We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchman's Cove Resort

Save Saved
You added Frenchman's Cove Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frenchman's Cove Resort
P.O. Box 101, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Port Antonio
Usa, Japan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I visited Frenchman's cove and hotel 3 times in the past years and each time we enjoy it more and left with no regrets. We always get a room that is on the cliff side and gives a great view of the sea. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Front desk staff are friendly to us. I love the beach and the sea can have strong waves or calm. Either way, we love our experience there and will stay there whenever we are in Port Antonio area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The property is amazing. Lush, green, raw and dramatic right on the cliffs. The private beach is picture perfect, with a crystal clear river that runs into it. Super strong reliable wifi all over the resort. Unfortunately the accommodation has seen better days. The days when a young Sean Connery still ruled the silver screen.

We stayed in Villa 13. Incredible view and location. Retro design. A large 1 bedroom at the back. No stove but a small adequate kitchen with fridge. All the window frames were slightly rusted, the doors were hard to close, the shower head was broken, the bathroom door had no handle - just a hole, the AC had to be switched on/off from the outside ( no remote ) etc etc - that being said, it all seemed irrelevant with the spectacular view right on the cliffs. We had friends stay in Villa 12, two bedrooms, brand new kitchen and living room. Less dramatic view, but still on the cliff facing the oceon. So it really depends which Villa you get. Breakfast's are adequate if you stick to the amazing fresh fruit and coffee. The cafe / restaurant on the beach is ok for lunch with orders of grilled fish and jerk chicken taking up to an hour since it is cooked from scratch. This restaurant has so much potential with its location and setting. For dinner I would advise the Mocking Bird hotel for it's local organic fare. Renting a car is worth the effort ( we hired a driver with van ) since taxis are hard to track down and tend to rip you off. This is not a walking anywhere town. Places are hidden all over Port Antonio in spectacular enclaves, so you are advised to organize transport.

Room Tip: Villa 12 - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, big living room and brand new kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As a Family of Six we chose French Mans cove as a mid way stop of our week long tour of the eastern end of Jamaica

We had a Three Bed room villa, Not all the rooms in the three bedroom villa connect but we made it work for us. The villa was clean and well maintained and the views as it was literally right on the cliffside were breathtaking

Breakfast was ideal, simple but plentiful and suited us down to the ground. We dined at the Beach Grill Once for dinner and again the food was simple but just what we needed.

The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, perfect for just walking around and taking in breath taking views, plants and wildlife as we relaxed.

The beach located at the resort was great, rustic and a fresh water stream that enters the cove was a joy to swim up and down, the kids brining their rings to sit it and then snorkel to see the fish.

Overall a great location, it looks like some of the villas are being upgraded, but what we stayed in was simple, clean and ideal for us.

A great point to stop and travel the Port Antonio Area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went to a destination wedding at this resort and spent five days with my extended family, friends and family of my cousin and her husband, my boyfriend and my sister. It was a very lovely experience. It was 48 acres of resort and the view of the ocean and sunset was quite a beautiful sight. Fresh air in the morning. Villas located in several parts of the estate, so it was nice to take walks and peruse, looking at the different flora and trees around.

Only thing I found that the room we stayed in, there was no ceiling fan and no proper view of the estate, because I do not like sleeping with airconditioning and the location of the room, natural breeze didn't easily come into the room so the airconditioning had to be on once in the room. Even on the balcony, it was not very breezy and the trees blocked our view of the estate.

Other than that, the food was lovely especially the breakfast. Wifi was available if we needed it for any reason, and the staff were very very helpful and friendly. We would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wandering through the FC property is a trip back to the days when stunning locations were chosen for special resorts and this place is no exception. The setting is spectacular and the grounds are inspiring. Alas, the villas could be awesome with some simple updating (even some nice outdoor furniture to soak in those views would be a major improvement) That said, the villas are clean and comfortable... and the designs are so retro cool... it's almost perfect. Victoria and the front desk team are delightful and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay at FC again. It's certainly great value for the price - and how can you argue with a place that has hosted rock stars and royalty. No burning garbage or any other distractions for our visit. We had a blast.

Room Tip: I hear villa 11 and 5 are primo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is a paradise. It is one of the most beautiful properties in Jamaica let alone Port Antonio, the problem is that it is in desperate need of updating/refurbishing. The grounds are well maintained and the staff are kind and attentive. None the less my wife and I enjoyed our stay are getting over the dated and unmaintained areas. Truly a wonderful place with great potential of success as in earlier days. I still do love this fantastic place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Frenchman's Cove was in its heyday one of the top resorts in the entire world, it is now a poorly maintained flop house whose management sees fit to have at least TWO HUGE garbage bonfires lit every day on the property ensuring sore throats, aching sinuses,and smelly polluted air for its guests.
My children were ill every day and despite our complaints/requests the burning continued apace. We cut our stay short. In fact we discovered later the smoke from their fires envelops the entire San San area to all the residents' dismay.
Port Antonio is meant to be and is advertised as a "Natural", environmentally friendly beauty spot - that is a joke. The rivers and roadsides are full of plastic Pepsi bottles, trash burning was rampant even during a drought, and the town smells of sewage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frenchman's Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Cove Resort

Address: P.O. Box 101, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Frenchman's Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Port Antonio
Frenchmans Cove Hotel
Frenchman's Cove Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchman's Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.