We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owner ,staff, food ,location, and price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San San Tropez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San San Tropez to your Saves list
San San Tropez
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Drapers P.A. Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great owner ,staff, food ,location, and price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I have stayed at SAN SAN TROPEZ over a dozen times in the last 10 years. FABIO is the owner and manager of this beautifull establishment . The staff are so freindly ,and helpfull . FABIO and the staff will try to please you in any way possible. They all go out of their way for the guests ! The rooms are nicely done and are very clean . The restaurant serves up great italion dishes along with traditional JAMAICAN food . Everthing is prepaired when you order. SO everything is fresh and delicious! The surounding grounds are kept up very nicely. Also this establishment is set in a very private and beautufull area. It sets high on a hill overlooking the Caribbean Sea . Just across the street is one of the most beautifull beaches that you will ever visit. The beach is not long like other beaches in Jamaica but the beauty of the surounding area more than make up for anything else that it may lack . Fabio can give you free passes to this beautifull beach anytime you wish to go. When you stay at SAN SAN TROPEZ you are a personal guest and not just a number! They have a beautifull pool also where you can relax and not worry about a thing. Just remember that you are on island time so enjoy. Not to far from this establishment are the famous BLUE MOUNTAINS and rain forests. So so beautifull ! Fabio can arrange trips to almost anywhere that you would like to go. The town of PORT ANTONIO is kind of laid back in time in some ways. This is what makes the town so easily to get around. You can shop at the local craft markets or just mingle with the local people. They are very freindly. Well i guess i could go on and on about this establishment and the surounding area but i need to stop telling you of all the secrets. When you come and visit you can discover and enjoy them for yourself. I am more than happy and willing to answer any ouestions that you may have about SAN SAN TROPEZ and the surounding areas. My name is RON and i hike in the BLUE MOUNTAINS photographing waterfalls. Many of these very few outsiders will ever get to experience. Some are easily accessed and some take days of hiking to get to. So all i can say is come and relax and enjoy the beauty! After all this is what vacations are all about!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We recently spent a week at the San San Tropez . I did a little research on the hotels/villa/guest houses available in Portland and had singled out a few I thought might be interesting for our 1st trip to that side of Jamaica. We chose San San after getting an excellent recommondation from a friend that had been there. I in turn will have to pass that same recommondation on! Everything about this place was perfect! The location, the room, the food, the entire staff including Fabio, the owner, could not have been better. It was especially great to have Frenchmans Cove Beach ( beautiful!) a short walk right across the road! This is a big plus in Portland where the beaches are spread out and usually a good cab ride away. The villas are very clean and comfortable and having a fabulous Italian restaurant on site made dinners easy. Every person working at San San was very friendly and like old friends! The grounds are beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxed, definately the kind of place you would keep coming back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Stayed for 1 week over Christmas. Weather was rainy to a greater or lesser degree every day but we still managed daily beach or exploration trips. San San Tropez is ideally located for exploring Port Antonio and the areas to the West - Boston Bay, Long Bay, Reach Falls etc - and the Rio Grande Valley. The passes to Frenchman's Cove are worth using as that is a truly beautiful beach and creek.
We took the half board option which we would not do again. The menu has no really Jamaican dishes and we found several times that items were off the menu due to the ingredients not being available. No marlin for 3 days and no pina coladas for 3-4 days :-( That said the Italian themed food was very well cooked and presented - the two chefs are great at what they do! Also whilst there the pizza oven broke down - that may not sound significant until you realise that San San has an Portland wide reputation for excellent pizza ..... All in all that made the HB option an expensive luxury that we did not fully utilise as we ate out a few evening times.
The staff are top rate. Very willing to serve and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We stayed in the Strawberry Suite which is bright and airy with the windows and patio door open. There is a small private patio that leads to the pool area. Be warned you need bug spray and may even want to bring some coils to burn at night if you want to sleep with the windows open and avoid using the AC.
Overall a very nice place to stay and we might well return for a night or two if we come back to the Port Antonio area.

  • Liked — Location and decor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

My fiance & I stayed at San San Tropez in late April/early May. We didn't realize it would be the off-off season, which made for a truly magical vacation at San San. We were essentially the only guests in this lovely villa, and treated so welcomingly by Fabio & his wonderful staff. They were always there if we needed something, but also made us feel like we had rented a private estate in the middle of luxury. The weather is perfect, beautiful beaches just a minute walk away, and the lushness of Port Antonio & the Blue Mountains, which I believe to be unparralled to anywhere in Jamaica. We spent our time in Port Antonio mainly at the beaches, swimming, snorkeling & sunning, and also went scuba diving one day w/Lady G'Diver. This is the place to get the true Jamaica experience. It seems like going during high season would have been alot of fun at San San also, but for us, being there at this time of year was an unbelievable treat. The rooms are clean and comfortable, nicely appointed with TV & A/C; our room opened out onto a private patio area, with direct access to the pool, perfect for early morning & late night swims. We loved it & wish Fabio much success with his little taste of heaven.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

Hard to find treasure villa hotel in proximity of Port Antonio. Next to Frenchman's cove, probably best property in Jamaica.

You need special taste to love this friendly, calm and supercool place. Set in tropical garden.

Fabio, most friendly hotel "boss" I ever met made our stay more then comfortable and enjoyable. Ask him to take you to his bamboo avenue :-))

Perfect and friendly staff.

Close to Long Bay Beach. Do not forget to visit Chill Out bar there.

Frenchman's Cove villas = SUPERB...great sea views, great beach.
San San Tropez Hotel = SUPERB
Italian Cuisine = SUPERB
Staff = SUPERB
Coctails = SUPERB

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2005

San San Tropez is a beautiful villa near Frenchman's Cove beach in Port Antonio, nice jamaican village without mass tourism like Negril. The staff is brilliant and they resolve all your problems. The San San Tropez is not a simple caribbean hotel but it is a villa with family atmosphere and very fine italian restaurant.
Location is great! The villa is in the rain forest but 150 mt from the best jamaican beach like blue lagoon, San San Beach with the monkey island and the wonderful Winnifred Beach.
Prices are honest and not expensive and the suites are well furnished in caribbean style with a/c. and nice bathroom.
The owner Fabio is kindest and very pleasant host.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2003

Small fine italian & jamaican site just accross Frenchman`s Cove Beach.
Small business family,delicious meals, nice atmosphere...don`t miss it !

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San San Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San San Tropez

Address: Drapers P.A. Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San San Tropez 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San San Tropez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San San Tropez Hotel Port Antonio
San San Tropez Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San San Tropez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.