We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view with gracious hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon San Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moon San Villa to your Saves list
Moon San Villa
Blue Lagoon Rd., Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Boat/Bike Tour/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Savage, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view with gracious hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Staying at the Moon San Villa was a highlight in our trip to Port Antonio area. We were traveling with our 2yr old and stayed in the upstairs master bedroom which had a little attached room for him to sleep in - so much nicer than sharing a bed like we had been earlier in the trip! The view from the room and top balcony was stunning with the ocean below and bougainvillea around the window attracting birds. Donna cooked us delicious breakfasts in the morning and Marley took us out on the boat and showed us the sites around the area; they were both more than attentive and went above and beyond any guest house staff I've ever met before. The only challenge was that the place is a ways out of town so you have to take a car to get to dinner but we were always able to catch a route taxi no problem.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    26
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Moon San Villa is a very affrodable option in Port Antonio. The villa itself is modest but very clean and has wonderful views of the water. It's proximity to the Blue Lagoon makes it amazing, having Marley as a host makes it outstanding. To provide an example of the type of host Marley is, within 5 minutes of walking into the villa for the first time and remarking that something in the kitchen smelled amazing, Marley had given me his lunch so I could have a taste (yes, I stole Marley's lunch). I could not recommend this place more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We drove ourselves from Montego Bay to Port Antonio and although the road was rather narrow and winding in parts it was worth every km to to get to Moon San Villa.This little villa faces the ocean, is surrounded by rain forest and is a 2 minute walk to the magnificent Blue Lagoon.I am a bird watcher and there were hummingbirds everywhere and lots of little forest birds right there.The staff are wonderful-Marley takes you out on the boat for free and any tours can be booked with him. Donna is a great cook and breakfast is included in the tariff. Greg the owner is awesome.The famous Fishermans Cove beach is a short distance away.If one is coming to Jamaica this hidden gem is not to be missed-off the beaten track and quiet !

Room Tip: We had a sea-facing room with a balcony-superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Angela greeted us first and she was nice then Marley greeted us and he made sure we were comforted. The breakfast was amazing and Greg is great also. Great huts is ok to go and relax during the nights I didn't eat there we hit the Boston jerk center that was off the chain the lobster is great go to the first jerk pan. I give french man cove zero the service not too good and the food sucks. The beach on the other hand is nice but ruff waters. The high point of the trip was taking the boat ride to San San beach and going to Monkey island. Thank you Marley and Angela and Greg for a great time. The bathrooms were some if you are big you might need a bigger bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had the best weekend at Moon San Villa. First I arrived at the airport and was greeted by Marley, who turned out to be my knight in shining armor. He was very patient while we had to wait a couple of hours for my luggage to arrive. I was unhappy but quickly got over it because of his optimistic attitude. I arrived at the villa, which was awesome and relaxing. If you are looking for a great time to relax and enjoy the real side of Jamaica, this is the place to start. Marley is a great tour guide and he knows his way around and if he doesn’t, he knows who to call. The view from the villa’s balcony was awesome night or day. I really loved the boat ride to San San beach where I perfected my snorkeling techniques, brushed up on my swimming thanks to Marley. I also went conch diving but did not find enough for dinner; loved San San beach. The breakfast was great; for dinner I got some jerk from one of the little restaurants and sat by the marina with a cocktail listening to karaoke. I went to reach falls and that was just beautiful. I did not get to do all that I had planned due to my short stay but this gives me a reason to go back real soon.
The staff is exceptional and they really work hard to make sure you are comfortable and to accommodate all your little desires. Waiting on a cab was no fun; so I would suggest renting a car so you can get around and do more activities; if even for a few days. When planning your trip, remember traveling takes pretty much the whole day so plan accordingly.
Thanks to Mr. Gregory, who is very nice; Marley, who makes the best ackee and salt fish breakfast; loved the curry lobster; Angela, thanks for breakfast it was great; Donna, thank you for breakfast.
Apart from my sisters wedding in March, this was one of the best times I have had in Jamaica; I’ll be back to Moon San Villa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

we stayed for a few days at Moon San. what a great place. this is not a luxury villa, but a comfortable bed and breakfast. with the nicest staff. Marley was the best. we arranged for him to pick us up at the Kingston airport. and it was like meeting an old friend. the 2 1/2 hr drive was full of fun sights and beach and mountain views. Marley kept us engaged the who ride. Donna has a lovely fish dinner waiting for us. and fed us well for breakfast and another dinner of curry chicken. everything very fresh. our room was comfortable with a big bathroom (water pressure was a bit weak). the view over to blue lagoon, wonderful.Marley took us out on the villas boat to san san beach and monkey island. so relaxing. yes i would recommend this place to anyone that wants to get a taste of the real Jamaica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I traveled all around Jamaica with my husband for 10 days and staying at The Moon San Villa was our best experience. As we arrived Marley was waiting for us and greeted us as if we were family he took us snorkeling for hours we were able to see star fish and catch our own dinner literally with a spear gun which was so much fun. He also cooked what we caught snd it was better thsn any food we had while in Jamaica. Marley made us feel as if we knew him for years and was beyond attentive. The food that was prepared was fresh and amazingly delicious. Marley also had us escorted to a restaurant called Anna Banana which was amazing as well. Upon arriving the greeted us by our name as if they were waiting for us all thanks to Marley. I cannot express how warm and authentic this place was expecially Marley and Donna. It is two minutes walking distance from the Blue Lagoon which is a very beautiful. I definitely recommend anyone to visit Moon San Villa you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon San Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon San Villa

Address: Blue Lagoon Rd., Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon San Villa has all of the charm of an older Jamaican villa that overlooks the Caribbean Sea and is 300 feet from the Blue Lagoon. This villa offers daily COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST FOR 2, FREE USE OF BOAT WITH CAPTAIN for snorkeling and sightseeing to San San Beach, Monkey Island and Blue Lagoon. (If you stay 3 days or longer), you also receive COMPLIMENTARY PASSES TO THE BLUE MOUNTAIN BICYCLE TOUR, #1 tour in Portland. Moon San Villa can be rented per bedroom or take all 5 bedrooms. Moon San Villa offers the perfect blend of peace and tranquility, while enjoying the magnificent natural beauty of the Port Antonio area. Many of the special services offered are private photography tours, in-room massage, beach and mountain horseback riding and private waterfall tours. There is COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI in the whole villa. Buy your groceries or have our staff buy your groceries for you and they will COMPLIMENTARY COOK YOUR LUNCH OR DINNER.Each room has cable-TV and coffee makers with Blue Mountain Coffee. Staff includes manager/housekeeper/cook/boat with captain/tour guide/full-time security.Just 300 ft. from the villa is the entrance to the Blue Lagoon. The lagoon is both fresh and salt water, and water temperatures are warm and cold, which makes swimming a whole new experience. Entrance to the Blue Lagoon is included • On some days you might be the only couple. Three other white sand beaches nearby •Must do while at Moon San: Blue Lagoon, San San Beach, Frenchman's Cove, Blue Mountain Bicycle Tours, Reach Falls, Rafting on the Rio Grande. Our staff can schedule all of your excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moon San Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon San Villa Hotel Port Antonio
Moon San Villa Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon San Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.