We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful.... Once you run the gauntlet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sheltered, white sand beach with calm waters perfect for swimming.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful.... Once you run the gauntlet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

When you first arrive at the Blue Lagoon be prepared to run the gauntlet of hustlers trying to sell souvenirs and boat rides. However, to be honest I didn't think they were that bad on my most recent visit. Once you make it to the Lagoon, either take a boat ride across or do like I did and swim to the small beach located on the opposite side. The water is so buoyant it really is an easy swim. Once you arrive on the beach they will charge you for beach access, we had six people in our group and paid $5 total. From here, sit back, relax and swim the beautiful waters of the Blue Lagoon. If you are looking for excitement this is not the place, but if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax and swim for a few hours it's utopia.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    61
    34
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Freezing hot water!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were staying at Geejam and decided to hire their boat for a few hours to explore along the coast a bit. We had to see the Blue Lagoon of course and have a swim. My wife went in first and reported that the water was lovely and warm. I followed and shouted at her that it was not very warm where I was. We found that it moved from warm to cold as you swam around - caused by the water from the land mixing with the sea water. A very nice splash - although there didn't seem to be a lot to do on the shore.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Pretty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped to look at the Blue Lagoon on our way back from Reach Falls. We were to tired to jump in, but we looked around some. The Lagoon is worth seeing, but you probably won't need to spend a lot of time there. There is no beach - just a dock to jump off of. There are some craft stands and a restaurant nearby, and people offering to take you on a raft or boat ride into the Lagoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this lagoon side restaurant. The food is great and you can sit and watch others swim in the lagoon or you can take the boat over to Dragon fly hotel. Well spent evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as in the movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were there on a really sunny day, which brought out the color of the Lagoon. It looked as nice as it did in all the movies it featured in. We took a 30minute boat ride for 10 us$ out in the lagoon and into the sea nearby.

We took a swim in both the Caribbean Sea and the Lagoon. The latter was great as the water temperature shifts all the time because of fresh water sources pumping water into the Lagoon.

A must see when in Jamaica.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.