We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for anyone who values sleep at night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ivanhoe's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivanhoe's Guest House
Save
You added Ivanhoe's Guest House to your Saves list
9 Queen Street | Titchfield Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not for anyone who values sleep at night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a horrible weekend at Ivanoehose's in Port Antonio. Most was not the part of the management, but potential guests need to be warned.

If you read nothing else of the review, note, that whole guesthouse is exposed to the harbor, so the party and bar music from Port Antonio will keep you up all night. This is no exaggeration. The music is no gentle murmur that can be overpowered with an air conditioner. It is throbbing base pierced with shrieking dancehall gibberish that will go to to 4 am. The party may as well be on the floor below it is so loud.

Anyway, the day before check-in, we agreed on the price over phone. At check-in, the manager attempted to raise the price a shocking us$20/night, forcing me to haggle down to a price $5 over what we agreed on. Great start.

The room was clean with a pretty harbor view. The air con worked fine. The bed was firm and nicely made with clean sheets. The TV and cable did not and management didn't seem to care. A lone cockroach lived in the bathroom.

The room locks didn't work properly, which was a little startling giving the frequency of attacks on tourists throughout Jamaica.

Adding to our unease, that was on odd group of older German men on the floor below with young trashy local women. Perhaps it was true love. Doubtful, though. Creepy.

At night, however, we didn't notice the Germans' shenanigans, if there were any, because of the above mention noise which made sleep impossible.

We were disturbed, however, by the manager's frequent trips to our room, to bug us. Not to apologize for the noise, or broken TV, or to offer us snacks, drinks etc for sale, but to check on the air conditioner, check on the light, decide 8 pm was the time to do some room maintenance, etc. Very odd.

Finally, it would be remiss to mention that the roads surrounding the guesthouse and being ripped up and in state of disarray. Adding to the potholes are deep trenches. There is poor lighting everywhere and it could be fatal to drive or step in one at night. The street lights, of course, barely function.

Anyone with any sense, will avoid Ivanhoe's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ivanhoe is my idea of what a guest house should be like. The owner and staff were welcoming and happy to attend to any requests. I asked for ice and got a big ice bucket which kept me going into the night. The breakfasts were hot and delicious and the wait was only around half an hour and cost J$600. The bedroom was all white and clean and airy with a large window from which you could get a good sea view. The shared patio was quite large and well equipped with tables and chairs. The wi-fi doesnt work in the rooms which was my only gripe, although it works fine on the patio. There is usually a lovely grey and white cat lurking in reception waiting to be petted although he apparently does not live there.

Titchfield Hill itself is a breathtaking olde worlde location. You walk around the streets half expecting Mr Darcy to appear from one of the houses with Elizabeth Bennett in tow. The locals are very friendly and everyone says hello. Don't just take the taxis everywhere as it is only about 10 mins walk to town. It is better to take different walking routes to town and check the different views. You should also stroll down to Titchfield High School and fort on the coast (5 mins walk) and experience the views that these lucky kids get every day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very satisifed with everything. The location is in a peaceful, quiet part of town. We had no issues going to and from the hotel at any time during the day and night. The rooms were really good value and very clean. Breakfast is not included, but is cheap and tasty. The owners were nice and helpful and arranged a rafting trip in rio grande with the guide Albert, which I can definitely recommend. He had great knowledge of the river and treated us truly great.

Only thing to mention was the wifi didn't work very well in our room, so it doesn't really cover the entire hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our stay was very nice. It is a good value for the price. You can find cheaper places in the area or at least with breakfast included, but we really liked this place. Cleaning service every day, nice view, room was big enough and clean.

The location was also good. Staff was nice. Maybe in the mronign a little slow with breakfast.

We would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We wound up at Ivanhoe's Guest House after first trying out Hotel Timbamboo in Port Antonio. Both Ivanhoe's and Hotel Timbamboo are recommended in Lonely Planet, but the latter turned out not to be to our liking (too modern/no charm and terrible service with the complimentary breakfast).

By contrast, Ivanhoe's Guest House had a lot more character and better views (we had a corner room on the top floor). The owner, Lorna Burke, was friendly and always chatted with us for a bit at breakfast. Although the breakfast at Ivanhoe's costs extra, it was quite good. We had the saltfish and ackee each morning.

The only downsides were some plumbing issues. Occasionally there was no running water and the toilet didn't flush.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Great value. Not expensive. Very clean. Nice rooms with nice view. Staff friendly. Peaceful place. Breakfast good (not included though). Not a fancy place but comfortable and great for being a guesthouse
Worth a stay. Free wi fi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I came here in January during low season when just about all the rooms were open. Yet we were given the worst room in the hotel, on the bottom level, below the staircase. The room was small and damp, smelled moldy, and the furniture was dusty and old. The mattress was thin and uneven, it was difficult to get good rest on it.

While the staff were friendly and made us tasty breakfast everymorning (though it takes them a long time to make food, but that was true everywhere else in Jamaica too), the owner was very arrogant and rude to us. She was not helpful at all in answer our questions or helping us to plan things to do. It said that there was a computer with internet we could us, since there was no wifi at the place, it turned out to be a very very old computer (pre 2000's) that barely worked. And was the owner's personal computer, which of course she didn't want us to use. Also I was yelled at for trying to pour a glass of water from the kitchen. She seemed distrustful and annoyed at us the entire time.

There's a disproportional amount of hotels and guesthouses available here, left over from the area's tourism heydays. Basically you have choices and shouldn't put up with this kind of treatment.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors which has better views. Expect to wait awhile to get your food orders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivanhoe's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe's Guest House

Address: 9 Queen Street | Titchfield Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast or dinner on a breezy terrace with views of the East Harbor, the garden and the sea...All rooms with private bath, hot water; some rooms with cable TV.A five minute walk brings you to the town center with its cambios and ATMs, craft market, shops and restaurants and the Marina Beach...This is Ivanhoe, historic Titchfield Hill’s oldest family run guest house. Let Mrs. Burke and her fine staff treat you to a real Jamaican family holiday.“Come for the price...stay for the experience.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe`s Guest House Hotel Port Antonio
Ivanhoe's Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivanhoe's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.