We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goblin Hill Villas

Save Saved
You added Goblin Hill Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goblin Hill Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   San San Beach, Port Antonio WI, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free nights!
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Port Antonio
1 review
“Wonderful!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Quiet and beautiful! The staff is excellent, we hope to come back again. There are many places to visit around the villas. We loved the housekeepers that prepared for us delicious dishes everyday! The villas are perfect for families with children

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for this great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Goblin Hill.
We welcome everybody but we indeed do have the perfect setting for families. All we want is our guests to relax and enjoy their time here. Our housekeepers are of course an active part of that feeling.

Come back visit us soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
48
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Friendly staff, we felt very welcomed here, our children 7 & 15, loved it, if you have been in the road or other places for more than 5 days, like us, this place is the place to unwind, as parents we could sit and relax knowing that our children were around by the pool, their bedroom upstairs reading a book, or even chilling by the living room. Beautiful villa and views to die for, airy and just fresh breeze everywhere, be sure to walk all around the property, at night mosquitoes are in their element, so protect yourself ;) The bar very pretty, good music, Calvin was our bartender, nice and fun to talk to. just be ready to pay 10% tax and 10% service. Our helper was so sweet, Dorothy, so helpful, we love cooking so we did not ask her to cook for us, but we loved having her around ;) Clean, spacious, and very close to Blue Lagoon, Boston Bay and downtown-Port Antonio, we only need it our groceries! Please consider this place in your plan travels.
p.d. The only thing was the mattresses, comfortable but if you wake up at night you feel like you are sinking in the middle, it happened to 3 of us, but with every thing else being perfect we did not care!

Room Tip: We had view of the ocean and the gardens, we where almost and one corner, and made no difference to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this beautiful review! It was a real pleasure welcoming you and your family here at Goblin Hill. And we are so happy you enjoyed every bite of it.
The mosquitoes were indeed partying when you came as we had some heavy rains the previous days. We are spraying regularly (at least once a week) to control their population but unfortunately are not able to totally eradicate them. Make sure to use your nets at night and to use the mosquito coals we are freely providing.
Thank you for drawing our attention on the mattresses as we need your feedback to correct any issue our guests may have with them. We will take the appropriate steps.

Do not wait too long to come back!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend and I felt like queens when we arrived at Goblin Hill. I couldn't believe how luxurious the rooms and the property were. This hotel offers something that no others do - a personal cook and housekeeper during your stay for no additional charge. Our cook/housekeeper, Diana, made the most delicious local food I ate during the entire 10-day trip to Jamaica. I'm vegan, and she was able to prepare a lot of local dishes without the meat/fish/dairy for me. If you stay at Rafjam guest house in the Blue Mountains before arriving at Goblin Hill, you'll get a discount! Port Antonio was our favorite part of the trip. On this northeast coast of the country you have the best of all worlds: beach, waterfalls, lush forest, and mountains. Here, you can escape the tacky tourist traps of MoBay, Ochos, and Negril and enjoy the natural Jamaica that has not yet been over-developed. The Manager, Rafael, was very accommodating and even helped us fix a problem with our rental car while there. The property includes fruit trees, from which you can harvest fruit, and is just across the street from the best beach in town. If you travel to Jamaica, you have to visit Port Antonio area and stay at Goblin Hill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the ocean near the farthest edge of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Erin,

Thank you for this great review, not only about Goblin Hill but Portland, the Blue Mountains and all the real, authentic parts of Jamaica.
It was such a pleasure to welcome you here. We are happy you enjoyed all we have to offer: the beautiful grounds, the villa, the cook/housekeeper service (yes, Diana is a great cook!), the views, the tranquility and the amazing surroundings of Goblin Hill.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Jamaica (I take it that there was no more problem with the car?) and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back at your Portland home.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was with a group, on a retreat, which can be stressful with a tight schedule to follow and a bunch of strangers to live with, but all the Goblin hill staff made us feel so welcome and at home even though there were folks in our group arriving up to 9:30pm that night, well past the 4-6 registration period!.The two ladies Dianne and Desereen who cooked for us prepared delicious vegetarian meals,( though I am sure this type of cooking is not what they normally do) . I still remember that coconut cream pie! The property is in my humble opinion the most beautiful in the island, go to the lookout point and tell me if you don't agree!

