We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, but a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Grotto Caves

Green Grotto Caves
Runaway Bay, Jamaica
876-973-2841/ 3217
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Green Grotto Caves like an insider
Special Offer
$60*
and up
Ocho Rios Super Saver: Green Grotto Caves plus...
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting, but a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The caves were cool and the history surrounding them is interesting. The tour was a little slow and dry, but it was a decent thing to see. It believe it was around $20 for the tour, a little steep for the tour.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    107
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but spendy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

It was a cool tour, we had a great guide. The price was a little high though.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Visited Green Grotto Caves with our two girls ages 5 and 7. It was an easy hike full of history and beautiful scenery. Our tour guide, Dwayne was hysterical and had our kids enthralled the entire time. It was one of our favorite stops of our whole trip!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We ended up at Green Grotto Caves because it was partnered with Dunns River Falls on a cruise excursion. I wasn't all that excited for it until I got there. What a pleasant surprise! We had fun exploring the caves. Our guide was hilarious. Very informative and fun. We were served some yummy rum punch after the tour.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good tour with very good guides !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We toured both these caves. It was very informative and a professional tour.
I would reccomend it. ( $20 each for about an hour tour) Mornings are best as they are slow then.
We walked from the Grand Bahia, but it was quite a hike down the highway.(2 miles?)
Had lunch and a refreshment across the street at the Ultimate Jerk Centre. It was very reasonable ($3 beer, $5 meal ) and is said to be the best Jerk Chicken in the area. I highly reccomend it!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Grotto Caves also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Green Grotto Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Grotto Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.