We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rio Vista Villas - The Only Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Vista Resort Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Vista Resort Villas
P.O. Box 4 | Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis, IN.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rio Vista Villas - The Only Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

Three of us in my family, including my husband's 83 y.o. mother stayed with Henry and Sharon Miller, the owners of the Rio Vista Villas for a week in February, and we can't wait to go back again in September!
Our villa was spotlessly cleaned every day; Mrs. Miller cooks the most delicious meals we've ever tasted (for an unbelievably reasonable price!); the grounds are a naturalist's dream; the views of the river below are gorgeous; and our hosts treated us as if we were "family". Mr. Miller gave us a tour of his gardens and pointed out the names of all the flowering trees, shrubs, plants, etc. I really can't say enough good things about the hospitality, the affordability, and the value for our money that we received during that week. We are going back and taking our son and his wife in September, even though we've already been to Jamaica twice now, and usually choose another locale after we've made more than one visit somewhere. You will not be dissapointed if you visit Rio Vista Villas!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

This is a MUST see! I had the oppurtunity to vist last week and the mountains are beautiful. The property is well maintained and very clean. The housekeepers are very attentive and courteous. Let's not forget Mr. Henry & Sharon,the owners, wonderful people, Mrs. Sharon is one of the best cooks I've ever met. You must try her Jerk Chicken, Mango Chicken, Ackee "Jamaican Breakfast Dish" and the Blue Mountain Coffee (it's to die for). While there we went to the Sun Fest (cultural event) with the Miller's, we took a tour of the river raft and had the joy of walking in the city with the locals (there's so much to see). I can't wait until my next visit. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2005

Rio Vista is a very private and laid back hotel located 3 miles west of town. Food was superb, staff very friendly, and courteous, views of both St. Margrets Bay and the Rio Grande. Hosts Henry and Sharon Miller will make your stay unforgetable. This property is very well kept, and not run down as are many of the others. A great value for a very reasonable price. Will go back in a heart-beat!!
ONE LOVE.....the Rio Vista!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisCOWsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2004

My husband and I just spent five wonderful days in the Honeymoon Suite at the Rio Vista Resort Villas on Snow Hill in Port Antonio, Jamiaca. If you are looking to find the real heart and soul of the island, you need to come here. The owners and staff are warm and friendly, the food is some of the best we've ever eaten anywhere and the atmosphere is pure magic. Let me go back to the food for a moment... Sharon, our hostess (owner) and chef extrodinare makes everything herself. We dined on the veranda and in the gazebo beside the pool by candle light every evening. You MUST have her cook for you if you stay here, you will never eat so well anywhere else.
The view from our room was of the Rio Grand river, as it winds down from the Blue Mountains. This was part of the magic. One never tires of the picturesque view. Morning mist hides the peaks of the Mountains, and the afternoon gives you different look as the Blue Mountains, suddenly appear from behind the foot hills & bluffs to watch the sun set on the sea.
We rafted the Rio Grand river, lazily enjoying the lapping of the water while our Raft Captain, Antony poled us along. We shopped in the local market ate jerk lobster at Boston Bay and swam in the ocean at Frenchman's Cove. Don't forget to stop and swim at the Blue Lagoon also known as locally as the Blue Hole. This is the spot where they filmed the movie The Blue Lagoon (from the '80's). It is an amazing swim. The cold water from the mountains enters into and mixes with the salty sea water. They have welled up the spring water at its source into the lagoon and they say that the mineral springs have healing capablities. The lagoon itself is said to be "bottomless" by some and about 186 feet by others. Either way, the water is so clear, that you can look down in and see how far it goes down.
On another outing we ventured up to Holywell Park, which is part of the Blue Mountain, John Crow Mountians National Park. Talk about adventure, the drive is amazing. The views from the trails in the park are unexpected and unbelieveable. You can see forever.
This resort and its owners, Henry and Sharon Miller, are a one on one treat, with real jamaican food and atmosphere, but a one of a kind experience and view. We would recommend this resort to anyone looking for the real Jamaica and not just the AI's "never leave your resort", version of a vacation.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2004

We stayed in the honeymoon villa recenetly for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Our villa was beautiful, with hardwood floors, our own balcany, fresh flowers, and a king size bed (there is also a tv and AC). Plus the view! Rolling hills, the blue mountains in the distance, and the Rio Grand River below. The grounds are beautiful and Henry and Sharon are so kind. Sharon is an amazing cook and made us fantastic meals. Overall, a highlight of our 2 weeks on the island!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2003

My family and I recently stayed at Rio Vista Resort (group of 8, Nov 2003). The property is very well-maintained -- grounds, pool, and villas. The owners were very gracious and helpful.

Yes, the property is not directly on the beach, but you won't find many properties directly on the beach in PA anyway. Also, the property is not in-town, but you won't find many properties in-town either. You should expect to drive to most destinations around PA, regardless of your accommodations.

Overall, we found Rio Vista to be an excellent value (especially since some in my party required A/C) and I would definitely recommend the villas to anyone staying in the PA area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2003

My first visit to Rio Vista Villas certainly won't be my last!! The villas are moderately priced, clean and very comfortable, mind a few lizards, hey it's Jamaica what do you expect! The "big house" is open to you at any time. The owners, Mr. & Mrs. Miller, are always around to chat with or take care of your needs and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Mrs. Millers cooking is exceptional!! Just let her know what you want after breakfast and you'll get it for dinner!! We met so many nice and laid back folks including Simone, the current "Aida" and daughter of Nina Simone. Look, Port Antonio is a quiet working class town and Rio Vista is not on the beach but the property is well worth the trip and you can get taxis to take you to all the nearby sites ( Sommerset Falls, Frenchmans Cove etc...) Just one evening relaxing by the pool watching the Rio Grande river and the stars in the sky and you'll understand why.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Vista Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Vista Resort Villas

Address: P.O. Box 4 | Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four miles west of Port Antonio on Jamaica's North Coast,nestled between the Rio Grande river and the Caribbean sea. We are one hour from Kingston through the mountains and two hours along the coast from Montego Bay.Rio Vista is a ten-acre estate with rooms, suites, individual 1,2 and 3 bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Resort Villas Hotel Port Antonio
Rio Vista Resort Villas Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Vista Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rio Vista Resort Villas to your Saves list