We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnifred Beach

Winnifred Beach
Fairy Hill, before Boston Beach, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Activities in Port Antonio
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Kind of hard to find because it is not on the main road but its clean, peaceful, and beautiful. What more could you ask for?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    41
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Relatively clean beach for a public one. As a result of the huge bus I was traveling on, the walk to get to the beach was long and treacherous because the bus would not have been able to make the turns. The return walk to the bus, through a "short cut" was steep and treacherous. The bathroom was a dark, mess and smelled awful as was expected. Despite all that jazz, the sea water was lovely. Winnifred Beach is also naturally beautiful. One of the food shacks that we sampled had Conch Soup which was very good, although I would call it a Seafood Medley or Crawfish Soup. :)

I haven't been to Winnifred Beach recently so I would be unaware of any developments or improvements.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

go and eat by " 5 star chef" he will cook what you want and the fish is mega fresh. see is really really very beautiful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Loved this public beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very quiet beach, it was a little cloudy when we visited but still beautiful! While snorkelling I saw cuttle fish and an octopus! There's a few little food shacks and the occasional vendor but not too much hastle at all. We enjoyed learning about how one fellow makes souvenirs from bamboo and we took home a a nice piece for around $6. Otherwise the beach just had a few tourists relaxing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hiding Places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Tucked so neatly away, this is one of the nicest beaches in Portland. Given the rocky terrain in Portland, its not often you find such a nice natural spread of beach

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winnifred Beach also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Winnifred Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnifred Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.