We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchman's Cove

Frenchman's Cove
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving, Sailing, Water-skiing, Wind-surfing, Snorkeling, Dining, Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You've always wanted to enjoy elaborate, fruit-flavored cocktails on a beautiful tropical beach, so here's your chance; this beach offers spectacular sand, surf and service.
Riga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We traveling around all Jamaica 15 days by car. Frenchman cove is really the best beach in Jamaica. Very clean, good for snorkling in the river with very clear water, free wifi on the beach, restourant and bar, very friendly staff. 10$/pers, bed 2$/pers, parking for the car. Near beach is very nice tropical park with wild trees and a lot of birds. Clean wc and shower. Very good place for families with children! We can recommend this place for everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    72
    29
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not sure if worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Water was colder than the beach
Science the river feeds into it. We got charged $8/person to get in, which I thought was alittle much. Extra for chairs. Clean sand and safe.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great beach and clear fresh water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a great beach. You can even swim up the river in a clear and fresh water. Perfect experience...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely beach and a great stream for swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The FR resort was apparently THE place in the 1960s and certainly it has faded far since then. The beach is lovely but quite small, I am a serious swimmer and if one had to swim in the small saltwater cove it would be quite disappointing. But for me the lovely saving grace is that after you lol in the cove (or jump in the waves if it's rough) you can swim about 300 yards up a beautiful fresh water river that empties into the side of the cove. I did laps there and it sure beats a swimming pool, moving under the beautiful vegetation. So to me its well worth an entry fee, also there are fairly clean facilities and a decent bar/restaurant and the waiters will bring your order to you on the beach. For a more local, funky feel go to Winifred but Frenchmans has nice creature comforts.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice blend of river and ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The beach is more touristy, but worth the visit to check it out. You have to pay 7$ to get in. The ocean area is smaller, however there is a large sand area. The food was really good and at a descent price. The lagoon was spectacular. Cooler, however the green colour was beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchman's Cove also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.