We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnifred Beach

Winnifred Beach
Fairy Hill, before Boston Beach, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Eat at Cynthia's food stand on Winnifred Beach. The food is one of the best I've eaten! She is one of the last stands on the left when you look at the beach. Also, either bring water shoes or only walk in the water on the sand. Lots of sea urchins on the coral. Absolutely beautiful beach but no beach chairs to sit in.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Winfred Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great beach for kids, calm waters and plenty of white sand, Dungu's food shack was great, food made to order.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I visited this beach on a Friday and along with my group of seven and one other couple, we appeared to be the only tourist on the beach. The locals were also friendly and helpful. They took a moment to tell us not to go out to far in certain areas due to the sea urchin and swam out to the reef with us just to make sure we could make it. There is also several huts on the beach selling shrimp stew, fish and Red Stripe. One of my favorite things about this beach were the shade trees right on the beach, perfect if you need a break from the sun.

If you are driving, the road is pretty rough but if you go slow you should have no problems. I was driving a minivan with 7 passengers and we didn't have any problems.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Kind of hard to find because it is not on the main road but its clean, peaceful, and beautiful. What more could you ask for?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Relatively clean beach for a public one. As a result of the huge bus I was traveling on, the walk to get to the beach was long and treacherous because the bus would not have been able to make the turns. The return walk to the bus, through a "short cut" was steep and treacherous. The bathroom was a dark, mess and smelled awful as was expected. Despite all that jazz, the sea water was lovely. Winnifred Beach is also naturally beautiful. One of the food shacks that we sampled had Conch Soup which was very good, although I would call it a Seafood Medley or Crawfish Soup. :)

I haven't been to Winnifred Beach recently so I would be unaware of any developments or improvements.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winnifred Beach also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Winnifred Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnifred Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.