We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing hot water!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 17 attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sheltered, white sand beach with calm waters perfect for swimming.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Freezing hot water!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were staying at Geejam and decided to hire their boat for a few hours to explore along the coast a bit. We had to see the Blue Lagoon of course and have a swim. My wife went in first and reported that the water was lovely and warm. I followed and shouted at her that it was not very warm where I was. We found that it moved from warm to cold as you swam around - caused by the water from the land mixing with the sea water. A very nice splash - although there didn't seem to be a lot to do on the shore.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    26
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Pretty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped to look at the Blue Lagoon on our way back from Reach Falls. We were to tired to jump in, but we looked around some. The Lagoon is worth seeing, but you probably won't need to spend a lot of time there. There is no beach - just a dock to jump off of. There are some craft stands and a restaurant nearby, and people offering to take you on a raft or boat ride into the Lagoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this lagoon side restaurant. The food is great and you can sit and watch others swim in the lagoon or you can take the boat over to Dragon fly hotel. Well spent evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as in the movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were there on a really sunny day, which brought out the color of the Lagoon. It looked as nice as it did in all the movies it featured in. We took a 30minute boat ride for 10 us$ out in the lagoon and into the sea nearby.

We took a swim in both the Caribbean Sea and the Lagoon. The latter was great as the water temperature shifts all the time because of fresh water sources pumping water into the Lagoon.

A must see when in Jamaica.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Impressive colors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After a quick visit to Port Antonio with a friend, we made two stops, one at the beautiful Trident hotel and one at the Blue Lagoon. Whereas this is an impressive lagoon, with beautiful water colors and incredibly lush vegetation, it is very disappointing that the surrounding area is run down and offers no amenities to the visitors... I would love to sit and drink a nice coffee or even have lunch but other than locals hustling you for a raft ride or to sell you cheap souvenirs, there was nothing else available. So after a quick dive in the water and taking pictures we headed up the street to the town of Boston for some pork jerk, the best I have tried!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.