Room Tip: units near the tennis court have the most amazing view of San San beach below. (units in the #23 reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for your beautiful review! It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your friends at Goblin Hill and we are happy to read that your retreat was a success.

Thank you also for allowing our housekeepers to practice their veggie skills and to give them a few tips on how to make them even better.

Yes, we are in one of the most special and unique place of the island. Words can't describe it. One needs to come here to understand.

Come visit us back soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

People typically link tourism to areas such as Montego Bay or Negril. Goblin Hill is located in an area far less touristy, but much more beautiful with its waterfalls and perfect beaches. And very few tourists. The villas are comfortable, wi-fi is working well, the view when you get up in the morning or take your meal on the terrace is breathtaking and peaceful. But as importantly, the staff is extremely attentive, whether it is the cooks/housecleaner who takes care of you all day, the management who makes sure you have everything, or the staff at the bar who enjoys telling you stories of the area. They also provide you with all the information you need to make short day trips nearby. Whether for holidays or as a stop for a few days with colleagues for a retreat, the place is terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Cher Pierre,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay among us and that the beauty and tranquility of the place allowed you to finish your report on time.

We hope you will have a chance to come back visit us, this time for a real vacation time.

A bientot!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Port Antonio is one of the most lush parishes that Jamaica has to offer, the villas there really a getaway from the hustle and bustle of the busy life that most of us have on a day to day. Goblin HIll comes with a cook/housekeeper and I've never come across any that doesn't make me lick my fingers after each meal. The place is peaceful and quiet and I love the rain that comes along with the place it makes it even much more of a getaway. You can even walk to the beach San San or Frenchmen's Cove.

Room Tip: Choose the room that overlooks the sea, you can sit out on the balcony for breakfast, lunch or dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Abby,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for this great review!

Yes, Portland is the place to be for anyone looking for peace and tranquility and Goblin Hill is certainly one of the best haven for that.
We want our guests to come, relax and enjoy what we have to offer, the service, the beauty, the serenity, the Nature, the food, ...

And it does not only rains in Portland, we also have a lot of sun!

Come back soon.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a great time at Goblin Villas. Joan was our housekeeper and prepared delicious meals for us, which we appreciated. We had a long tour and arrived late on our first evening, but Joan kindly waited so we could eat when we arrived - thank you so much! There are a few new staff, and they were very friendly and courteous. I have a terrible memory for names but Garvin (?) and Calvin both did all they could to resolve a problem we had with the aircon and help us when we got stuck on the wrong side of the fence after a storm!

We recommend Goblin Villa's to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying again with us and thank you for your beautiful review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Goblin Hill and pointed one of our assets: our staff. We are glad to read that Joan, Gavel and Calvin perfectly responded to your needs and expectations and that they represented our property so well!

Come visit us back soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goblin Hill Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Hill Villas

Address: San San Beach, Port Antonio WI, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goblin Hill Villas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goblin Hill Villas at San San Bay sits on twelve acres of lawns and gardens, overlooking sparkling Jamaican white sand beaches and turquoise Caribbean water.All of our spacious villas are self-contained, with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining rooms, and a wide covered terrace or balcony with its own view over the Bay.The villas open onto wide expanses of lawns and gardens. All bedrooms have private bathrooms, air-conditioning and ceiling fans.Each villa is staffed with a friendly housekeeper to prepare and serve meals, do your shopping and carry out all house- keeping duties. You will find she is also your unofficial ambassador to Jamaica. Our housekeepers are versatile cooks and can prepare local cuisine, as well as international dishes using locally available produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Goblin Hill Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goblin Hill Villas Hotel Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Hotel
Goblin Hill Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Villas Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goblin Hill Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.