for morning shower, the odd cockroach, rooms dated. Staff; for the most part very good. Golf course; interesting but rough. Beach; well mantained, lots of chairs. There were lots of kids. I spoke with resort and golf course staff and they said that general quality has suffered since becoming Jewel. There is a rumour that several millions have been spent on the resort and golf course since becoming Jewel....absolutely false!

Room Tip: pay the extra and upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am sure you realized when you booked that it was going to be a family resort. Families travel in the summer, holidays and spring and winter breaks. You traveled during a a spring break so as an old time former company returnng guest who does not want to see children .............
The property started out as a family resort as Runaway Bay Country club. Taken over by superclubs during Jamaica Jamaica and Breezes days and now the Jewel back to family.
I am sorry you did not let us know with any of your challenges such as water temperature as we could have resolved it.
I am surprised since you have been to the property several times that you did not notice the new Golf carts, New golf clubs, sand in the bunkers, new logos and signs, New rooms and club house renovations, aerated greens, etc on the golf course and skeptical that the golf team would say that it has gotten worse when they have been bragging with pride with the all the progress made since June.
Once again thank you for coming and do hope you keep returning to Jamaica.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overall excellent experience......only one complaint.....the bus ride to the resort was a two hour milk run stopping at multiple resorts before arriving at The Jewel dead last ......it would have been understandable if two or three resorts in close proximity had shared the bus but this was not the case.....other than that......pretty close to perfection!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your reveiw. I wish I had more information as that is not the norm. We are a little over an hour away so 2 hours is confusing. Thanks again for staying with us.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What an amazing time at the Jewel! It was our first time in Jamaica for our group of 6, ranging in age from 10yrs to 68 yrs old. There was always something to do for everyone. The staff was amazing from the moment we stepped out of the van right up until we had to check out. Our rooms were pretty basic but we were only in them to shower/sleep, although next time we will upgrade to have bigger beds.
The food was fantastic. The buffet was great for any meal, the specialty restaurants and the grill were also terrific.
Omar was a great fitness instructor, always motivating me to "work that body!" and my mom enjoyed the aqua fit classes with him as well.
A special thanks to Swagg who took great care of my two kids, especially my 10 yr old son who was with him pretty much every day for laser tag.
The entertainment was fun, from the morning contests with DC to the evening skits and audience participation games.
The cocktail hour and pool side dinner was a great touch for our last night there.
I just can't say enough about the friendly staff and the great time we had on this trip. Definitely made a believer out of my parents who had never been on an all inclusive vacation before. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am so happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Going back home to Jewel (formerly Breezes) on April 7th for a week. We have been going to this resort for over 15 years. We go twice a year and were very happy with the new management as of last year. Jewel Resorts have done a lot of renovation and the resort is truly immaculate now. The biggest reason why we return is definitely because of the staff, many who are now good friends. Barbara the manager is always visible and always smiling and asking how your stay is going. We have never had any problems as we know it is hard to satisfy everyone because the size of our group is usually over 40 people per trip. I can't finish without mentioning the best water sports team in the Caribbean. Delroy, Adrian, Ebby and George. You guys truly contribute to the wonderful experience we have had for so many years.

This time we decided to take our kids 7 and 4 to Jewel on our family spring break trip, so that our children can see our home away from home in person. Looking forward to seeing all the smiling faces we have missed since December.

Jewel is just not another resort, it should be considered the standard of what a Jamaican all inclusive resort should be.

Thank you for all you guys do!

Mr. Ali

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return to Jewel Runaway Bay.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best trip to an all inclusive I've ever been on. The hotel is great, check in was a breeze, rooms were basic but clean, transportation was easy. Booked through Cheap Caribbean and got a great deal for such an awesome hotel. The staff make this place amazing, every single one of them! The entertainment staff (whoppie, purple, bi bip, mishka, everyone was amazing). Food was great and always available! Buffet was great, I couldn't say more about this place. If your willing to splurge a little on a massage definitely do it! I'd definitely go back to this hotel in a heartbeat (wish I was there now)!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a great vacation at Jewel Runaway Bay where we had a great time!
We have visited the resort for the past five years and each time we return we are greeted with open arms and "Welcomed Home" by many members of the staff which we really enjoy.
The grounds are beautiful and the staff does such a great job in keeping it beautiful.
Staff is amazing, super friendly, curtious and informative. Always asking if we are ok? If we need anything, making sure we are enjoying our vacation. No matter where you are on the resort, all the staff is caring and kind from the conceirge desk, the bell man, the wait staff, entertainment and water sports, everyone was great!
Especially Delroy over at the hobby water sports! Great job! Dwayne on the entertainment staff, Barbra the general manager, Keisha the conceirge manager, Ashena at the Jerk Chicken grill and Lennox the best bartender ever!!!!! There are many more that deserve special recognition such as Garnett who is a bartender at the main bar by the main pool, Prince who is also a bartender and Omar who is the exercise guru! I'm so happy that they are able to recieve tips now!!!!
Changes on the resort are noticed as soon as you walk in with beautiful updates to the lobby and staff coming to us to check us in followed by delivery of the drink of the day. So nice.
One of the best changes is the Brick oven Pizza, delicious! I'd love to see it open even later though.
Other noticable changes were the beach vendors no longer walking up and down the beach trying to sell their creations. Instead they have been provided a table at the resort which you can go to and see a different vendors work each day which we really enjoyed.
The largest change of all was the addition of children of all ages being welcomed at the resort.
I do love children, we have 4 of our own, however on vacation with a beach and pools and drinks flowing while relaxing (Which is what I go for) it was different to have children running around screaming and playing.
Adults getting annoyed at their children and yelling at them, kids or babies crying is just not what I want when I go on that kind of vacation. Disney, sure but not there.

I'm not sure if it were just my room but the room service seemed a little off this year. Previously we would come back to a fabuously cleaned room with a beautiful towel decoration and flowers on the bed. This year, not so much. No towel creations, no flowers. Room was cleaned but could've been cleaned a bit better. We had to ask for more towels because no hand towels were left after the first night.
We used all of our tissues and toilet paper and that didn't get replaced either. I have to say this is WAY out of the normal for this resort! We have been there five times and never had a problem with room service or lack of supplies.
We would highly reccomend the resort to anyone, bring your appetite and be ready to enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I appreciate your feedback on our housekeeping department and will pass it on to our Housekeeping manager.
thanks again and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.