We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous Frenchman's Cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchman's Cove

Frenchman's Cove
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$137*
and up
Bikini Beach, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day Trip...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You've always wanted to enjoy elaborate, fruit-flavored cocktails on a beautiful tropical beach, so here's your chance; this beach offers spectacular sand, surf and service.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Famous Frenchman's Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Frenchman's Cove property is really beautiful with a fresh water stream meandering throughout and entering in the sea at the beach. The beach is clean and depending on the weather and wind can be anything from a calm sea to big waves. One of the most photographed spots on the island and a filming location for many feature films.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were early arrivals and found other visitors, locals, and staff at the beach area very engaging. Restaurant on the beach was great for local seafood, Jamaican style, of course!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank shorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“just as nice as in the pictures!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Frenchman's Cove is a perfect little cove of a beach. Usually its very calm but when we were ther is was quite rough. Despite this we enjoyed jumping in the waves! There is a nice little river that runs into the sea here and it was a great spot to enjoy some calm and cooler water--very refreshing! While it does cost to enter the beach, we thought it was worth it and there are hotel staff there to get you drinks, etc. These staff were very attentive without being intrusive, so it was nice. Try to go early to avoid the crowds (also the sun shines best in the morning on this eastern side of the island).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved relaxing on the white sandy beach where a cool fresh water river runs into the warm blue raging sea.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank xjsracer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have never been to a beach so beautiful, and I've been to many! The river that runs into the sea is a unique feature that allows for two different experiences while there. We had a great time and we knew how beautiful it was because it was raining!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchman's Cove also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing