We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Franklyn D Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been trying to get to this hotel for 10 years. Decided to finally book it for this Summer August 13-17. It was a short trip to see if I liked it and if it would be a good place for my 5 year old non-verbal son who has autism, and a place out other bigger kids would like(the big kids didnt go with us)

I was very excited. Jamaica is a culture shock for some who have not travelled outside the USA. The resort is about 45 minutes from the airport. They offer full transportation back and forth. I ordered a private car both ways which was good on the way there, they offered us water and a red strip for my husband but on the way back they didn't have anything for us which was a little shocking and annoying. So try the transportation offered first. If I had to do that again, I would have tried it and not spent the $$ on the private transport.

after passing the bigger and fancier name brand hotels, we were taken aback by the look of this house but once we pulled up to the front desk we could see how special and beautiful this hotel really is. This is a small private gated, boutique hotel with an indoor /outdoor style. Very lush and tropical. We had a 1 bedroom garden view. toward the back, which was nice on the dinner on the beach nights.

We were expected and people were waiting to take us straight to our room. The room was large and with a bed set up in the living room for my son, which was fine. Bedroom was decent size with good closet space.

The bathroom, was in a nice word shabby chic. First I will say ... IT WAS CLEAN! that being said it was shabby, not enough places to hang wet stuff and the wallpaper is dated and falling in some parts, but it was clean too. there were some small tiny tiny ants in the bathroom (ONLY), after my son left a wet face towel on the floor. So I just put the tooth brushes in the fridge (just incase) and picked up the towel. After that never saw them again. The living room kitchen combo is huge you can feel very comfy in this room if you are traveling with 3/4.

We checked out the 2 bedroom duplex type room. It was very nice, and even had a half bath and a full kitchen. when we come back with the kids (we have 4) we WILL book this room type but on the beach.

While we didn't try ALL the stuff they have to do, what we did was fun. Quick run down.

Snorkeling - First time, very fun, everyone willing to help us learn. great spot for newbies to explore.

Pool - 2 pools, main pool never full. Slide pool - kids were going crazy but never too excessive.

Beach - Small but PERFECT for small kids, snorkeling or lounging. if you want a bigger beach the hotel next door is nice for deeper swimming. you must sign out to go but its very nice and no big deal.

Resort -Lush and tropical, banana's everywhere. I love that they have the names of the plants and trees, so we know what's there

Restaurants - Breakfast was on the water in the same place everyday. Its was nice and covered. but had a great view. you can order ANYTHING and I DID. I have a typical american dish and a typical jamaican dish. One morning I had the jamaican cod fish dish and regular eggs. It was soooo good. as was the breakfast quesadilla!!!!

Lunch could be at the breakfast place or you could go to the bar grill/ small place typical fast foods. good and quick.

Dinner could be at the jamaica restaurant, the overlook (other side of the restaurant) the beach night (fabulous- make sure you stay long enough to be there for this).

Last thing about the food... TRY EVERYTHING you didn't come here to eat just american foods. If you really dont like it order a separate dish.

They have a jacuzzi (which is adults only) separate private deck. nice but we didnt use it.

The NANNY, Comes with the reservation our nanny was GREAT WE LOVED HER. She handled my son (special needs/autism) very nicely and went in the water with him and took him around to the swings and the beach. One evening we kept her late. Until 9 pm. While we had 1 solo meal. She took him to kids dinner came back and washed him up and put him to bed. My son was at ease with her right away and i felt very comfortable with her.

Many more amenities that we didnt try but looked nice.

My negatives

Bathrooms need updating.

some small maintenance things- by the slide pool. decking could be fixed for safety. More trimming of the lush gardens on the paths, some branches hit us.

More lighting for the "stage" on dinner on the beach lights. tiki torches or christmas lights would have been nice. we sat close to the water and it was harder to see being so far away.

Bacardi on the menu - no bacardi in resort.

Glass bottom boat very uncoordinated - specific times should be posted.


WE LOVED THE RESORT AND WILL BE GOING BACK DESPITE THE NEGATIVES. They were closing for maintenance and hopefully will have these small issues addressed!

