We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnifred Beach

Winnifred Beach
Fairy Hill, before Boston Beach, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very cool and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

There is a little cafe where you can eat fresh lobster for a very affodable price and enjoy local craft vendors

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    45
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Down A Long Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We hired a driver to take us to Reach Falls one morning, and on the way back to our lodging at Great Huts, we stopped at Winnifred Beach. We had considered walking to Winnifred Beach from the highway so that our driver wouldn't have to wait for us, but we were glad we drove, because it would have been a long hot steep walk to the beach. Winnifred Beach is a nice white sand beach in a pretty cove lined with green trees. There are a couple of outdoor places to purchase food. The water is clear and clean. The only issue that we had was with a local who kept asking us for money because it was his job to keep the beach clean. We paid him, but the funny thing was that the beach was littered with trash from all the holiday parties the day before. We had a couple of teenage girls with us, and we felt very safe. We like Boston Bay better though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1st time here 20 years ago at 8!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Loved this beach from day one. Locals beach, beautiful blue sea, and sand, you can grab a drink from one of the stalls and some soup if its ready.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The journey is the fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The road to Winnifred is the ultimate buffer from the usual beach experience. Enjoy the bumpy journey to the bottom, then reward yourself with fresh fish cooked on the beach, Red Stripes and friendly people who'll appreciate it that you came.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rasta beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

nice free beach, with local people and few small restaurant, very nice. Try some jerck chicken! its also very nice do some snorkeling until the reef

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winnifred Beach also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Winnifred Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnifred Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.