We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Haven in Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goblin Hill Villas

Save Saved
You added Goblin Hill Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goblin Hill Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   San San Beach, Port Antonio WI, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free nights!
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Port Antonio
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
“Idyllic Haven in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My first time in Port Antonio and I am so glad, my cousin and I came to Goblin Hill to stay. When I was here I felt like how you feel, when you listen to Enya's song "Caribbean Blues". I love the peacefulness and being in the "Country". Beautiful and comfortable villas and lovely staff. I had the please of meeting the owner Mrs. Goodman and her Manager Mr. De Campos at Rum Punch night. Also staff member O'Neil was very attentive to our needs and Jody who, made sure the room was prepared, was very personable, informative and engaging. I definitely need to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Soursop,

It was a real pleasure to meet and welcome you and have a nice talk with you during our traditional Saturday Rum Punch party.

We are so happy you felt that way at Goblin Hill and. more generally, in Portland that is a real slice of Paradise on earth.

So, yes, you need to come back... soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    48
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
48
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st andrew Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Goblin Hill is awesome, great hide out spot, its like home away from home. Ive been there on many occasions and enjoy every moment. I went there over the weekend with ma cousin and it was breath taking as always, the hospitality, the scenery, and the employee very warm and welcoming. The property is well kept and lush over looking the beautiful san san bay beach. I stayed in Villa 24 and omg i went to bed with the most beautiful sunset and woke up with the sound of nature, the cool of the morning the birds chirping. "Its better felt than tellth" (Jamaican saying). I can never get tired of GH for all you nature lovers, honeymooners, families and especially if you are planning your dream wedding that's the place to be. Its very Accessible and a central point to other famous attractions Port Antonio, the blue Lagoon, San San Beach, Boston Jerk etc. Thanks to Mrs. Goodman, Rafael, Jody and Ms. Elaine for making our weekend a special one!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sasha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Goblin Hill experience!
What else can I say... you said it all! We are so happy you enjoyed your multiple stays with us.
You are now part of the Goblin Hill family so come back visit us soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is my second review for this hotel, and I highly recommend it. The location is very relaxing and close to the beach. The housekeepers are very good, and Dania's cooking was excellent. The manager Mr. Campos, was very kind to upgrade us to a two bedroom villa when a leak was discovered in the one bedroom. How a hotel responds to a visitor's complaint is very important. The staff was very quick to respond and overall helpful. Please keep in mind that the hotel is not brand new, so if you are looking for a new location do not go here. However, if you would like a very relaxing vacation, in one of the most beautiful places in the world then I recommend you make a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

One more time, thank you, for this great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your first visit at Goblin Hill and that you came back and wrote a second review.

I am sorry about the inconvenience caused by the leak in the roof (even if the rains last week were heavy and windy) and happy we found a solution that satisfied you.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Goblin Hill.

Rafael de Campos,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I spend the first week of our Jamaican Honeymoon at Goblin Hill. The views are really awesome and the grounds are beautiful and immaculately well kept. Better kept than a golf course, the property is tremendous. The villas are well kept and the staff is friendly and accommodating. We bought some fresh caught lobsters at Boston Beach and our housekeeper cooked and served them to perfection. It is located close to town and other interesting attractions.. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for this beautiful review!

We were delighted to welcome you at Goblin Hill and we are happy to read to you enjoyed the place, its location and its services.

Congratulations again and we wish you all the best for the future... which I hope will include a few visits to Goblin Hill.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Quentin, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at GHV as a friend of ours was getting wed there.
I had read and saw a lot on the internet about it. The place is very easy to find on the coastal road. 5 mins walk down to san san beach. 5 mins drive or less to the blue hole, well : very good access to town, the sea and linking roads.
What pleased me there : I felt the staff and management were very helpful and willing that you spend a good time, the villas were bigger than I expected with large rooms, large open full equipped kitchen with dining room, couches... We were in villa 11 and shared meals with villa 14 which was not a problem for the maids who got organised for us. We had laundry perfectly done for the wedding, went to shop and discover the market in Port Antonio, and had ackee and saltfish every morning (the best we had during our 2 weeks in Jamaica)
AS far as the outsides are concerned, I found no picture that could translate this feeling of being above and on the sea. large lawns to relax, swimming pool was great (we stayed late during the wedding night;-).
Price : given the services, amenities and he scenery, the place is a very good deal. Millionnaires rent villas down the road !
All of us were very pleased with this stay as we were feeling at home rather than in a hotel
Thank you to Rafael and his staff for letting us have this feeling.

Room Tip: Get a sea view or a special sea view to have your meals on top of the carribean sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Andy,

What a pleasure to have you and your friends at Goblin Hill. You enjoyed being here but we definitely enjoyed having you here too.

Thank you for the great review. We are happy that you managed to describe with words what is difficult to understand for someone who never visited us.

Come visit us soon (July?)... as you said in your review, you are at home here!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed by the special ocean view villa. The view was AMAZING. Very peaceful, beautiful and relaxing place. The grounds/gardens are well kept and the villa appeared to be very clean. The bathroom and some parts of the villa needs some renovating or a modern touch but overall a good experience. The housekeeper was very pleasant and the food was really good! I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get the special ocean view villa! Best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Ayesha,

Thank you for staying at Goblin Hill. We are happy and proud to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location and the services of your housekeeper.

We started the renovation of some villas, starting with the bathrooms so, on your next stay, don't forget to ask for one of these villas.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Goblin Hill.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-Mort, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

An outstanding establishment. I went with a group of 18 and stayed in 3 of their 2bedroom villas. Reception was warm, friendly and accommodating. The housekeepers were a dream. They made us a mouthwatering dinner and breakfast and were hospitable & warm (thanks Marlene, Blenderine & Dana :-) the place was clean, quaint and boasts some spectacular views of the bay nearby. Everyone in my group agreed it was a total experience and would definitely return. Thank you Goblin Hill for your hospitality and I shall be coming back soon :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Kay,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your group... and it is another one to read this great review. Thank you!
We are so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay among us, from the villas to the helpers, without, of course!, forgetting the location and the views!

We are ready to welcome you back... soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goblin Hill Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Hill Villas

Address: San San Beach, Port Antonio WI, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goblin Hill Villas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goblin Hill Villas at San San Bay sits on twelve acres of lawns and gardens, overlooking sparkling Jamaican white sand beaches and turquoise Caribbean water.All of our spacious villas are self-contained, with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining rooms, and a wide covered terrace or balcony with its own view over the Bay.The villas open onto wide expanses of lawns and gardens. All bedrooms have private bathrooms, air-conditioning and ceiling fans.Each villa is staffed with a friendly housekeeper to prepare and serve meals, do your shopping and carry out all house- keeping duties. You will find she is also your unofficial ambassador to Jamaica. Our housekeepers are versatile cooks and can prepare local cuisine, as well as international dishes using locally available produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Goblin Hill Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goblin Hill Villas Hotel Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Hotel
Goblin Hill Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Villas Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goblin Hill Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.