We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Falls

Somerset Falls
Just past Hope Bay on Rte. A4, Port Antonio, Jamaica
876-913-0108
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Waterfalls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Surrounded by lush greenery, these falls are best approached via gondola.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My favourite Falls in Jamaica. The boat takes you behind the falls where you can then jump off the rocks and swim in the beautiful, turqoise water.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved it! It's around $10US per person but well worth it! Your entry includes swimming near the falls or you can take a boat or canoe back through the falls into a cave - we took the kayak and loved it! The falls were beautiful, fun to jump into. There's a pool there if you want to hang out and spend the day and a bar, etc. Also nice bathrooms and changing area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nature's Wonder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place defines what Portland is all about. This is real "Eco Tourism". Make sure to take a trip under the falls and take a dip...IT IS FREEZINGLY COLD, but it is worth it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Picturesque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We did this as part of a four attraction organized tour, not sure if it's worth a trip on it's own. I did come away with some beautiful pictures and my husband had fun swimming to and jumping from the falls. If you boat instead of swim ask the driver to stop facing the falls, I missed watching the diving since we were pointed in the wrong direction. Be ready at the end of the boat ride he'll go to the edge of one of the falls, your heart may skip a beat but it's safe and you'll get some great pictures.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a nice place to kick back and relax for awhile. Restaurants and bar are fine, and you have to SWIM back from the falls! Cool refreshing water and very beautiful river rock formations.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somerset Falls also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Somerset Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.