We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Drapers San

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drapers San
San San Beach, before Frenchman's Cove, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Tiny , small , cell block rooms. For the same rate at various places, we had huge rooms, or seperate chalets. Overpriced. Dogs maul you at the gate, cats come into you room.
On a busy main road. No access to gardens or beach. Breakfast was fine, and nice local girl serving us. Go to Long Bay and stay at the Jamaican Colours hotel and compare the difference.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I stayed here on 2 occasions while I was a student in Kingston. The rooms are comfortable and basic. It's really no frills. If you want a place where you'll be looked after, this is not it. If you want a place to lay your head at night that is comfortable and relatively safe, and insider travel advice from the well-informed owner, then it is great. The owner is often off doing things in the community, but when you can catch her she can give you great info on off-the-beaten path places to visit and how to get there.

Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Many of us have options as this area has no shortage of cute places to stay. There are a few things that does not keep drawing people back to this hotel - the owner can be stand-offish to certain guests and friendly to others. We went to the guest house because of the owner's profile on the internet - and Italian rasta lady. But she is definitely Euorpean and lacks the warmth of Jamaicans. The women who work in the kitchen are terrible cooks and you are far better eating at the local cook shops up the road. Dogs, there are three mangey dogs who bark and can be quite agressive - one main reason I will not be going back to that guest house. The cost is cheap but there are many other places in the area to stay which can be more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

If you go to jamaica to see it's nature and to relax, port antonio is the best city for you.
People here is more friendly with tourist compared to the other cities like Kingston and Negril. The Drapers San is very nice, if formed by two structures 3 floors each. it has 3 double rooms and a beatiful garden with coloured flowers. this guest house is owned by an italian immigrant that loves this country.
you will love this place because you can feel in contact with "real jamaica"

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed at Drapers San the last few days of our trip. We had read up some on the owner, who seemed to be involved in the community, which we liked and thought it would be a cool place to check out. The grounds had lots of charm, but lacked in warmth. The back of the yard drops off, so access to the ocean is a bit tricky. There was a small path that led to a very small, rocky, beach. No sand to lay on per say, but a great place to read and hang out and have to yourself.
We were very disappointed in the lack of communication....for example, we were told to leave out keys inside the kitchen/dining area. We left for the evening and returned around midnight only to find the doors to this area locked and ourselves out of luck! The only option (after quietly knocking and furtively searching under pots for a spare key) was to yell for the owner, after about 5 minutes, she finally came down. We felt like kids who had violated some sort of curfew instead of grown adults on vacation. The owner did not even apologize for the inconvenience.
If you are looking for a tasty breakfast to get your morning off to a nice start, this is not the place to go. We had three breakfasts. Two of them were cold scrambled eggs with toast that had been cooked early and had gotten hard. Another breakfast consisted of silver dollar Aunt Jemima pancakes and the same toast. For $75 a night, we expected a little more.
The shower was a hand held shower with no place to hang up, which would have been fine, but so many things irritated us about this place, it just added fuel to the fire.
The owner did mention to me that she "was not running a five star hotel", which we were not looking for. We were looking for a little place that had a little soul and a little pride and this for sure was not it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

Drapers San is on a bend on the main highway east out of Port Antonio. It is owned by a charming, helpful Italian journalist and attracts mainly young Italian tourists. The rooms reminded me of prison cells, small, concrete block, with an iron gate, hot and stuffy. There were some animals on the grounds and I'm sure I got fleas. There is room to park only one car--with difficulty--on the property, so you might have to leave it on a bend in the highway. They will cook food for you but this is basically the only place to eat. The guest house is on the water and there is a beach of sorts next door, although not particularly attractive. You'll want to go further east to get to the best beaches.

  • Stayed August 2002
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drapers San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drapers San

Address: San San Beach, before Frenchman's Cove, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Also Known As:
Drapers San Hotel Port Antonio
Drapers San Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drapers San, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Drapers San to your Saves list