We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchman's Cove

Frenchman's Cove
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Beaches
Activities: Scuba diving, Sailing, Water-skiing, Wind-surfing, Snorkeling, Dining, Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: You've always wanted to enjoy elaborate, fruit-flavored cocktails on a beautiful tropical beach, so here's your chance; this beach offers spectacular sand, surf and service.
Barrie, ON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is an intimate, but fabulous beach. The fresh river running into the cove is full of fish, so take a mask & snorkel! Food a bit pricey, but tastey. Small tour buses usually show up in the afternoon, but not too busy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    66
    24
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Cove is beautiful. It's very picturesque. The sand is lovely and the food stand has very good food!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We initially visited from Hotel Mockingbird Hill for a day at the beach. This was clean, with sunbeds for hire. The sea was fun, as the clear cool water from the spring nearby mixed with the warm sea. On another visit we explored the grounds as a shower and breeze had made the sea too rough - a red flag was up. We had not realised how extensive the grounds were, or how good they were for birdwatching - we saw many endemics here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wow...what a beach!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Seriously...I don't think I've ever seen a more stunning beach in my life. Protected, freshwater stream, great sand and waves, awesome trees. Truly beautiful. I loved that due to it being a private beach, there were no hucksters. $8 well spent. I really can't say enough about the splendor and beauty of the setting.

The only reason this place is not rated an excellent....Service, food and lack of credit card payment option. Service sucked and was unfriendly, food was bland one day, gross another and despite having internet, electricity and a constant stream of clientele, the restaurant only accepts cash. Bogus and unacceptable in the year 2013.

Bring cash or your own beer and food! Free WIFI is a plus!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

One of the best beaches of Port Antonio. There is a fee of 400$J but you have WiFi and a wonderful and relaxing place...
No locals there and restaurant was not good (we had chicken burger..)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchman's Cove also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.