We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Beauty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winnifred Beach

Winnifred Beach
Fairy Hill, before Boston Beach, Port Antonio, Jamaica
8764350781
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Relatively clean beach for a public one. As a result of the huge bus I was traveling on, the walk to get to the beach was long and treacherous because the bus would not have been able to make the turns. The return walk to the bus, through a "short cut" was steep and treacherous. The bathroom was a dark, mess and smelled awful as was expected. Despite all that jazz, the sea water was lovely. Winnifred Beach is also naturally beautiful. One of the food shacks that we sampled had Conch Soup which was very good, although I would call it a Seafood Medley or Crawfish Soup. :)

I haven't been to Winnifred Beach recently so I would be unaware of any developments or improvements.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MemeLove_876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

go and eat by " 5 star chef" he will cook what you want and the fish is mega fresh. see is really really very beautiful

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank xhoela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Loved this public beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very quiet beach, it was a little cloudy when we visited but still beautiful! While snorkelling I saw cuttle fish and an octopus! There's a few little food shacks and the occasional vendor but not too much hastle at all. We enjoyed learning about how one fellow makes souvenirs from bamboo and we took home a a nice piece for around $6. Otherwise the beach just had a few tourists relaxing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hiding Places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Tucked so neatly away, this is one of the nicest beaches in Portland. Given the rocky terrain in Portland, its not often you find such a nice natural spread of beach

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved this beach! It's pretty big, clean, beautiful of course, lots of food and drink vendors. There are people who will try to sell you stuff but wasn't bad when we were there, and everyone was very nice and not pushy. Note - it's about a 10 min walk down from the main road on a somewhat rocky road/path. Definitely need some shoes to get down there, but well worth it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dnl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winnifred Beach also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Winnifred Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing