We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Jewel Runaway Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Florida, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at The Jewel Runaway Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lots of variety with the food, there is a Japanese and Italian restaurant.Most staff memebers were very helpful and the entertainment and activities were really good, especially the laser tag. We all had a great time playing laser tag like we were all teenagers again. Shout out to Bi-Bip who was great at making us feel like family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank your for your reveiw and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    912
    501
    124
    36
    17
See reviews for
539
583
21
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Pros: many things for kids to do. Whoopi and the rest of the entertainment staff did a great job with the kids. The beach is amazing. Pools are nice and grounds are nice. The food was average the Japanese and the Thursday night mangers party had the best food. Dunns falls was great, a must do, snorkeling was fun and saw lot of fish. Kids love the game room.
Cons: we had to ask for towels in our rooms multiple times, lack of beach chairs, you need to get up early to get chairs, and many of the chairs are broken. Always a wait to get towels, saw someone bring the towels from their room down, good idea, kids were freezing getting out of the pool and had to ran back to the room to get towels.
Overall it was a fun and good stay and great price, the value is why I rated it 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed themselves. One of our policies is that we do not have a towel policy. I don't think people realize that so they take more than needed thus having a "run on the bank" It should calm down as we are inserting more into system.
thanks again and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from the Jewel and we had a great time. Arrived on a Saturday and left on a Wednesday. Only complaint was that it was too short. Obviously.

Customs was a little long on Saturday afternoon so try for another day if you can. Attempting to get transportation from Montego Bay to the Jewel was interesting. Hold onto your luggage and don't let the men with carts take your bags because they just take them from the lobby of the airport to the curb and expect a tip. You can do that yourself.
The Jewel was the second stop on the approx. 1hr 10min bus ride but like others said on here, it's almost like a tour of the coastline. Grab some Red Stripes at the airport bar and enjoy the trip.

Checking in was SO simple and they greet you with the drink of the day. We were on the beach within minutes of getting off the bus. Shurline was awesome at moving the process along.

We had a premium guest room and it was fine. Before the trip we tried to upgrade because we were nervous about quality. Pretty glad we didn't spend the money on that. Stayed in the middle building on the second floor with ocean view. Room is slightly dated but Scott (GM) and the rest of the crew are working on it. Give them time. Friends of ours had a room similar to ours but the shower was updated with several jets. We were jealous. You aren't in your room enough to care what it looks like. Bed was comfortable, fridge was stocked with water and soda, turn-down service was a nice touch after dinner and drinks. Sounds from the connecting room were easily audible and made for some interesting entertainment. Take advantage of the free safe. All of our valuables were safe and secure in there.

Make friends with Marvin the lifeguard so he can reserve you some chairs and he'll get you towels. Just make sure to give him a few dollars each time. The better chairs fill up fast when the weather is ideal. Beach is always raked and clean. Bring / rent snorkel gear because the reef off the beach is great for inexperienced tourists like us. We tried to take the glass bottom boat (free) out but the ocean was too choppy for those endeavors. Heard it's pretty cool though.

Food is good. It's an all-inclusive so what more do you want?? Pizza place opened up while we were there and we had dinner there on the first night. Great brick oven pizza. Japanese place was great too. We ate there twice. Request Bubba as your chef. He is very entertaining. The grill was always nice for some in-between or late night snacks. They are open until 7am!! That's wild. Breakfast buffet was as expected. We suggest getting an omelette and making a breakfast sandwich on a toasted bagel. Italian place requires shoes.

Do yourself a favor and bring an insulated mug. Lots of guests had those Bubba brand keg mugs. The cups/glasses you get from the bars are small and require many trips to the bar. Best drink there = jamaican smile (strawberry daq / pina colada / rum cream).

Played golf across the street and was happy with the course. I wasn't expecting much being that it was a golf course in Jamaica but the greens were in nice shape and the caddy (Ryan) helped with pin placement and where to aim off the tee. Brought my own shoes, glove and golf balls but rented clubs. They were ok.

Weather wasn't good pretty much the whole time we were there but there is no one to blame unfortunately. Wish I could hold SOMEone accountable. The resort does a nice job of making entertainment available on cloudy/rainy days.

