We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The British Bulldog

The British Bulldog
Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Runaway Bay
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum had been a bit nervous about exploring the local area but we really needn't have been. Runaway bay is safe enough.
We wandered over to the Bulldog on our second expedition out of the resort. We met the lovely Trevor and Gail who are the friendly, very relaxed owners of the British Bulldog. We enjoyed beers at a mere 2$ a bottle and the company of the locals as well as Gail and Trevor. It was great. I'd also recommend taking their advice about tours and eating out at the local restaurants nearby. On site is the amazing Dr Green's kitchen. He does the most amazing Jerk chicken. Lovely a quarter piece is just 4$. So nice as they can't make jerk chicken like that in the resorts. Dr green is lovely too. If staying in the nearby Decameron, do give it a try.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
east london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great relaxed local night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great local pub where the locals mingle with the tourist that visit, the Saturday night Karaoke is great fun and the atmosphere is fantastic the music is very loud, but once you've had a few red stripes and the pub fills up a bit it's great. The locals who go here and the owners make you feel very welcome and encourage you to join in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The British Bulldog was incredible! It had such a local vibe! Prices were very cheap for both drink and food! The local staff were so friendly and made such an effort to make us feel welcome and to chat to us! Even the locals who visited were happy to chat away! It has such a good reputation amongst tourists and locals. It is easy to get to by taxi and the taxi fair is cheap (esp. if you use a local taxi on the way back and not your hotel provided taxi service!). We can't wait to go back !!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Visited on a Saturday evening for the karaoke night, good music with some not so good singers, really good mix of locals and tourists, and a cheap night out, more tourist should visit more of the local bars and escape the all inclusive environment if only for 1 night.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a great pub this is. Gail and Trev the owner will make you feel very welcome and it's all about fun! On Monday's you can join them in a pub crawl at midday and on Saturday night's at the Karaoke. Give it a try, you'll have a great time!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The British Bulldog also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to The British Bulldog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The British Bulldog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.