We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Which Roads lead to Zion Country?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Country Beach Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Zion Country Beach Cabins to your Saves list
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Muirton Pen P.A. | Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Which Roads lead to Zion Country?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We wanted to stay off the beaten track and stay near Port Antonio. We chose this place because of Reviews. I believe that everyone needs to make their own decisions. Stay there because of the location, not necessarily for the management. We met some great other travellers. The Locals were accepting of visitors.This place is very eco-conscious. Negotiate all terms, prices and conditions beforehand. Owen is a great cook when you get the opportunity to enjoy his food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
60
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The most lovely place around Port Antonio.
Amazing atmosphere and the best beaches (Long Bay, Winnifred Beach, Boston Beach) and the best falls (Reach Falls) are in a short distance to access.
A amazing cool crew and management makes the stay a real pleasure.
Bless up Ray

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althütte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First of all we must say a big thank you to Free-I, Owen and Tamar. They made this special place in Jamaica so unique. If you ever have the possibility to be in Jamaica - stay there at Zion Country. We stood with our twins (4 years old) for nearly 3 weeks. And we all had the best holidays of our life. It was so easy going at ZC, especially with our children. This place is just like paradise. Free-I, the owner is such a nice guy and a very kind and helpful hand. He knows Jamaica and the places, where you should be. And we never will forget our discussions after dinner. The same with these 2 lovely people: Owen and Tamar. Owen, our amiable, jamaican friend and cook, didn't prepared not only so typical jamaican food for dinner, he grilled also for us fresh lobster direct from the carribean sea. Excellent! And the female soul is Tamar. She is such a friendly person. Our kids loved her (and we too). They talk still about Jamaica and Tamar. Next time, they will have more dreadlocks. And they will see the 3 lovely dogs and the small cat from Free-I again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Zion Country for 12 days and really loved our stay. The cabins are basic but good, the garden is beautiful (and full of humming birds) and so is the view overlooking the bay. The optional evening meals are really good. The evenings were spent chatting with Free-I, Owen and the other guests, enjoying a red stripe or rum-and-coke. All-in-all a very relaxing place to stay.
Besides that, Portland is astonishingly beautiful, both the beaches and the mountains, and the fact that there's no mass tourism there, gives you the chance to experience the real Jamaica. We will definitely be returning to Jamaica in the near future and will spend at least a few days at Zion Country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Zion Country for three nights in December 2012. It was our first time travelling that far to the East coast while staying in Jamaica - and it's worth for sure! Far away from the all- inclusive hotels and tourist center you will enjoy the quite and harmonical atmosphere nestled from beautiful countryside at Zion Country. The converse at Zion Country is really familiar; you enjoy the friendly conversation with the Zion Country Team and other guests, while having breakfast or the delicious dinner served by chef Owen. Besides the uniqueness of Zion Country,Long Road and it's people are as well. Everybody is really friendly and we can just recommend to visit the night club of Long Road, having a Red Stripe and just relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 night Christmas 2012 just loved it. The cabins were so nice over looking the bay. Peaceful quiet relaxing, no one bothers you. The owner Free I really a nice person. If you are into nature this is the place to be. Words cannot even explain, you have to go and see for your self. The locals were very nice to us. We also visit Boston Bay Beach really nice right next to great huts. I miss it` a lot. If you are looking for a 5 star with fancy things then this is not the place for you, but this was my 5 star simple!!!:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice place, very nice manager (Owen),good food, beautifull views, nice trip towards the hidden waterfalls, nice people in the small town. Situated in a small and quiet town (but with GoGo bar ;-)) in a small bay with a view on heaven.
Heaven on earth.
Hans Heyvaert - JOKER Tour leader

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zion Country Beach Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Country Beach Cabins

Address: Muirton Pen P.A. | Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion Country is a cozy bed and breakfast in the east of Jamaica.Perfect place to relax, laid back style, personal touch and the place to taste the jamaican life style.Very often we get visit from manatees , year round.We offer a lot of trips in the surrounded area from waterfalls to beaches and Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zion Country Beach Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Country Beach Cabins Hotel Port Antonio
Zion Country Beach Cabins Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Country Beach Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.