We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian charmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DeMontevin Lodge Hotel

DeMontevin Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeMontevin Lodge Hotel
21 Fort George Street, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Port Antonio
Roanoke
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Victorian charmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This house, built in the late 1800s, is full of Victorian charm. It is located in a peaceful area with little traffic, and is very near to downtown Port Antonio. The owners were wonderful, arranging a last minute raft trip on the Rio Grande and suggesting fun places to eat. The little cafe on the second floor of the "Mall" was lots of fun and served great goat. We were only in Port Antonio for one night, but if we ever get back we'll return to this hotel. The only problem was that the bed we had was very hard as were the pillows.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Staying at the DeMonetvin put us right in middle of typical Port Antonio life. Being close to the town centre was great, and the hotel is just the right distance so that you can escape the hustle and bustle. We had a large room with an attached bathroom. No air conditioning, but we prefer this; a modern fan was provided. There were no screens on the windows and our bathroom had only a curtain to separate it from the bedroom. I was a little leery of leaving the windows open, thinking that bugs or lizards would come in, but we didn't notice any issues. If you are a light sleeper, the neighbouring roosters and dogs might wake you through the night. The building is so beautiful that you might want to hang out in the living room, or sit out on the porch for a while. We ran into Cap'n Rebio one morning and since the cook was away that day for jury duty, we asked him for a recommendation for breakfast - he sent us to a local sit down / take out restaurant near the waterfront (no sign to say the name!), and it was fabulous and cheap (~J$4 for two people) and they serve blue mountain coffee. The DeMontevin service was excellent. When the arrangements for a driver we had made with another hotel fell apart at the last minute, George stepped in and tracked down a reliable driver to take us up to the Blue Mountains. Must have been a 3-3.5 hr round trip for the driver and he stopped to show us a waterfall, a Rasta community, and brought us in to Mrs Twymann's coffee operation. Be sure to consider Port Antonio and the DeMontevin if you want to get away from the resort type of vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

There are many good reasons to have a holiday in Jamaica, particularly in Port Antonio, and one of them is the De Montevin Lodge. For a start, it's very beautiful, with charming wrought-iron work, incredibly made in Scotland. But the main thing is the welcoming and friendly owners, George and Karen. They are gradually renovating and decorating the building in keeping with its rather grand past. (As George will tell you, the Queen and Prince Charles once stayed here.) However, they manage to maintain a real family feel too, with their kids popping off to school up the road in the morning, and Karen cooking delicious traditional Jamaican food. For the price, I don't think you'll find anything as lovely as this place anywhere in the world.

DO make sure you ask for Jamaican breakfasts. Chris and I did this, having no idea what to expect, and were served with Karen and George's family favourites each morning. (Served by George in traditional 'silver service' style.) A little pricey (in comparison with the rooms) at about £14-£18 for the two of us each day - but, honestly well worth it. You will eat vegetables, fruit and fish that you've never tried before, and better cooked and served than we had in much more expensive restaurants.

The bedrooms are standard, quite large, a little idiosyncratic - but that's part of the fun. Ours had a fab balcony, with a brilliant view. George isn't allowed to install aircon because of the importance of the building but there are good fans and it's quite comfortable. The public rooms are beautifully furnished and repay quite a lot of studying. The location is fantastic - on a famous peninsula but 100 yds from the centre of town. Port Antonio itself is a calm, friendly place, well away from any trouble spots. You can visit the Blue Mountains from here or go river-rafting. We only stayed a week but were sorry to leave. You could easily stay two weeks and not be bored.

George, whose grandmother used to own the hotel, is a fund of fantastic stories about Jamaican life. He has a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls. Mn.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Location were great . From the lodge its easy to everywhere. Our car was locked in the compound and when I awoke early a coffee was soon come, and came quickly.(bring your own rum cream)
Capt’n “Rebio” the night watchman is a licensed raft man on the Rio Grand. We left the car at the hotel and the Capt’n handled everything. This was the highlight of our entire Jamaican vacation.

The Food was very good at a good price but you must tell them in advance.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2004

I just returned from visiting Port Antonio, June 2004. We had no hotel reservation and drove past the center of town up the hill to find a hotel. We made the best decision when we stopped at this hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk seated in a lobby of dark wood and antiques. Quite lovely. Our second floor double room had a balcony that overlooked the bay. Very clean room antique furniture, pleasant and quiet, t.v. The only draw back was that the restaurant located in the first floor antique dining room was not in operation. They explained that they were seeking new management for the restaurant and on my return trip I would not be disappointed. I will definitely return to Port Antonio and the De Montevin Lodge Hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2003

We stayed one night at the De Montevin Lodge in Port Antonio on January 5th 2003. It was clean and secure but it's not a resort, just a very nice guesthouse in an old, beautifully restored Victorian mansion. It sits out on the rocky Titchfield peninsula in a small neighborhood of old homes that, like most of the rest of Port Antonio, are rather run down. Some, are guesthouses that are frequented by foreign teachers who volunteer at the school at the end of the road.

The first floor of the Lodge is the lobby and dining room area. The 2nd floor has several large guestrooms. Some have complete bathrooms and some have only a sink. It's very basic. There are no amenities. I took some pictures while I was there and you can see them on my website at www.jamesasbury.com.

The diningroom, while large, was closed, and so was the cocktail bar. I think we were the only guests. Every room had a small TV and there was a big one in the lobby. I think it's a waste.

We walked around the neighborhood and into town where we quickly found the bank and two cash machines. Everyone was very friendly and we didn't get hassled at all.

We hired a cab to take us up to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill where we had dinner. You will need to hire a cab to take you into the mountains. Bird watching or hiking or just touring by auto seem to be the major attractions in this area, like the rest of Jamaica, it's stunningly beautiful but very spread out.

You won't get hassled as much here as in other places, tourism is a new thing. I felt very safe. I've never had a problem with a Jamaican in my five Jamaican vacations. I'd love to live there.

Most of the places to stay at Port Antonio are former plantation homes converted into small hotels with private beaches. Some are up in the hills and have breath taking views.

The evening air was a bit damp and cooler than I expected and I didn't get bit by mosquitos. :)

The next day we decided that Port Antonio was too expensive for us. We missed the laid back attitude of Negril and the next morning we hired two cabs to take our party of six back to our beloved Home Sweet Home in Negril.

Our trip to Port Antonio wasn't a waste, we saw some greate scenery and as usual, met some very nice Jamaicans. Excuse me, I have to go out and shovel snow now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DeMontevin Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeMontevin Lodge Hotel

Address: 21 Fort George Street, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1881,DeMontevin has been well preserved for over 131 years. It boasts a true brick exterior with its interior made of all wood. For a homely feeling, peace of mind and relaxation, we invite you to come and spend some time with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
DeMontevin Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeMontevin Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added DeMontevin Lodge Hotel to your Saves list