Room Tip: We changed USD$$ into Jamaican JAY, but didnt need it everyone takes cash, and people prefer the USD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    162
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
373
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Overall the vacation you can take at this resort is unmatched on the island. This is the only resort that provides a nanny in the all inclusive price. Its right on the ocean, has boats for snorkeling/scuba, water slides for the kids, a pool, kids club, and the other amenities you would expect at an all inclusive type property. We have stayed here 3-4 times now and always trust the nanny with our daughter. In fact both the nanny and kid cry when we leave! The food is good, but dont expect a huge spread like some of the larger resorts but there is an ample selection of good food. The nanny more than makes up for this in my opinion. The resort it self has a small swim area that is great for the little ones. If you prefer a bigger beach, you are free to use the beach in front of the hotel next door. The staff is very attentive and quick to help with the kid(s) when needed. Entertaiment includes local acts and a one man band nightly. Kids are entertained by staff until 10pm. The rooms are large compared to most resorts I have stayed in on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are already planning our next trip to revisit FDR! We had an amazing time. FDR's greatest advantage is the staff - the service was A-class. Everyone was so engaging and pleasant. The room was like having a cottage on the beach. Our home away from home!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a little put off at first as the hotel is about an hour from the airport. But, the roads are smooth and having visited Jamaica years ago, one hour versus 5 hours drive is a great improvement.
The FDR was chosen after reading all the reviews from other families and years ago meeting
Ms. Jamaica in 2008 at a travel show in NYC who said it was an excellent place where she stayed as a child and had good memories. Sure the place is small but the rooms are clean, fridge has the things kids love, coffee maker and coffee, all day grill and snack bar for kids, friendly, funny staff, clean pools, good food,quiet rooms. It was nice to be able to see my sons play with other children and nannies while my husband and I lounged, napped, ate and read while celebrating our 15 wedding anniversary. Dinner shows were nice. Goat racing on the beach was great for the kids. Crab hunting, glass bottom boat with a local historian was great. Think his name was Dennis. Overall we loved the place, the people, the food and all the activities planned for adults and kids.
We have already decided to return again next year same time and we have been telling other families about the wonderful FDR. We are also trying to get a family reunion to go to the FDR.
For those who have complaints you might not have noticed that the owner was on the premises almost everyday and he is very approachable. We met other families who have been vacationing here for 2 generations with the same Nannie, Amazing!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms might be a little noisy but beachfront room was fantastic. The small balcony was such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This "resort" is fine but by no means great. Nothing's necessarily open when signs on the door say it will be. Ask a question and you'll get five different answers. We had some very friendly and helpful staff members and some who were downright either rude or completely oblivious.

Lack of consistent hot water despite very (VERY) low attendance (about 50 ppl staying there at the time we were there). Food service was slow and inconsistent. Furnishings leave a lot to be desired. Our air conditioner broke and streamed out water at 10pm before our last night's sleep, which made the heat tolerable at best. Nannies will watch your kids play and do activities, but don't participate. Basically get them started and then gather to talk amongst themselves, unless kids are in the pool, then they'll stand there and watch them swim. Also, my new sunglasses were stolen from a poolside chair while I was swimming.

Fine but not great, and nowhere near as good as they claim to be. We won't go back there, but we may go back to the island.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the noisy outdoor activity areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trishawana, Director of Sales at Franklyn D Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We appreciate your feedback following your recent stay with us at FDR. The pools are very popular during the summer and the nannies are most times required by the parents to attend to the kids to ensure their safety while swimming, to apply sun-screen and prevent them from getting burnt and also provide beverages for the kids so they don’t get dehydrated. We pride ourselves on our energetic nannies who engage in daily activities with the kids from arts & crafts, tie-dying , shell collecting, Corn Tossing, to mixology, cooking classes, building sand castles on beach, feeding the kids at meal times and also ensuring the kids get some well deserved rest at their nap times.

It is regrettable that you did not bring your concerns to us during your stay as we would have rectified the issues immediately.

We deeply regret that we didn’t meet your satisfaction and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments will definitely be useful in improving our services here at FDR.

We will endeavor to do better so that we can be worthy of your future support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Back again after our last year's stay here, we loved our stay even better than before. Arriving felt like coming back home to family.

There were the same ingredients as last year: a fairly small resort where you don't need to walk far to all facilities (or find out where your kids are), staff that knows service, our nanny Carmelina that our 6 and 4 year old children immediately took a liking to and we felt comfortable leaving them with, and big and immaculate clean rooms, with separate rooms for parents and children.

