We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chill!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trident Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trident Hotel to your Saves list
Trident Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anchovy, Port Antonio 7312, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Antonio
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“chill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Haven't had a vacation in two years,stumbled on the Trident on trip advisor and decided that is the place i needed to relax. All i can say is perfecto! Food, wonderful although limited. Staff which includes Floyd at the front desk, Renee in the restaurant, the drivers Kali,Nick, and Raymond were top notch. We traveled in the off season but this hotel was spot on. Our villa, # 10 was so comfortable with our own plunge pool and ocean view we didn't want to leave. The workout room was everything we needed to start the day followed by a wonderful breakfast. This property is associated with Geejam, a wonderful jungle resort where we had lunch and dinner.I will be returning to this hunk of paradise this winter. If your looking for a lot of action, don't go, if you are looking to relax, make reservations now!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
57
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband used to live in Port Antonio, Jamaica, and decided while touring the island that we should check out the recently refurbished Trident Hotel in beautiful Port Antonio, Portland, which had burnt down in 1986. We were shown round the wonderfully designed complex which consists of private villas, all with private pools, all beautifully laid out and luxuriously furnished, coupled with a lovely restaurant, its own beach, and eternity pool. During our tour we felt that we had to book at least one night there and then - it turned out to be the absolute highlight of our holiday. In fact, we enjoyed the service, the ambience, the privacy and the amenities so much that we couldn't leave without making an advance booking for a full holiday. We shall be looking forward to it until we get back there next summer - it will be a long wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Firstly I Must Say THANK YOU TO ROSIE WHO MADE THIS WEEKEND A SUCCESS. There Was a mix up with our reservation and with absolute GRACE AND AT ALL TIME BEING TOTALLY PROFFESSIONAL he made the whole thing work...THANK YOU SO MUCH. When we got to the hotel we were met at the entrance by staff and was brought to our room byy SHENNETTE WHO WAS JUST LOVELY. She answered all question AND WAS AN ABSOLUTE GRACIOUS HOST. We went for dinner at the restaurant n the property...there was a live jazz band playing...lovely... RENE was our server SHE WAS SIMPLY ADORABLE.We have stayed at other locations in Jamaica BUT THIS PLACE IS BAR NONE... The Grounds are TRULLY TRANQUILL AND STUNNING. We were given a complimentary upgrade...OUR PRIVATE VILLA OFFERED PEACE AND PRIVACY. This very eclectic location is moder and serene at the same time, The property is close to the town...Boston (where you get the best Jerk in the world) is a 15 min drive away and you are just a stone throw away from the beautiful Blue Lagoon and San San beach. .
One thing that I totally appreciated at Trident was the friendliness. Wether they are assisting you or just simply passing you by you are always greeted by a hello, a good morining and a smile...THIS WAS CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ITS BEST...LOVED IT.
My Husband and I have decided that we will be making this our anniversay "Spot" from now on...Awesome!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just finished staying at the Trident Hotel with our little daughter and can confirm that
the Trident is an amazing -stunning-and iin a Beautiful location just outside Port Antonio.

The eastern part of Jamaica is in my view the most Beautiful part of the Caribbean overlooked
by the Blue Mountains.

The Villas are spacey and modern all with a small Swimming Pool overlooking the Sea and
also the latest gadgets (ie Apple TV and sound system).

There is also a larger swimming pool at the hotel where I did my customary morning laps before having a sumptuous Jamaican breakfast-made to order.
.
If you are looking for a total chill out in luxury-Than this is the place.
There is every amenity you can imagine including a Small Beach with a lifeguard on the property- However you should head to Frenchman's Cove if you are a beach lover!

The food is freshly prepared and how many other hotels have their chefs ask the guests 'What
do you fancy for dinner tonight' during Breakfast.

A special mention to Steve (the Owner) who looked out for our Interests and all the staff and
drivers -in particular Caly who took us around including a Roadblock (dance hall) in Port Antonio one night while the hotel arranged a last minute Babysitter
.
If you do stay than definately go on the Rio Grade river trip and ask the hotel to arrange a cookout with Miss Belinda ...an experience you will never forget.

We have stayed in some top notch Boutique style hotels and the Trident is among the best
and certainly the best in Jamaica.


We shall return!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just my favorite place in Jamaica. Excellent service and stuff does everything possible to make your stay a memorable one. Private villas provide the necessary peace and privacy, but if you want entertainment - several times a week there is a very good concerts.
We have been there several times and hotel employees remember that we love and we want all the time. The villas themselves are new, everything is new and very elegant.
We definitely will come again this fall

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for one night over the weekend and was delighted to be given a complimentary upgrade upon check-in. The property has been there for years but was recently given a complete make-over by the owners...the result is an airy, relaxed, chic vibe. The villa itself was well appointed, complete with apple tv, ipod dock, a huge 2 person rain shower, outdoor bath, walk in wardrobe, etc. The bedrooms are beautiful and spacious with all white decor and minimalist design. The mini cinema is a wonderful idea and staff are happy to reserve it for you for a private movie showing. Mike's Supper Club provides a great evening's jazz in a cool space with lovely jamaican and japanese food options. The only issue that arose during our stay was the service at dinner/breakfast. The dining room was very busy the night we eat there with almost every table full and a group in having drinks also, but I felt the service could have been more timely. A few more waiters would easily have solved this issue. As I said, it's very relaxed and we were in no rush, so personally this did not present a major problem, however I could envisage this being an issue for others who do not want to take a lot of time over meals and are used to speedy service. I must add that the servers were very accommodating and had no problem facilitating specific requests.

All in all 9/10 and a super cool spot in Jamaica.

Room Tip: The villas with pools give you a little bit more privacy, should you want to have your own space dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, More og Romsdal, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent a week in Trident Castle and hotel, including a wedding on saturday and had a really good time. The staff was perfect, and especially Shevanise did a great job with planning the wedding and the whole week for us norwegians. "Perfection" is the best word to describe it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trident Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel

Address: Anchovy, Port Antonio 7312, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trident Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trident’s thirteen oceanfront villas are seductive, cloistered retreats that blend modernist design with an inspired take on 50s and 60s era décor. Residential in feel, the spacious, airy interiors flow organically between bedroom, bathroom, and living areas, while private terraces with soaking pools complete an environment of clean, conscious and luxurious living. Each villa is appointed with hand-selected furnishings and accent pieces complemented by a contemporary tropical aesthetic. An elegant simplicity and harmonized balance make the villas an ideal home-and-away habitat.Room amenities include king bed, room phone, cell phone with own dedicated number (inclusive of 20 minutes free local/international calls), mini-bar/wet bar (at a cost), 500 thread count sheets, mini fridge, 46” LED Smart TV, cable and online movie archive, iPod cradle, home theatre system, walk-in closet, bathrobe and slippers, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, full maid service including evening turndown service, safe, shower, private terrace, heated plunge pool (except Studio Villa), indoor or outdoor bathtub (except Junior Villa A), outdoor shower (1 Shiprock Villa only), swimming pool (1 main pool), air conditioning, ceiling fan and WiFi indoor and outdoor (complimentary). All rooms enjoy ocean view and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Trident Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trident Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.