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean view, don't spend your money on the plunge pools (freezing cold and no priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest ,
Thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. Go ahead you can blame me for the weather and I do apologize for it. I remember that week. I will do my very best to make it up to you when you return. Just let me know when you are coming.
Regards
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can not say enough about our first trip to the Jewel. From the staff, to the hotel everything lived up to or exceeded our expectations. I have been to many resorts but this one is at the top of my list. A BIG shout out to the entertainment staff which did a great job. The staff was warm and friendly and went out of there way to make our stay fantastic.We will be going back next year!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, But after looking at the water all day it was nice to go back, open up the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us at jewel runaway bay as well as taking the time to write your review. We look forward to your return.
Regards
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Jewel Runaway Bay from Feb 10-17 as part of a group of 120+ people. This was our first trip to Jamaica.
It is obvious that a lot of work is going into this resort. Lots of fresh paint, freshly groomed foliage can be seen around the resort. Our room was located on the 2nd floor as requested & was nicely decorated with no issues at all. Below our room was a plunge pool room – there is the constant sound of running water from these pools as they have a water fall feature. The housekeeping team was great.

We enjoyed all of the restaurants that we ate at. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were great and the buffet was very good with a good selection every day. The breakfast entertainment by Egg Boy was a definite highlight. Pizza hut was not open yet, but expected within a couple of days – maybe next time. We also enjoyed lunch at the grill. The drink selection was good with lots of variety. We enjoyed the entertainment throughout the day, including the steel drum band on our first night. All the staff was friendly & very helpful.

Wifi was available in the lobby at no cost. Computers were also available for guest to use in the computer room. The concierge desk was very helpful – able to answer all questions that we had.
We took the free glass bottom boat ride along the reef directly from the resort. There were hobby cat rides too. Just sign up at the hut. They offer snorkeling and diving as well.
The beach is very nice with lots of lounges and trees for shade. Hammocks and cabana huts are also available. Staff was removing and replacing lounges for cleaning and maintenance both on the beach and around the pools.
There are 3 pools – each just a little different – the pool with the swim up bar is an infinity pool – not very deep. The larger pool is a bit more conducive to swimming being a bit deeper. There is another smaller pool by the oceanview suites. Towels are available at the huts near the pools
The grounds are lush and very well kept – the hard work of the gardeners is very obvious.
We did the Dunn's River Falls excursion – lots of fun hiking up the falls. Enjoyed our shopping trip into Ocho Rios & really liked the Coyaba Gardens Tour. Ocho Rios Highlights is a tour worth taking if you don’t want a full day away from the resort – ½ day .
We prefer a smaller sized resort and loved the resort and the staff are amazing and couldn’t do enough for us. Thanks to Scott & his staff for a very memorable vacation. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in Building One nice and quiet. (East side of the resort.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We loved have you and your group at our resort. We would actually love to make it an annual thing. Hint Hint.
Thanks so much for your reveiw and we look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica and we absolutely loved Jewel! The staff was so warm and friendly and always accomodated our every need. We loved the beach and did some snorkeling and saw a sting ray, so that was a bonus. We used the kayaks and went on the hobie. Loved the water sports! But I think the thing we loved best was the entertainment. There was always something going on, and the night shows and bands were great. It was just like you picture the caribbean, warm and fun with great music.
The food was excellent. Lots of variety and my kids were happy with the snack bar and with the self-serve ice cream.
I really have not a single complaint about this resort and we are frequent visitors to all-inclusives.

Room Tip: The water pool rooms are nice, with their own pools, but truthfully I did not see too many people in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the resort. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was my first trip to St.Ann, Jamaica and at first I didn't want to stay so far from Montego Bay. After my initial shock on the distance of the resort from the Airport, I was just ready to have a good time. When we departed the van we were greeted with drinks and well wishes for a good time and, the stage was set! The resort has great beach front access, cabana's and shop's. The accommodations were nice and the staff was excellent, I will consider staying at the Jewel on my next trip out to Jamaica. Joel Ward, a cook was especially accommodating with my special dietary needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay as well as your feedback. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Main Street | North Coast Hwy, St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, one of the most complete all-inclusive resorts in the world. Located on 22 lush, oceanfront acres of Jamaica's famed north coast, this spectacular resort offers some of the best SCUBA and golf on the island. Unwind in our new plunge pool suites. Indulge in our new full-service spa. Dine around at up to 5 different restaurants and 5 different free-flowing bars including a swim-up pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club Hotel Runaway Bay
Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica
Breezes Runaway Bay Hotel
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.