We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant on beach run by Cynthia; nice stretch of beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winnifred Beach

Winnifred Beach
Fairy Hill, before Boston Beach, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great restaurant on beach run by Cynthia; nice stretch of beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

beach; restaurant; water...everything about it. Locals and tourists both there. Location. Long bumpy drive to the beach but well worth it. I walked back to the main road and that was a pleasure in itself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Eat at Cynthia's food stand on Winnifred Beach. The food is one of the best I've eaten! She is one of the last stands on the left when you look at the beach. Also, either bring water shoes or only walk in the water on the sand. Lots of sea urchins on the coral. Absolutely beautiful beach but no beach chairs to sit in.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Winfred Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great beach for kids, calm waters and plenty of white sand, Dungu's food shack was great, food made to order.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I visited this beach on a Friday and along with my group of seven and one other couple, we appeared to be the only tourist on the beach. The locals were also friendly and helpful. They took a moment to tell us not to go out to far in certain areas due to the sea urchin and swam out to the reef with us just to make sure we could make it. There is also several huts on the beach selling shrimp stew, fish and Red Stripe. One of my favorite things about this beach were the shade trees right on the beach, perfect if you need a break from the sun.

If you are driving, the road is pretty rough but if you go slow you should have no problems. I was driving a minivan with 7 passengers and we didn't have any problems.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Kind of hard to find because it is not on the main road but its clean, peaceful, and beautiful. What more could you ask for?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winnifred Beach also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Winnifred Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnifred Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.