We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Destination in Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Franklyn D Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Destination in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Our family just returned from our second trip to FDR and, once again were not disappointed! This time we stayed in a two-level two bedroom suite which was so spacious and very clean. It was more like a town home with an ocean view terrace! Upon our very late arrival, 11:00pm, we were absolutely touch to be greeted at the front desk by a chef who escorted us to our suite with a platter of that nights delicious dinner to enjoy in the privacy of our own dining room. I can't say enough about the warm and friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant, enjoyable experience. Our children adored their nanny Lorraine who kept them very busy on the resort and anticipated our family's needs. She even accompanied our family off the resort to Dolphin Cove and for a meal at a local restaurant. We will definitely request Lorraine again and recommend her to our friends!

See you again next year FDR!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    160
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
370
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived at FDR 4 days after Hurricane Sandy. Very happy when staff said the island needed tourist and wanted us to come. Impressed by their resilience. Only three families there during most of our week stay but still had a full complement of staff and services including a phenomenal nanny. Ended up having to order food off their a la carte menus instead of their buffets which was great. Lots of damage to the resort was being repaired including the a la carte restaurant, water front walkways, and the Jacuzzi which took a major hit. Major structures repaired over the week and the resort remained pretty much fully functional with the exception of the Jacuzzi. Went on great bike rides into the local community, snorkeled, and still had goat races for the children and major pool time. The Halloween Treat or Treat room crawl was supper fun and a great way to spend Halloween. Can not express how grateful we were that FDR remained open and took such care to keep my family happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at FDR. We had a bit of an odd experience, since we went in the off season and there were only ever 3 other rooms occupied during our whole stay.
We pretty much had the whole resorts to ourselves, which we enjoyed. It was very relaxing.
It was our first vacation away with our baby, who is just over 9 months old. Our vacation nanny, Loraine was incredible. She sensed that we were hesitant separating from our baby and took things very slowly. By the end of the trip our baby would even want to go to her. It was the first time in 9 months we were able to spend some nice relaxing time together.
The rest of the staff were also great. Even though there was very few of us they still offered activities and made us feel at home.
We knew what to expect thanks to TripAdvisor. The resort definitely is due for some updates. We were upgraded to a suite due to the low occupancy. The room was very spacious, but the bathrooms could use some work. The grounds themselves also need to be updated, and there were lots of safety red flags.
The food was okay, everything was pretty much served a la carte due to occupancy. The food at the Overproof was the best out of everything. We really liked that we could special order food/beer/drinks for our room. Our baby is an early riser so we were able to feed her in the room before breakfast.
We would definitely go back, but probably in November when it's a little busier. As much as we enjoyed the quiet time, we think it would have been more fun for our baby if there were other children around.

One last thing that I really regret not mentioning to staff when I was there that bothered me was that there was a pond with fish that was stagnant and the fish were obviously struggling with the conditions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Excellent - we had the place to ourselves!!! Chatted with Frank daily. Relaxed from the first second to the last of our 2nd visit to FDR in one year :-)
Thanks to Kyle our 4 yr old knows how to snorkel. Perry, Kyle and Kevin turned into 'babies' and wonderful playmates for my girls. Jamaician Scuba Divers Ltd. have a very fair priced serious dive set-up right on the ressort. Comey, Michele, Sabrina, Latoya, Marcy and Claudia were fun, helpful and always up to something. Rick, Andre, Oshane along with the Chef were great at dinners. Room #2 was perfect with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room, dining room, kitchen, and 3 porches all on the ground floor overlooking one of the lagoons. The only thing I would change is the volume of music when kids were around, both my girls complained it was too loud.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Scuba diving, snorkeling, kids playing in the pool and shores, eating, drinking, sleeping and relaxing - even with a 2 and 4 year old - simply great. However, over Easter it is quite busy....the bazaar 'fight' of 'territory marking' of pool lounge chairs starting at 06:00 made me avoid the pool. Also getting a drink at the main bar took too long. Comey, Sabrina, Kyle, Perry, Rick, Oshane, Claudia, and more added a pleasant Jamaician charm. Thanks, we'll be back!!! And we have recommended FDR to all of our friends with families!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I brought my girls(13 & 10) here for the first time in Aug 2012. We all had the most amazing week. Upon arrival I was not super impressed by the resort itself. It definitely could use a few updates. It is not a fancy brand new chain resort... however, the resort is super clean. My room was spotless everyday and we never had a problem with the pool. What makes this resort unique is the staff. By the end of the week everybody was treating us like family. The lifeguards, program directors and wait staff all knew our names. Everyday there are various activities all throughout the day for the kids and for families to do together. I personally loved the trivia games and playing Bingo. The kids were able to meet other friends and enjoy themselves away from me in a safe environment. I felt like we were all at camp. I would not recommend this resort if you are looking for a stuffy cold all inclusive 5 star resort. But if you are looking for a great place to take your family and have everybody enjoy themselves...this is the place to go. Oh and the food was great too! The only thing I would change is to make our stay longer!

Room Tip: A room away from the pool would be quietist. Def get a massage on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This resort is under construction in off season- to be expected. There are restaurant closures due to limited guests and this happens on every resort. So be warned that if you go during off season this is what will happen. But that will happen anywhere.
This was my first trip to FDR, and I would say that I enjoyed it in most part because of the great attentive staff, and nanny. Not just the nanny is caring for your child. As you eat at the beach buffet the other staff will absolutely watch/try to occupy your children and keep them from causing havoc. The suite was decent, clean, and well appointed. Nothing fancy but plenty of room for a family. The resort itself and the common areas are a bit run down. The deck needs redoing as the wood is a bit thin causing it to bend and the nails are rusty. But if your nanny was great, and ours was (Calima was awesome, my son bonded with her and wanted to call her on the toy phone when he came back) you have nothing to fear. You can take your nanny with you on excursions if you wish or rest assured the full menu of kiddie activities will be experienced by your child starting with feeding the bunnies in the morning :) . The beach next door at breezes was heavenly and the beach at FDR was shallow and appropriate for children. The food was decent and I didn't feel the need to stuff myself silly. No complaints. Coffee was insanely good. If your expectations are to have a relaxing time at a simple resort with excellent staff WITHOUT having to keep 1 eyeball on your children at all times (moms know what I am talking about) this is the place to go. The nannies have been working here for years. They are not transient staff. This is important to me. If you want 5 star luxury and buffet stampedes every day, never to venture out of your resort, go somewhere else this is not the place for you. Keep in mind if you are at a 5 star hotel with small children you will not enjoy it to the fullest anyway. As well thee 5 star hotel version of 'nanny' care is finding someone from the front desk to watch your child at an additional (high) cost that changes every time you ask (ex, at the RIU) . Been there done that. If I had to do it over again on off season I would still stay at the FDR but go on more excursions :) Maybe a day pass on another resort for some variety. We needed to be there at least 3 more days for full relaxation. A week was not enough!

Room Tip: Room 2A is right next to the breezes beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Franklyn D Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Address: Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklyn D Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique all-inclusive family Resort where each family is assigned a dedicated Vacation Nanny to care for the kids from check-in to check-out. One upfront price includes accommodations are in large 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with iPOD Docking Stations and DVD Players, Continental, Italian and Jamaican cuisine from a choice of 4 restaurants, top shelf bar, kayaking, snorkelling, tennis, 3 pools, 100' waterslide, separate kids, pre-teens and teens programs with supervised daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Franklyn D Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklyn d Resort And Spa
Franklyn d Hotel Runaway Bay
Franklyn d Resort All Inclusive
Franklyn D Resort & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklyn D Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;