Better this year was definitely the food. Last year most of the food was just OK-ish (except for the beach and Jamaican buffets which were good), but his year the food was delicious all around. And we saw and talked to more returning families, some of them returning for the 4th time!

The BIG difference of this resort in comparison with others is of course the nanny. Our nanny Carmelina made sure our children were always well cared for and having fun. She also made it possible for us as parents to do excursions on our own (like Mystic Mountain), and she even accompanied us to Dunns River Falls so we could climb the falls while the children had fun on the beach with her. She also got out of the way when we wanted to spend time with our kids. So this place is relaxing and fun for children AND parents, and this is the place where you can have plenty of couple-time.

What more can I say? The children activities are great (the weekly goat race is a hoot), the swimming pool and slides are great, the small beach cove is perfect for small children and the beach next door at the Jewel resort is perfect for adults and bigger children (you can use the beach there but not the facilities like beach chairs, but bringing your own towel and lying down there is fine). The rest of the staff like servers and life guards are all very kid-friendly, and one of the life guards took our children out on a kayak trip on the sea which was a highlight for them.

There is nightly entertainment where the children do a lot of fun performances (mister and miss election, crazy dress up party) and (G-rated) adult entertainment. The resort is also ideally located for excursions, as there is a lot to do within 1 hour drive (and Ocho Rios only 15 minutes away). We think that Jamaica is best enjoyed with a rental car (that is what we did), but the front desk has plenty of excursion options you can book if you don't want to "brave" the Jamaican roads.

You might think that everything in the resort is about the children, but the adults are not forgotten. There is also entertainment staff on hand for adults with plenty of adult activities as bike tours, trivia quizzes, bingo, karaoke, and a good bar at the pool. Like I said, you will have plenty of couple time here as well.

The resort might look dated in pictures (probably has to do with the hacienda style) but everything is in perfect working order. And if things go wrong the staff will do everything to make it right. Our first room assigned to us when we arrived had a shower that flooded the bedroom. We immediately got a different room and staff helped us move our luggage as we already unpacked. And the broken air conditioning in the new room was fixed in 30 minutes.

The bottom line is that thanks to the wonderful staff at the FDR resort, and especially thanks to the nanny, this is really THE best place for family vacations for children who you are not comfortable with that they venture out in a resort on their own. Our daughter was crying when we left, she didn't want to go.

Their tag line says it all: the ultimate family experience! Go check it out! We will definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first stay at the Franklyn D Resort and we now understand why the resort has so many loyal, repeat customers. The concept of providing nannies to the guests is brilliant and we were extremely happy with our nanny, Lisa. She helped out with out 5-month old, giving us the opportunity to enjoy some R&R and have a true vacation. We would definitely go back!
The nannies and staff really made this vacation a great experience. We also liked the large rooms and had a 2-bedroom beachfront room that was great because we have two small children. While the resort is not brand new, it is relatively small and intimate. That was nice because you never have to travel too far to meals or if you need something from your room. The food was good, especially the Jamaican fare. Our son also loved the water slides, the kids club and the pools.
We went during the slow season, which was nice because nothing was very crowded. While there were scheduled daily activities, we found that the boat captain was willing to take us out fishing or snorkeling any time we wanted. The restaurants were on a rotating schedule, but that was fine.
FDR is definitely a resort for families with children, not singles or couples looking for romance. Small children are a lot of work 24x7 even on vacation, but having a full-time vacation nanny means parents can have a true vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2-bedroom beachfront (room 37), which was spacious and clean. We didn't look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franklyn D Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Address: Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklyn D Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique all-inclusive family Resort where each family is assigned a dedicated Vacation Nanny to care for the kids from check-in to check-out. One upfront price includes accommodations are in large 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with iPOD Docking Stations and DVD Players, Continental, Italian and Jamaican cuisine from a choice of 4 restaurants, top shelf bar, kayaking, snorkelling, tennis, 3 pools, 100' waterslide, separate kids, pre-teens and teens programs with supervised daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Franklyn D Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklyn d Resort And Spa
Franklyn d Hotel Runaway Bay
Franklyn d Resort All Inclusive
Franklyn D Resort & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklyn D Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.