We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zion Country Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Country Beach Cabins

Save Saved
You added Zion Country Beach Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Muirton Pen P.A. | Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zion Country Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at Zion Country and had a wonderful and very relaxed stay. The beach cabins have direct access to the beach and the area is really beautiful. Free-I and his team made our stay with heplful hints, delicious breakfast and dinner familial and relaxed. We can recommend Zion Country to everybody that wants to have peaceful and pleasant vacation far away from mass tourism.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    32
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
58
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Zion Country for 2 nights in the 3rd week of April, 2012. It was our first stop on a drive around the island after renting a car at the end of a week in Kingston. We were extremely happy to be able to sit back on the balcony outside our room and take in a very beautiful view of a bay.

I think Free-I has done a great service seeing the potential for beach cabins on this hillside and realizing his vision in the manner he has. Like the other positive reviewers here have explained in detail, I too appreciated the opportunity to be comfortable in a quiet part of Jamaica away from tourist places, and explore the area.

As Free-I recommends, before booking here you should read up on it, at their website and in these reviews, because it might not be the place for everyone. You are right on the hillside, surrounded by lush nature, so don't be surprised if at night the crickets and frogs may be very loud. If you are OK with that as well as with steep stairways and (clean) modest cabins, Zion Country is a very special place. A tip: if you hope to be fed upon arrival, do arrange with them ahead of time so they can be prepared for that.

We highly recommend Zion Country and are hoping to be able to stay there a for a full week when we next return to Jamaica.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

During our week in Jamaica we stayed at the Rockhouse, Ivanhoe's Guesthouse, Zion Country, and Jah-B's Guesthouse. All had their advantages, but staying with Free-I and Owen at Zion Country was definitely the best for putting us in touch with Jamaican people and culture.

We stayed over the weekend so we missed Owen's famous Ital cuisine (weekend off), but we spent our first evening enjoying beers, chicken, and conch soup with him, Free-I, other guests, and locals at the local bar/shack just up the street.

The next day Free-I served us a lovely little breakfast, hooked us up with a friendly guide at Reich Falls, directed us to a local beach, and pointed us to the best Jerk shack in Boston Bay. That night we drove with Owen to a small dance hall and enjoyed homemade goat stew.

Our final morning, we snorkled out into the bay then planned our drive to Blue Mountain with great advice from Free-I who drives across the island regularly.

The cabins are very basic, the toilets and showers are in separate buildings, the songs of the tree frogs were lovely but loud, and you get to know your neighbors, and we absolutely loved our brief stay at Zion Country and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: more steps down the hill = more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent 4 days in zion country, and we definitely recommend this place.the cabin are cosy et the view from the hamac chilling out during the day or the night is amazing.zion country staff free i, owen, and tamara are very friendly.starting the day sharing breakfeast whith the owner, and he will give you some tips to enjoy your trip.the food is very good and the bar is full.if you stay there you have to meet the jamaican neighborhood, play dominos with the grandpas.i recommend for a great ecotourism experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We travelled to Jamaica in July - we had four "stops" there, our first was at Zion Country in Portland (East of the island). Zion Country Beach Cabins are small houses in the middle of a beautiful jungle-garden, at night you can only hear the noises of the jungle.
The rooms are simple but have everything you need...(except hot water, but people would know that if they read a little bit about the island in advance) - of course, if you want a suite with bathtub and hot water, you should go to one of the expensive resorts...but there you would miss the real Jamaica...and, for sure, you can have that at Zion Country.
Free-I has a great team there, Owen and Tamara, they prepare great food and are really wonderful people...you feel at home immediately. The breakfast in the middle of the garden with view to the ocean is unique and a highlight every day (even if the breakfast is simple too...usually some bread, cheese, jam, coffee and fresh fruits). The area, where Zion Country is located, is (for us) one of the most beautiful areas on the whole island...it seems very peaceful and authentic. People are very friendly and everyone knows Free-I.
From Zion Country you can do great day-trips to the Reach Falls, Winnifred Beach, Frenchman´s Cove and many other beaches (we always went by route-taxis...the Jamaican style of public transportation...you have to get used to the way they drive and that there are 25 instead of 15 passengers in one car...it´s a great experience).
So, if you go to Zion Country you can expect to get to know a piece of real Jamaica...it´s for people who come to the island in order to get in touch to Jamaican people and to understand more about the Jamaican way of life.
Free-I, Owen and Tamara are really nice people and they can help you with anything you need while your stay there...Free-I and Owen also always know about the good parties going on around.
We loved that place and we know, on our next trip to Jamaica, we will plan at least a few days at Zion Country! - It is the perfect place for relaxing...but you can also have action, if you want...
We wish the team of Zion Country all the best and hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: There are, on the one hand, the beach cabins, which are small huts with view to the ocean, bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Included breakfast - 2 pieces of bread with thin piece of cheese and two pieces of cucumber with an additional piece of toast - coffee

Note - The place was dirty - even the upgraded unit with bathroom - No Hot Water - No electrical outlets - No radio - Unit was close to road where all things could be easily heard from outside and people on the road could hear everything and anything from the unit with a private bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericus, Owner at Zion Country Beach Cabins, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We at Zion Country are sad when we read and receive these type of reviews from one of our costumers.
The person what wrote the review told me by arriving in Zion Country that she only made a reservation in Zion Country because of the manatees..
She visit the web page but never read it before making a reservation, she only want to come for the manatees what are not there every day. We can't guarantee that they are there, this is nature.
She find out in Zion Country that we have no hot water, what is mentioned on our web page.
The room were she stayed had electric outlets and was clean like the whole property.
There is also no were mentioned that we supply radio on the rooms
It's sad to read this review and hope that future costumers read the web page properly before making reservations, bookings or payments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for our last weekend away during our year long stay in Jamaica. One of the main reasons for staying here is that Manatees are often seen in the bay which is overlooked by the cabins. We did see one which was the first time we'd seen one in the wild. Very cool. The cabins are basic but comfortable and offer a view over the bay. They are accessed by some very steep steps down from the main house, breakfast area and toilets so that may be a problem for some. The showers are in a separate block near the cabins and offer more great views over the bay. It's a really refreshing experience to be able to look over the bay as you shower. The walls of the shower cubicles only come up to about shoulder height so you can converse with your other half if they're showering in the next cubicle. If you want to do some local sightseeing and trips then have a word with the owner Free-I and he'll provide you with some contacts he has. Worth it to get the non mass tourism view of some of the local sights. I'd recommend staying here and would go again. Just don't expect it to be luxurious. It is an eco resort after all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zion Country Beach Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Country Beach Cabins

Address: Muirton Pen P.A. | Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion Country is a cozy bed and breakfast in the east of Jamaica.Perfect place to relax, laid back style, personal touch and the place to taste the jamaican life style.Very often we get visit from manatees , year round.We offer a lot of trips in the surrounded area from waterfalls to beaches and Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Zion Country Beach Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Country Beach Cabins Hotel Port Antonio
Zion Country Beach Cabins Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Country Beach Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.